We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Roomy accommodations, Has some issues”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vazon Bay Apartments
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've stayed here several times and will again. The apartments and very nice, well equipped. I dont know if ive every mentioned grass in a review, but the grass outside of our apartment was so nice i think we spent hours just laying in it.
The location is so close to the beach.

Our hot water went out and took well over a day to fix.
The internet works less than ~20% of the time
The hot tubs are about as cool and the pool.
There is a broken swing by the pool that needs to be trashed before if breaks (unless someone films it breaking and puts in on youtube j/K)
Desperately needs new mattresses. All of ours felt like a pile of springs covered with a towel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visit Guernsey at least once a year and have stayed in a variety of places. Our last visit earlier this month was to a 2 bed bungalow at Vazon Bay and we are sure to go back. The bungalow was modern, clean and spacious and is really well positioned opposite the beach, next to a popular pub and a short walk from the supermarket. Staff were helpful and friendly. Richard opened up the 3 bed bungalows for us to look at to see if they would be appropriate for a future holiday with grandchildren - which they certainly would be.I would imagine the bungalows would tick most if not all boxes for beach family holidays. My only very minor gripe was that we arrived at night and there were no lights on so we couldn't find our bungalow until a trusty torch solved the problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our first time at Vazon Bay apartments, and hopefully won't be the last. We have visited Guernsey many times over the years and the time we spent at Vazon Bay is high on the list of places we have stayed at. Richard was a wonderful host, and helped make our stay even more enjoyable.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_traynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a wonderful holiday on this site. It has comfortable apartments with warm & very friendly staff. It's clean and safe for children & is in an ideal position. The apartment was open plan with plenty of room for a family. Would fully recommend for a laid back holiday.

We would defiantly consider a return visit.

Room Tip: We had an apartment but it was over two floors & the back door was directly onto the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a week spent at the Vazon Bay Apartments and I can't praise them enough! We have already booked to go back next year - the kids loved having the swimming pool just outside the door to the apartment, and playing with the rabbits. The apartments are very comfortable and have everything you could need, including towels, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, even lollies in the freezer, much to the delight of the kids. The beach is just over the road, Co-op very close by and two lovely eateries right on the doorstep. Richard, the owner, was a true gent who really wants all of his customers to have a great holiday and couldn't have been more helpful, always full of suggestions of where to go and what to see, and making sure that everyone was happy. Can honestly say we can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Standard apartments are very well equipped - no real need to upgrade to a deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Researched the self catering options online and we had specific requirements of close to the beach, which it is. All on suite rooms, which it is in the bungalows and close to a couple of restaurants, which it was. There is a co-op 3-5 mins down the road which is excellent also there were plenty " hedge veg" to purchase as you drove or walked about all wonderfully fresh. The warm freshly laid eggs you can buy from CHARMING Richard are amazing comes with feathers still attached! The bungalows were adequate for our week stay! We would definitely return even though the price point was high! It was an excellent base for our trips down memory lane with our aging mother!

Room Tip: If finance allows go for a bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

i have just spent a week here with my daughter and granddaughter and have come away with such lovely memories. Aimee made friends with both rabbits and other young children her own age, leaving my daughter and I plenty of time to swim, read and chat together. The apartments have everything you need for a carefree beach holiday. The pool was ready every morning for our pre-breakfast swim, and Richard was always on hand with a cheerful smile to check everything was ok for us all. There was plenty of space in the apartment for all our holiday luggage including our surf boards. We all had such a great time we hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castel hotels
1.5 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fleur du Jardin Hotel
1.6 mi away
La Roche
La Roche
#1 of 1 in Castel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vazon Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vazon Bay Apartments

Address: Rue des Goddards, Castel GY5 7BG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Castel
Price Range: £54 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vazon Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, just yards from the award winning Vazon Beach. Family run, purpose built apartments, set around large, heated swimming pool with toddler area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vazon Bay Apartments Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing