We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vazon Bay Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vazon Bay Apartments
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just back from an excellent week at the Vazon Bay Apartments. We stayed in a standard appartment which was very comfortable and very well equiped - perhaps just a little dated but in the end we felt this added to its charm.
Being able to open up the patio doors and be right next to the pool was great and we ate most of our meals outside.
The free pool table was given the thumbs up from our teenage son as was being able to pet the many rabbits that Richard the owner keeps on site.
The appartments are in a very good location with a superb beach just across the road and two restaurants close by. Buses to town or around the island leave regularly from here.
A great place for a relaxing holiday or as a base from which to explore Guernsey.

Room Tip: Standard rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here with my partner and her mum and dad in two bedroom bungalow.Accomodation furnished too a high standard. Absolutely perfect. Two places two eat and drink 1 minute away and co-op 3 minutes away. Richard the owner is a total gentleman who is always around to have a chat and offer suggestions and help. This place is a wee gem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWSJL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the beach and sitting round the hot tubs with a beer in the evenings. The man who runs the apartments can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay and is very friendly. There is also a great restaurant called crabby jacks close by which serves seafood and grills (although the quality was variable) and excellent ice cream. The beach is expansive and uncrowded and very close. Outdoor pool in the complex is good but sometimes a bit too cool for the young uns. Very relaxing but a danger of getting bored after a few days. I would go back in the future though, on the whole an enchanting place which the locals are rightly proud of.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graemedyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

From our first visit to Guernsey in 1988 to last week, this was our 6th stay at the Appartments. So it goes without saying that we like it there. Nothing has changed over the years. Richard is Richard, helpful and friendly. The accomodation is clean, spacious and well laid out. We have never had any problem at all. The beach across the road is great to stroll along and watch the sun set. Crabby Jack's is no hinderance to encouraging you to return to this spot. In all, another faultless holiday spent in what we call 'one of our favorite places'. Thanks to all who help make it so.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Quilpusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for a week - in the deluxe bungalow. Very well laid out, kitchen and 2 en-suites were of a high standard. The owner is very friendly and polite. Close by to Crabby Jack's, and with a pool and hot tub on site, would definitely recommend a stay here!! Although not in St Peter Port, I think the views on the West Coast are amazing at night - with the sunset on the horizon. The price is on par with other accommodation on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dklon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast northern ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our second stay at Vazon Bay Apartments, although the first time was more than a decade ago.

The apartment sleeps 4 but there were just the two of us this time. What brought us back? First the owners are wonderful people who can't do enough to make sure you are having the best stay possible. It is in an excellent setting, particularly as the sun sets over the bay. The rooms are big enough and the kitchen is well equipped. With Crabby Jack's bar/restaurant about a minute away, a co-op less than five minutes away and a regular bus service at the end of the road, there is little else to ask for. The beach is less than 5 minutes' walk.

Taxis from St Peter Port cost around £10, but there are plenty of busses - so no big need for taxis.

Already saving for next year! Maybe two weeks next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davysims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from 1 week stay in the bungalows. Could not fault these for a great family holiday. The bungalows were clean, modern and very well equipped with Wi-Fi and good quality appliances and Sky TV. Our 9 year old loved the rabbits which you could take back to your bungalow to look after and the free pool table. Great pool and the whole site felt very safe for older children to wander or cycle round on their own. The owner Richard was very friendly and made it his daily mission to make sure all his residents were happy with their stay. When our ferry was delayed until 11pm his offer of the use of one of the apartments for the day was a god send with a 1 year old. If you are looking for a good old fashioned beach holiday would strongly recommend you book one of the bungalows which are a perfect spot for exploring the island with all the home comforts to come back to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshirePudding50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.8 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vazon Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vazon Bay Apartments

Property: Vazon Bay Apartments
Address: Rue des Goddards, Castel GY5 7BG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vazon Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, just yards from the award winning Vazon Beach. Family run, purpose built apartments, set around large, heated swimming pool with toddler area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vazon Bay Apartments Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing