We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”
Review of Fleur du Jardin

Fleur du Jardin
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice whilst staying at Les Jardin des Fleurs self catering cottages next door. We recieved a very friendly welcome on both occasions. First time, I had the belly pork which was perfect. The only reason I do not give this a top rating is because I never see a reason for not serving "proper" chips. Stringy, thin, reconstituted potato chip shapes (as served in McDonald's) are not chips.

Helpful?
Thank theheyworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Always visit when we are in Guernsey but this time very disappointed. Sat outside on the patio with only 1 other group of people. Although very quiet took nearly an hour for our meals. My wife had scampi and when it arrived it consisted of literally 7 small pieces, a tiny bowl of peas and a little metal basket of chips. We never saw the waitress after that so thinking we had been deserted we went in to pay the bill. 3 members of staff were lighting candles on a birthday cake for a couple in the bar so we were told to wait until they had finished before they would attend to us. There were only 2 other people in the bar by the way. We won't bother next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An unexpected jewel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were walking across country, exploring the coast and the inland 'Ruette tranquilles' . After about 8 miles we were looking forward to a well-earned stop and we found the Fleur du Jardin. We had a Guernsey cream tea al fresco on a sunny patio and it's probably the best that we have ever had. The time and the moment were perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darzet-Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just had a wonderful meal at Fleur du Jardin. I am gluten/wheat free and they had bread to go with chicken liver parfait which was very tasty, great 'lost tourist' pie, and fresh, delicately cooked salmon salad. Yummy orange and lemon creme brûlée to finish. Very attentive staff, lovely atmosphere, well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Like going here inside and out always good food - great service always attentive - food was tasty and hot - lasagne was lovely not just straight out of the microwave!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky123-008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fleur du Jardin also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to Fleur du Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing