We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Roche

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Roche
Ranked #1 of 1 Castel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Returned for our 2nd visit to La Roche.Words can't properly convey what a lovely stay we had with Jane and David again.Nothing is too much trouble including supplying vinegar at Breakfast for my father in law!!

great food and drink and lovely beds in a lovely house in a great setting,can't say anymore!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
52
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It was important to us that we had a special stay at La Roche - we were here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed - we have stayed in many guest houses but La Roche is in a class of its own. The house itself has a commanding view across the island to the sea. The garden is large and mature and it's wall is the centre point of the island. The house is striking and sympathetically decorated with period furniture, as was our room which also had a large en-suite sunken bath. Jane and David could not have been better hosts. We felt more like friends than paying guests, they drove us out to a restaurant on the first evening and provided a wonderful lobster meal on the second with wine for which we were not charged. Breakfast was sumptuous. Our stay really was exceptional, and we recommend La Roche without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 633Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

La Roche is a beautiful old house conveniently placed near the centre of the island. David & Jane are the consummate hosts for which nothing was too much trouble. They were both very knowledgeable about all aspects of Guernsey and went out of their way to make sure I had an enjoyable stay. Their (optional) 3 course evening meal is not to be missed - an unbeatable evening. I slept very well in an exceptionally comfortable bed in a quiet, elegant, room and enjoyed a delicious breakfast .The perfect place to stay in Guernsey !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ventsdoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Guernsey is a special sort of island , and La Roche seems like a magical oasis more or less in the centre . It is a charming period house with appropriate furnishings , and your hosts Jane and David really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome . We stayed three nights , and felt really privileged to share this very special " home away from home " with them .

Room Tip: Our room had windows to both front and back , it was excellent in all respects
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My mum and I had a lovely time staying with Jane and David in their beautiful home. Breakfast was lavish and served up with a song; advice on things to do and see was extremely informative and helpful, and both David and Jane were extremely accommodating, providing lifts to and from the airport, as well as into town in the mornings. David and Jane also cooked a delicious three-course evening menu with wine, for an extremely reasonable price - all the guests participated and it was an extremely jolly evening! We both would thoroughly recommend La Roche to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 646Jbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at this beautiful house for four nights. So glad we chose La Roche for our first visit to Guernsey. Ideal location. David and Jane were so informative and really put themselves out to ensure we made the most of our stay. If you want somewhere with a more personal touch than this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martini-duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscoff, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very very accomodating and painstaking hospitality in this house with its lovely garden. The owners are great cooks. The breakfast, eaten at a round table with other guests, good conversation, was lavish. The owners went out of their way to help us get to beautiful walks in the short time we had, and when - unfortunately- we left something behind, they went to the trouble to get it mailed to us. Interesting books in the library, good food on the table, a wine and food afficinado as host. A very welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroader2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roche

Property: La Roche
Address: La Roche Rohais de Haut, Castel GY5 7NA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roche 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roche provides comfortable accommodation in an elegant and charming ‘Georgian’ home with secluded gardens and terraces, conservatory, outdoor heated spa pool with water jets and adjoining shower facilities. This exceptional B & B has gained a Silver Award, the first such accolade granted in the Guernsey Guest Accommodation category. La Roche is owned and run by Jane and David who provide outstanding hospitality, with Chambres D'Hote ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Roche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roche Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing