We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent a night here in en route back home from a holiday in Sark. This is a well situated hotel set opposite to a lovely bay. Although there is a road between the hotel and bay it is not too obtrusive. The terrace dining and sitting area is very pleasant on a warm day and in the evening very efficient heaters operate should the weather turn chilly.
The hotel is very clean and the staff are excellent. The restaurant food, both breakfast and dinner, is very good as is the food served on the sun terrace. The room we had was on the small side but well equiped with a lovely shower - however, the kitchen extractor fan operated outside the room window all day, although it was turned off after food service in the evening. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not situated above the kitchen extractors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolkcouple10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    140
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
321
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Sampsons, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Absolutely gorgeous room, balcony with stunning views. Beautifully clean. Ordered breakfast in bed which was really good. Staff helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend, make sure you book a room with a balcony, completely worth the extra money!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2164843Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a great hotel! We spent a few nights with family in Guernsey with our three small children and chose Cobo Bay as it looked nice on the website and reviews were good...in fact, it was really excellent. The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough for us, especially our children.
They welcomed us into the restaurant each morning and also for an evening meal with open arms, remembering the children's names and bringing them little treats. So different from most hotels were the faces of the staff fall when they encounter children. The food was very good, breakfast is a continental buffet with fresh croissants, fruit and yoghurt. Hot breakfasts were ordered from a menu and cooked to order.
The adjoining rooms were both lovely, clean and comfortable with duvets and feather pillows. The third bed was a proper one, no horrible camp bed, and the towels were white and fluffy.
A really good little hotel and not just for families, in fact none of the other guests had children with them!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clipper1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This Hotel is a real asset for the Nussbaumer family - my husband and I stayed for our 30th wedding anniversary and from the moment we arrived could not have wished or been looked after better than we were at the Cobo Bay. All the staff we had dealings with during our stay were very very friendly and helpful. Romano and his team are outstanding in the bar and restaurant and the hotel fully deserves their Gold Guernsey Quality Award - breakfast was superb and the quality of the evening meals was second to none (the menu focusses around the fresh fish caught in the bay itself). I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone (infact have already mentioned it to a number of my friends who are thinking of going to Guernsey). The location is on a good bus route if you don't have transport and the sunsets in the evening are out of this world. Definitely looking forward to the next holiday at the Cobo Bay!

Room Tip: Next time we stay would definitely opay the extra for a room overlooking the bay as they have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoventryKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is clean and comfortable with helpful staff. The quality of the food is high (including a strong fish menu) and I had no complaints about the service.
The hotel's location is a real selling point as the front of the hotel directly overlooks the pristine sandy beech and the bay across a small road. Take care though of swimming out as there are warnings posted and the bay is rocky and the wind can make it rough.
The hotel is well served by the regular local bus service to all parts of the island (you pay a flat fare of £1 or slightly less if you buy a pre-paid travel card.) including St Peter's Port and the airport. The hotel also has its own car-park, but you really don't really need to drive unless you have specific need to do so.
There are local shops nearby including a small super-market, a bank, a post-office,a tea-shop (with lovely cakes) a bistro, and all only a short walk away.
This is a lovely part of the world and is perfect for a relaxing "chill-out".
I would book in here again.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies and the sea view are very pleasant as long as you appreciate the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NickBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a 5 Star hotel with a 3 Star rating. All staff are helpful and friendly and the list of amenities goes on an on. Very comfy rooms and EXCELLENT kitchen. Everything from breakfast through snacks to a very delicious dinner is produced to the very highest of standards. To top it off - Location, location, location - The Cobo bay looks out on a scene which is ever changing and which I could happily sit and watch for days.
Free and ample parking, easy access to the beach and coast walks, buses nearby and some of the best sunsets for evening entertainment.
Book early! This popular hotel was full midweek and out of holiday times. Don't worry if they have a large function on either - the function room is soundproof and we never heard them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are blessed with stunning views from balconies but are subject to road noise. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJ942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frittenden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We saw the most beautiful sunset here. Good food and reasonably priced. Nice rooms and helpful staff. A nice hotel I would go back to.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaFrittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing