We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just arrived back from our 7 night stay at the Cobo Bay Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the staff and Sandrine for there excellent service during our stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean, fantastic food with the option of eating in the restaurant or alfresco. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean with a sea view and a balcony, what more could you need.
Close by there are other eating options and a small supermarket. There is a good bus service on Guernsey and the bus stops close to the hotel. There is also a petrol station close to the Hotel if you have brought your own car, its worth filling up before you go home.
This was our third year at this wonderful hotel in a perfect location and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Try for sea facing with a balcony, the sun sets are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just arrived back from our stay at the Cobo Bay Hotel.Would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the staff for making our stay wonderful.The hotel was spotlessly clean,fantastic food,and beautiful comfortable bedroom.The only thing that prevents the hotel being graded 5 star is the lack of a swimming pool,but this is not a real problem as you have the beach and sea right opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: If possible choosa a sea view room for stunning sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice place to stay for a short break especially if you are lucky with the sunshine ! Cobo is one of the most attractive sea side locations on Guernsey and having a hotel that knows how to look after its customers is all that you need.

Room Tip: a side view room 114 with double bed and small balcony with sea views was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at the Cobo bay hotel.It was our
1st time at the hotel,and we were very impressed.
All the staff are smart and polite,the hotel is very clean, and the food
is of a high standard.We will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Having just returned from a week in this lovely hotel I feel compelled to write a review - and that's unusual for me. My wife and I had booked a first floor balcony room and were not disappointed. Although you might find flowers, chocolates, a well stocked tray, dressing gowns and slippers in a 5* hotel we didn't expect to find all these in Cobo Bay. This is obviously a hotel that knows how to impress its customers. From our arrival we were treated with warmth, courtesy and just the right amount of friendliness. Service in the bars and the restaurants (inside or on the terrace) was excellent and we couldn't fault the quality of the food and drink. We don't expect establishments like this to be cheap but the prices were, if anything, rather less than the quality suggested. The whole happy experience was completed by the location - right on the seafront, facing west, enabling us to enjoy the most fantastic sunsets across this rugged bay. Heavenly! Congratulations to the management and staff - we reckon you've got it just right!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy those sunsets from your own balcony you should ask for a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stueyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location overlooking Cobo Bay. The hotel is a 3 star but rates itself with 5 star standards, and to be fair they do a great job. The room had fresh flowers and fruit as well as bottled water, robes and slippers!! We were on the side of the hotel overlooking the Rockmount pub, which also allows guests to use and put payment onto your room. The room was very spaciuos and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was lovely and with a good choise. We did eat dinner in the restaurant and that was excellent with views of the sunset. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The sun terrace for guests although small is well positioned and a sun trap. The Terrace Bar at the front of the hotel can get very busy, but is a great place to have a drink and watch the world go by. A great hotel!

Room Tip: Room 109 can be noisy as opposite the pub next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great service, great food, great location.
Very much enjoyed our visits here and to sister hotel, the Farmhouse. We will be back!
The hotel food and ambience is excellent. As is the restaurant next door. And the great sunsets are memorable.

Room Tip: If you have a young family, stay in the adjoining rooms at back of hotel. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
835 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £72 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing