We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent meal - good value”

Wayside Cheer Steakhouse & Grill
Ranked #21 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: New Steakhouse within Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“decent meal - good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a local inn serving good food at very reasonable prices. The staff are very efficient and friendly. The inn also has great live music every week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The food here is good value and well flavoured. The courses come quickly and the service was good, except at the start when a table that came later than us were given menus and drinks as soon as they arrived. We got our own menus and got drinks from the bar. Other than that, the rest of the meal went well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food glorious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

the food and service is very good ,no long delays between courses
there is very good menu without wallet breaking pries.
the locals eat here so that must mean something

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephenjunemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I was utterly disgusted with bar staff and management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was utterly disgusted with the treatment I and my friends received from the bar staff and Ken Smith (Management) a few weeks ago. We paid tickets for a menfun charity evening which was very enjoyable itself. However as we had to order our drinks by completing a form on the table then holding it in the air for 10mins before the only waitress eventually came round to take it. Order form was numbered 1-10, on line 1 I wrote vodka, on line 2 I wrote peachsnapps and a little lemonade. I was thought this was quite clear. However she came back to ask what vodka, peachsnapps and lemonade meant. So I told her 1 x vodka in a glass and 1 x peachsnapps and lemonade in another glass. BUT WHAT CAME BACK, 1 vodka,peachsnapps and lemonade all in one glass. So we sent it back after explaining all over again. WHAT CAME BACK, 1 x vodka, 2 x peachsnapps and lemonade ???, explained again only wanted 1 x peachsnapps, the waitress went off and came back and said you have to have both peachsnapps as the barman wont give a refund. I went to the bar and was told by the barman by no uncertain terms that I have ordered 2 x peachsnapps and lemonade (the number 2 on the list was circled but not by me) and because it was circled he gave me 2 of these drinks. As my friend was paying it for it instead of me she went to see the barman to see if she could get any further with him. As she is Irish they're excuse was they couldn't understand her, (I do not see why as the order was written down for them). They told her she was making a fuss and to go away and sit down as she was not getting her money back. The Management (Ken Smith) told her to stop complaining and to get away from the bar. A good evening was spoilt, as we left early before the interval as we were so disgusted with the way she had been spoken to. The place was absolutely heaving and cannot understand why a refund was refused as they kept the spare drink anyway. As a local person and quite often eating out and about in Guernsey I definately will not be going back to the Wayside Cheer Hotel or ever recommending it to anyone else. The staff need to go on a customer service course and show some common courtesy and respect to their clientel.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mazzymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

If you want good value, go here. The food's fine but ordinary & a little on the stodgy side. Service good though and the live music's great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jac393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wayside Cheer Steakhouse & Grill also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Wayside Cheer Steakhouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing