We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunsets at Cobo Bay Hotel”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
HYTHE , KENT . UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunsets at Cobo Bay Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome at the Cobo bay hotel on 30 th July for seven nights in a balcony room.This is the second time that we have spent a week at this hotel , and the quality of service , food ,bed , facilities is still top notch !
The staff are very obliging , and obviously like working for the owner , David Nussbeaum , who has very high standards.
The sunset from our room whilst sitting on the balcony was fantastic .
Free car hire was included in our deal , which was an extra bonus.
The bed was very comfortable , and tea/coffee making facilities very generous .
All in all , our stay was superb , nd we will be returning next year for a third visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank POTSY2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    140
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
321
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are slowly making our way through most of the hotels in Guernsey and had always liked the look of the Cobo Bay. We were flying onto the island in a light aircraft so were dependant on the weather so didn't want to give a deposit for a hotel in case we couldn't make it. I had really wanted a balcony room but from the website it seemed that a non sea view room was all that was available. I e mailed the hotel and they were very obliging. We were arrived the receptionist gave us a good rate and allowed us to leave our luggage until the room was serviced. I didn't really have any high hopes for the room because it didn't have a view but I was pleasantly surprised. It was a good size and light and well decorated. Lovely bathroom but towels were a bit on the small side which always gives the appearance of being stingy. Also, it didn't give separate toiletries but had a shower gel dispenser on the wall. Disappointing. However, there was lots of tea & coffee provided and the bed was big with excellent pillows. We actually had a nice view as well, albeit into someone's very pretty garden.
The food in the restaurant was really good.
The terrace was a nice place to sit in the sun for a drink albeit a little noisy because the road is right by. We waited ages to be served and in the end had to go to find someone. I noticed this happened to others as well. They would sit down and then wait and wait & in the end have to go off to find a waiter.
Service was much better in the bar. Lovely friendly barman who we had a nice chat with and was very attentive.
Definitely one of the better hotels. Will come again [when we have completed our sample of all the Guernsey hotels!]

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

really enjoyed our 4 day stay, friendly welcome from sandrine at reception and found all the staff helpfull and polite . excellent breakfast variety,room had lovely views over the bay and kept perfectly clean everyday,plus situated very close to regular bus route to st peters port etc. highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A 10 minute bus ride from the Peninsula hotel where we were staying brings you to Cobo bay and the Cobo bay hotel and beach terrace restaurant. The service on arrival was prompt and our drinks and menus arrived within a couple of minutes. The staff are uber polite and engaging as seems to be the way on Guernsey. The food was excellent and I would have liked to have worked my way through the menu over time. I will stay here sometime as the rooms are to the highest standard with 34 in total. Quality is the word!

Room Tip: Sea facing for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just returned today 31st July 2013, from a week at the Cobo Bay Hotel, late booking, took the last room available. Upon arrival the Staff were very friendly and could not do enough to make you welcome. There is a lift to the upper floors.The bedroom was quiet with fresh flowers and a very comfortable KING SIZED bed, air conditioning and a large walk in shower. The cleanliness throughout the hotel was excellent. The views overlooking Cobo Bay from the restaurant were fantastic as was the standard and choice of the food available The large floral display as you entered the restaurant was spectacular.You could eat out on the terrace if you so desired. Food was not cheap but we thought it was good value for money. Hope to go back in the not too distant future. Would not hesitate to recommended this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

the setting could not be better. superb view, sea front, lovely sunsets etc. rooms very nice indeed but NO AIRCON :O(.... this needs sorting! fabulous breakfast. comfy bed. tasty wines from the bar. friendly staff too.

Room Tip: I guess the front facing rooms are the desirable ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

From the start the Staff were helpful & friendly. We had a 'Superior room' which was great, balcony, sea view & all the trimmings. Cleanliness was superb, bed comfortable & easy access to room via lift. One can eat in the restaurant or on the terrace. We chose restaurant as terrace & road gets busy during the evening as does the adjacent Rockmount Hotel. It becomes quite crowded in the evenings but we never saw any bad behaviour or excess rowdies. Food excellent & well presented. Although not cheap we considered the hotel to be good value for money & would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. Particular thanks to Nelson & his wife (sorry - forgot name !) for their courteous attention during the week. Great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are quieter, away from the adjacent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing