We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”

Cobo Bay Restaurant & Beach Terrace
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$60
Cuisines: French, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Attention to detail, friendly yet professional service, fresh local produce and panoramic seaviews make dining at the Cobo Bay Hotel a very special occasion. Our stylish restaurant continually wins recognition for the quality its of food and service, including two AA rosettes for culinary excellence, a feat achieved by very few restaurants in Guernsey. Our a la carte menu is available for both lunch and dinner inside & out on The Beach Terrace, specialising in fresh Guernsey seafood and shellfish caught within the bay itself, as well as the finest cuts of meat. Open daily from 10am to 10pm season and weather permitting, The Beach Terrace offers al fresco dining with the finest views that Guernsey has to offer, making it the perfect place to enjoy a warm afternoon or long summer evening watching the sun set on the horizon. With a secluded outdoor bar area, afternoon light bites and home made cakes, this really is Guernsey at its very best.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good food, amazing view when sitting outside and the sun is setting, good service, pudding was great just the right size, But quite expensive for the food at this establishment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    43
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We decided on a light lunch and were not disappointed. We chose a starter each and the portions were huge. The monkfish tempura was amazing. 3 succulent pieces of fish cooked to perfection. The pork rillettes was also great. These dishes with a glass of chilled white wine and a cappuccino to follow. Sitting on the terrace with the sun shining and beautiful views over Cobo Bay. What more could you ask for. They serve food all day, so you can have breakfast, brunch, lunch, coffee or an evening meal. Unfortunately there is building work going on in the pub next door, but that did not put us off and did not spoil our lunch. Please don't let it put you off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great food lovely staff excellent location sun set amazing good competitive prices sandwiches succulent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, Kent.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Everything!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were staying at another hotel in the area which had everything going for it bar it's restaurant which although OK did not light up the palate. Moving along the coast and reading reviews in the local press we found the Cobo Bay Hotel Restaurant. Glad we did even for it's location on the best bay on the island and the fabulous sunsets, it also has excellent service and fabulous food. We had both lunch and dinners here and all were second to none. Every course was just perfect. Scallops, an island favourite, were the best we had tasted and served with a carrot and coriander puree and toasted parma ham, more than hit the high spots. Lamb rumps melted in the mouth and the smashed new potato's with local butter were sumptuous.Generous portions of Brill were again cooked to perfection, crispy skin and succulent white flesh. We gather they have a German chef here and he certainly knows his stuff. Presentation of every dish was perfection. The wines by the glass were all well chosen and reasonably priced and the set menu's were a snip for the quality and presentation of all courses.The outside terrace together with warming radiators and glass wind shields is a must to see the sun go down into the sea even at Easter time. If you are looking for fine dining in an elegant setting at a reasonable price, then the Cobo Bay is for you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelicanproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing meal!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had Roasted Fillet of Cod with King Prawns in a Parsley Sauce served with Steamed Greens. It was the sweetest most delicious cod I've ever had and I'm very fussy about my food. Cannot fault anything, the presentation was very impressive too. I had a Eton Mess with a twist, it was pear and peach and the perfect end to my meal. We went for the 2 courses for £17.95, which is amazing value for the standard of food and service. We had a bottle of Champagne too which was a modest £45 and although was only the house Champagne, it was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eden-sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobo Bay Restaurant & Beach Terrace also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Cobo Bay Restaurant & Beach Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing