We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”
Review of Talana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Relaxing atmosphere. Nice pool. Rooms clean and plenty of supplies provided for tea and coffee. Also they left a breakfast tray for us on our last morning as we had an early flight. Live music every Tuesday in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladyofthebann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were told by Ramsay World Travel rep that 2 star in Jersey is usually 3 star as to update to a further star means they pay more tax. If this is true then the Talana is a 2star. The rooms were very clean , the staff very helpful and friendly.
The pool was advertised in the brochure a heated, it was cold. The food was mediocre. Breakfast was traditional English. The evening meal was a 3 course meal with a choice of salad or omelette if you don't want the cooked offering. Tinned veg most nights, not even proper Jersey ice cream for dessert. The fish on Friday was frozen not fresh.
A good 20 mins from town centre walk

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScotlandAnnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A well situated hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard, towels are changed daily and the rooms have been recently redecorated. The breakfast is excellent and served by the happiest and most efficient waiter we have ever encountered. Early breakfasts are provided when leaving for day trips and staff go the extra mile. Evening meals are to a good standard but not terribly adventurous . A good value for money hotel ,the addition of a lift would raise the hotel to 3/4 star.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

It's what it say's on the tin......a comfortable hotel with clean & comfortable rooms. The overall furniture & decoration is VERY dated, but it offers very good value for money! We have found all the staff to be friendly, especially in the bar & the restaurant. There is a good choice at breakfast, and the evening meal is either a cooked dinner, or a choice of a salad or an omelette. We have no complaints at all with the food. We have stayed here on the 'inclusive' drinks offer which is also an added bonus for a hotel!
It's an easy walk into town, roughly 15 minutes There is a small car park on site if needed, although the space is quite tight. We stayed here for four nights. The traffic noise was quite bad as our room was situated at the front (which is a busy road during the day) otherwise a very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights last week, we were extremely pleased, the greeting from Gus was very heartwarming, as all the other staff were to.The hotel offers a lovely choice of cooked breakfast served to your table,as well a 3 course dinner, super value and home cooked food.The rooms are very clean towels changed daily. This hotel exceeding our expectations.Will come back.

Room Tip: Good idea to get a back room as its a very busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleylondon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

hotel was great, james and the staff are wonderful very helpful, a good service rooms are keeped clean, so are towels are change every day, tea, coffee, toped up daily. meals was well cooked you had a good choice morning and evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gru686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We arrived 9am . After signing in we were told our room was ready and given the keys. Spotless including bathroom with fresh towels. The maid came in every day and replaced tea, coffee, milk ,bathroom towels etc. The meals were a good standard , well cooked. For those who did not want full English breakfast or the main meal of the day there were alternatives. All the staff from the cleaners upwards were friendly and helpful . nothing was too much for them.
One thing that could be done is upgrading the televisions as they would cut out now and again.
I would rate the hotel more than two stars and the staff 100% For sure I will come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near StSaviour
1.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St Helier
805 reviews
0 mi away
Maison Gorey Hotel
Maison Gorey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorey
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in StSaviour
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 31 in St Helier
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#25 of 31 in St Helier
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St Helier
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talana Hotel

Address: Bagot Road, StSaviour JE2 7RG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > StSaviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in StSaviour
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Talana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talana Hotel St Saviour
Talana Hotel Jersey, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing