We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Talana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This hotel has a new Manager who is always friendly and helpful. Was greeted warmly on arrival by James who remembered me from my previous stays in Jersey and was introduced to the other staff and the owner, who were all very friendly and helpful. Sadly it was only a short trip to Jersey on business before sailing off to Guernsey. I was given a spacious comfortable room and had my dietery needs catered for with no fuss at all. (Was diagnosed with Coeliac disease last year so do take my own bread for toast when I stay away.) All in all a pleasant stay and look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Jersey.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a lovely week exploring the island of Jersey - and hope to return one day. But we will not stay at the Talana Hotel ever again. The rooms were dated - but fortunately were clean. However, our rooms at the front of the hotel were very noisy first thing in the morning as it is situated on the main road into St Helier. We had to keep the windows closed in order to minimise the traffic noise. The main problem we had was with the food. The dining room decor, style of service and standard of food reminded us of the 1970's. It was all very bland. It didn't seem to be made using fresh produce. Even the "salad" only consisted of basic lettuce, cucumber and tomato!! What a shame, when Jersey has so much lovely fresh produce on offer! We decided to eat out each evening and sample some of the excellent restaurants and eating places around the island. Some of the staff tend to stand or sit just outside the entrance to smoke - which isn't pleasant to "walk through" if you are a non-smoker. The car park has been mentioned in other reviews - it certainly required some very careful manoeuvering!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were made very welcome at this nice hotel. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Staff very efficient. Nice breakfast. Good bar. We didn't use the pool, but it was clean and well positioned.
For the price we paid we were very happy with the Talana. We'll be visiting again and using the hotel as a base for a week exploring the island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colinm1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have recently returned from our first visit to Jersey, we stayed at the Talana hotel, the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Food average, rooms clean and tidy but are very dated.Little did we know the hotel was located on a main road the A3, which is an extemely busy road. Although this is a smoke free hotel we noticed on several occasions a strong smell of cigarette smoke in hotel corridors and also staff smoking at entrance to hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

this was our first visit to jersey and the talana hotel is a hidden gem.we were made welcome from the off it was like we had been coming there for years,gus and all his staff are excelant from dawn to dusk they cant do enough.for the last ten years we have been in big hotels and they are not a patch on this little hotel.the car park is small but its no big deal it is what it is.the bar prices are very good and the food is first class.when we go back to jersey we will be stay at talana.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cameron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel. It was a very pleasant stay, the room we had was clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel.
The food was adequate with a good choice of dishes, it was served by a pleasant efficient staff who were always ready to help.
The lounges and terraces were an ideal place to relax, and the pool, though on the small side was clean at all times.
Our only regret was that the hotel was situated so far from the town centre, it was a good 20 minutes walk but it must be said that the walk across "The Howard Davies Park" with its superbly kept gardens made it a pleasant one.
To sum up, we had a nice week and would like to thank all at the hotel for the friendly and helpful attitude.We cannot understand the hotels 2star rating, it should be much higher based on our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank derek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have just got back from this hotel and we had a great time, the room was lovely, clean and big enough to relax in.
The staff were very friendly and we had a laugh with them.
A dip in the pool is a must, especially after a long walk.
We will definatley go back and recommend it to friends
Thank you all and the geese for our early wake up call :)

Room Tip: ask for room 8 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagoRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
789 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St Helier
1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St Helier
2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 31 in St Helier
881 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#24 of 31 in St Helier
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talana Hotel

Address: Bagot Road, StSaviour JE2 7RG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Talana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talana Hotel St Saviour
Talana Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing