We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre food.”
Review of Crabby Jack's

Crabby Jack's
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre food.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Crabby Jacks tries to serve too many people, which means food quality suffers. Feels like a fast food restaurant which relies on it's beautiful location for custom. Had ribs starter which were average and pesto chicken with roasted veg, they only contained peppers, lots of red onion and a couple of courgettes, not my idea of roasted veg, very small portion for £10.95 too. Husband had cheesy garlic bread to start, and chicken fajitas, we played hunt the chicken in the fajita mix, it was full of red peppers, onion and bizarrely mushrooms. I have eaten authentic Mexican food in the USA and have never seem mushrooms in fajitas, looked like they were bulking it out with them. The tortillas came out almost 10 minutes before the hot chicken, we had to ask for the it. Don't make a special journey to Crabby Jacks, but if you have just left the beach and want an Ok meal then it's just that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    121
    44
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice meal,breaded mushrooms, loaded potatoe skins,home made burger,baby back ribs and chunky chips all really good will defo ho again :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina V, General Manager at Crabby Jack's, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to your next visit and we do hope to make your next meal even better !

Kind Regards
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat in Guernsey!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been visiting the restaurant at least twice a week for the last 6 months and cannot speak more highly of the food and the staff.

We've always been made welcome by Ina and all of the team, the menu is varied, portion sizes are big and great value for money.

There is normally between 5-8 of us each time and food arrives quickly and is delicious, and they are happy to do something different if requested without any fuss at all.

I cannot speak more highly of Crabby Jacks, highly recommended to all!

Keep up the good work

Thanks


Keep up the good work, and

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina V, General Manager at Crabby Jack's, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tony, Thank you so much for your very complimentary review and indeed for joining us so frequently! I will certainly pass on your compliments to the entire team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back yet again!

Kind Regards
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best family restaurant in Guernsey!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Always friendly service with great family food and some useful facilities to keep younger kids amused. Our kids keep asking to go back, letting mum and dad relax while they tire themselves out. Great place, highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave_mcGSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina V, General Manager at Crabby Jack's, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
This is a lovely review ! Thank you very much I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us . And I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back here at Crabby Jack`s again very soon.

Best Regards
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a great surprise - this was far better than our last visit a few years ago. Massive portions, great choice even for the fussier eaters in our party or 4 children and 4 adults and space for the children to go and burn off some energy.

A lovely atmosphere, friendly, helpful staff and good food.

We will be back again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ina V, General Manager at Crabby Jack's, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Karen, Thank you very much for the nice review ! We are all very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us here at Crabby Jack`s and we do hope to see you and your family again very soon. Once again , many thanks !

Kind Regards
Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crabby Jack's also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Crabby Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing