We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as it seems”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not quite as it seems”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel is located on the west of the island near the beach and with easy bus links around the island. While the hotel is of good standard, there are several points that let it down. The restaurant only serves up to 9.30pm which is problematic if you have flown on the 7.30 from Gatwick as it arrives around 8.30 and the taxis takes about 20 mins so you are really rushed to register, shower, change and get down for dinner in time. The bed in the room we had was 2 singles pushed together. The ridge caused by this was uncomfortable, in fact 3 not so good nights sleep. Surely a king size mattress or a topper is not too much to ask.
The hot tub was fine as was the sauna but no towels in the area which caused wet slippery floors. The only exercise cycle had a flat battery but the hotel didn't carry spares so this was unusable. The multigym was dated and only one person at a time could use it. A real let down for those who like to exercise especially when the weather is bad.
On balance there are better hotels on the island for a similar price if you are keen on exercise and are cjhoosing a hotel for this facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    140
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
323
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just returned from Guernsey and stayed at the Cobo Bay hotel. It was delightful, staff attentive, rooms well appointed and my bed was very comfy and relaxing!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which look onto next door pub car park and "smoking" area...try road side..not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex_boy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our first trip to the Channel Islands and before coming we read into the Jersey vs. Guernsey debate for tourists and decided to split the difference, two nights in Jersey and two nights in Guernsey.

When we arrived in Jersey, we regretted that we hadn't stayed the full time there. When we arrived in Guernsey, we regretted that we hadn't stayed the full time there. In short, go to and enjoy both is our recommendation!

Cobo Bay Hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was wonderful and attentive, our room was delightful.

We stayed in a double superior room with Seaview and Balcony and we absolutely recommend staying in one of those! There is some highway noise, but it is not a fast road and with the surf and the view you barely notice it.

The restaurant was delightful and the food was excellent.

I had some business to attend to and the staff was incredibly helpful.

We will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Seaview with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Enjoyed 4 nights at Cobo Bay Hotel.What a nice touch to have a lovely plate of fresh fruit waiting for you when you arrive .Our room overlooked the side of the hotel but we could see the sea .All the staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful,from checking us in the airport to helping with a trip to Sark .We ate at the excellent restaurant every night,where the food was fantastic,the service was quick & efficient.We were spoilt at breakfast,where you had a good variety of choice .No worries about coming back here .

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Cobo Bay Hotel and can honestly say it was all wonderful. A lovely room, friendly and helpful staff who were polite and cheerful at all times -but never intrusive. Superb food, superb position right by the sea and a super destination for a lovely break on this gem of an Island. This hotel is graded at 3 star - believe me it feels like 5 star! Simply the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My twin sister and I visited the Cobo Bay Hotel for a three night stay in April 2012. The room was clean, large, comfortable with many 'extra' touches that made our stay perfect - from a tray of fresh fruit to a television guide. In the restaurant service is efficient, yet friendly with a wonderful choice of food for breakfast, nothing being too much trouble for the staff. A five minute walk to the bus stop to hop on the island's superb transport service, and literally cross the road and you are on the beautiful beach and able to join the Coastal Footpath. Without hesitation I would recommend the Cobo Bay Hotel to friends and family alike.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Cobo Bay. To our delight our room had been upgraded on arrival which was a wonderful surprise and we enjoyed the amazing views of Cobo Bay our sea view room and balcony gave us. The staff were warm, friendly, efficient and welcoming. Our room clean and well equipped with a large comfy bed, clean fresh crisp bed linen, sparkling/still water, a well stocked tea tray, fruit, chocolate and a good array of toiletries, not to mention the slippers and bathrobes. The bathroom was clean with one of those showers you can stay in all day! We ate in the restaurant and beach terrace and the food was wonderful, beautifully presented and a good choice of wines. I would have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends and hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing