We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talana Hotel(StSaviour)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(St Helier)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampshire Hotel(St Helier)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Hotel(St Helier)
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apollo Hotel(St Helier)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn Boutique(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,785 results
Traveller rating
1,012
543
173
42
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,012
543
173
42
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar roomflow riderkids clubkids zonejersey joesfamily suitepool complexst helierbuffet restaurantaqua domelobby barevening entertainmenthalf boardhoward davis parkamerican dinerbunk bedsgreat family hotel
Filter
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,785 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned (today) aug 16th from our week stay in the Merton Suites part of the hotel. When we arrived the staff on reception were extremely welcoming and helpful and advised us on car parking and how to access. Ww were also given a welcome pack which was fully explained. When we arrived to our suite we opened the door to WOW!!! An amazingly clean, trendy, comfortable large suite with all facilities including a dishwasher. Complimentary tea, coffee, dishwasher tabs were replenished daily and suite service staff were extremely friendly and chatty. The pool was across the road and was the cleanest pool I have ever been in (I'm quite fussy like that!) Lifeguards always watching and cleaning throughout the day. Very child friendly and we ate once in the italian restaurant which was lovely. Children went to the kids club a couple of times which they enjoyed too.A stone throw to everything really but we also walked quite distances as St Helier isso beautiful! This has been the first holiday when we have arrived home slightly saddned to have left such a fantastic hotel and place. I cannot comment on the entertainment as we did not attend but we will certainly be returning again next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shopping65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Really enjoyed our week at Merton Hotel. All the staff were very polite, helpful and cheery. Good numbers of staff always on hand. Although the hotel was busy and fully booked the size and layout of the premises ensured it didn't feel overcrowded.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quite! As others have said maybe a little to warm at times. Breakfast and Dinner choices really superb. Something for everyone whatever your taste. Food quality excellent. Enjoyed all the facilities, especially the large indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, sauna & steam room.

Ideally situated around 10 mins walk into town centre and just 20 mins drive away from Jersey airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a party of 8 into the Merton from August 9th to 16th. This was our 3rd visit
The hotel has gone down from last year
2 years out of 3 Flowrider was broken
Lacks attention to detail, eg, numerous ligtbulbs were out. Toilet roll holders broken etc
Food was not as good. Less choise at breakfast. Coffee was awful, very weak like dishwater
Machine for toast were a disaster, burnt the toast
Some food obviously microwaved, eg Yorkshire puddings were too hard to cut.
No fresh fruit this year.
Some parts of the dinning hall were very dark and off putting
Not all staff understood English,, and had to show the waiter a fork so he knew what we wanted
On good entertainment was Tuesday, a Japanese illusionist
Drinks very expensive
We are returning to Jersey next year but will look for a different hotel
Shame

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Kishin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymourgroup, Director of Sales at Merton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.
We will immediately review all areas to ensure that light bulbs and other equipment are in full working order and to our usual high standards of maintenance and safety.
We always request that complaints are made at the time so they can be rectified straight away whenever possible
The Flowrider is unfortunately out of order due to a mechanical issue. We are hoping that a new motor will be fitted within the next few months. We can only apologise for any disappointment caused by this, and have done all we can to make alternative arrangements.

In closing, we would like to assure you that we take all complaints very seriously to ensure that all guests have a great stay at The Merton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Loved the hotel, good location. Great swimming pool and choice of restaurants. Great choice at breakfast time and very good quality. We all looked forward to breakfast time everyday. Staff all helpful. Our only grumble was the bedrooms got too hot and stuffy even when the temperature cooled down. The hotel has tried to help with fans but really need air con. Would definitely stay there again if we go back to Jersey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Classed as a family hotel we thought it would be overun with "kids" how wrong we where.
Lets start with Reception: Fantastic welcome by very infomed staff. The room had everthing in it Tea-Coffee - Hairdryer -Bathroom soaps & shampoes. Very clean and plenty of drawer and hanger space.
The hotel is very well looked after and ALL rooms are spotless (Public Areas - Bars - Swimming Pool and so on). One area that is worth a mention is the public toilets: SPOTLESS.
The Breakfast is unbalivable, you had so much to choise from and the staff where VERY polite and could not do enough for you.
The entertainment was differant every night and a good variety.
We dinned in Bonnetis most nights and the food and service was excelent, The Polish Lady that greets you at the door cannot do enough for you, a credit to the hotel.
We travelled around the island but it was always a pleasure to come back to the hotel each night
we stayed at the hotel for 5 nights.
Great Hotel
Great Staff
Fantastic food
Would we stay there again, whithout a dout.

Room Tip: Ask for a a room overlooking the Garden overlooking Bonnetis (room 345)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews