We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place with lovely views”
Review of Houmet Tavern

Houmet Tavern
Ranked #13 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Price range: US$18 - US$28
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place with lovely views”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent place good choice of menu, views smashing, seating comfortable. Good service. Steps up to this place make it difficult for disabled people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    37
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEVIZES
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD PUB FOOD”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited several times while staying 'across the road'.Always seems to be busy.Lovely attentive staff.The food thoroughly enjoyed by five of our group of six. The odd one complained about his steak! It was replaced with a 'good' one without fuss.It was not charged and a discount given on the total bill for the six of us! What service. Will continue to visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Probably the best view on the island but the food...oh dear!"”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Such a disappointment...but a good start with a decent pint of real ale [it is in the Good Beer Guide] although Doom Bar and Speckled Hen hardly local...why no Guernsey brew [Liberation owned, aren't they brewers too?]

A starter of Guernsey crab fish cakes eagerly awaited with anticipation but what a disappointment, despite the waitress confirming there was crab in them I'm afraid the 3 small, deep fried to within an inch of their lives, cakes were a tasteless gluey potato mush lacking seasoning or herbs...I can forgive the mass produced chilli jam but the accompanying mixed salad with raw [white] onion - why?

2 main courses of grilled cod with spinach, garlic and melted feta cheese on crushed new potatoes sounded promising but also came with the same mixed salad and more raw onion. Cod overcooked and chalky, tasteless due to total lack of seasoning, no hint of garlic as described...best part were the new potatoes but the accompanying huge amount of capers added some necessary flavour [although an over-sharp vinegar tang sometimes] but as mentioned to the waitress there was no note of this in the menu description...so if you don't like capers beware.

A quick expresso [decent] and time to depart.

Good points...the view, the ale, the reasonably priced wines and the potatoes......the waiting staff tried hard [so a tip left for their efforts] but I felt there was a genuine embarrassment about the food they were serving and a certain lack of training as to dealing with customers who are making constructive comments.

The Houmet would do better in my opinion if they concentrated on quality rather than quantity...sorry Houmet really wanted to like you but could do much better!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthbournePosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willunga, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food, scenic views”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went with our nephew and his family. I had crab cakes with salad which were delicious and then shared 2 desserts with my great niece - sticky toffee pudding and warm chocolate cake with guernsey cream and ice cream - very yummy. Everyone else had fish in various forms and allvoted them very tasty. The service was excellent, Edyta did a great job looking after us. The only criticism is that there is no disabled access so my nephew had to pull his son's wheelchair backwards up the stairs. I don't think there was a disabled toilet either. Anyway, we had a great family reunion and would return when we next come to Guernsey.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lezlih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“disapointing”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

service was very good with friendly staff food disapointing possibly the smallest salad ever fish pie sloppy seafood platter overcooked and crisp lovely views

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houmet Tavern also viewed

 
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 

Been to Houmet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing