We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe S”
Review of La Roche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Roche
Ranked #1 of 1 Castel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

La Riche is a lovely BB in the middle of Guernsey. The house is quiet and spacious, set in lovely grounds with sea view. I came for 9 nights, and Jane and David, the owners, were excellent hosts, offering lifts, guided tours, dinner, etc.They were great with helping to organise my stay and made me feel very much at home. 2 friends of mine also came for 2 nights, staying in a different room, and they, too, loved it, especially hanging out in the garden and on the terrace where David and Jane would repeatedly offer them glasses of wine (great wine, too, what with David being a wine merchant) and whatever else was needed to make one's stay truly memorable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

I felt like I was at home! Had a wonderful chat with David and Jane. Very interesting and friendly couple, told me a lot about Guernsey. They offered me a glass of wine and because I had arrived quite late and I was hungry, they prepared me dinner, even though it's a B&B. Jane gave me a lift to St. Peter Port in a MG cabriolet. The room was very nice and clean. Loved it. I would like to thank Jane and David for making my stay in Guernsey so memorable and enjoyable. I'd definitely recommend this place, definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Jane and David are wonderfully hospitable hosts with a terrific sense of fun, who obviously love having visitors and engaging with them without being obtrusive. Our room was excellent, and seemed expensive, but the price included being picked up, and returned to, the airport; being given a lift into St Peter Port every morning and in the evening for dinner; then on our return from dinner being offered an Armagnac or similar. David enjoys cooking, and is also a wine importer, so dinners at La Roche were good and accompanied by excellent and copious wines. Guests are welcome in the kitchen and in the main, very comfortable sitting room, or conservatory, and no doubt in the garden if the weather's OK. We're singing the praises of La Roche to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

First visit to Guernsey for my wife and I.Couldn't have picked a better place to stay.Hospitality from Jane and David amazing,a lovely couple who made it feel like you were staying with friends rather than at a guest house.Nothing was too much trouble,including giving you a lift from the airport and into town.Lovely breakfasts,including hot cross buns and chocolate eggs on Easter Sunday.We will return!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Comfort, elegance, beauty of the place, exceptional hospitality, it is all that La Roche. Jane and David are marvelous people who like to accomodate and share their passion for Guernsey, good food and remarkable wines. We hope to go again to La Roche as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalbeigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

i have started coming over here for a few days a week for work. It is wonderful to come back to a) such a nice house and b) such lovely hosts - feels like you are going to a house party - even though i was there on my own in middle of winter. David and Jane love people and love life - beautiful home - fabulous hospitality - fabulous food cooked by them - it is infectious - go see for yourself:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesfulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Exceptional hospitality by Jane and David, exchanging a wide range of experiences from around the globe. The room and bed were extremely comfortable and the huge soft fluffy towels a treat. Lovely views from bedroom and bathroom towards the sea. Breakfast was incredible and nothing was too much trouble. Time was too short to sample the spa pool. Jane and David took every trouble to facilitate an amazing cliff top walk in the sunshine before we left. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEW808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
2.1 mi away
Auberge du Val
Auberge du Val
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Michele
Hotel La Michele
#3 of 8 in St Martins
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Inn
The Queens Inn
#2 of 8 in St Martins
35 reviews
2 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roche

Address: La Roche Rohais de Haut, Castel GY5 7NA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castel
Price Range: £97 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roche 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roche provides comfortable accommodation in an elegant and charming ‘Georgian’ home with secluded gardens and terraces, conservatory, outdoor heated spa pool with water jets and adjoining shower facilities. This exceptional B & B has gained a Silver Award, the first such accolade granted in the Guernsey Guest Accommodation category. La Roche is owned and run by Jane and David who provide outstanding hospitality, with Chambres D'Hote ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Roche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roche Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing