We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great hotel!”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, great hotel!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Guernsey. Loved the Coco bay hotel, the staff were brilliant. The restaurant staff couldn't be more helpful and the food is to die for! The seats outside were great to have a drink and watch the sun set. We also made use of the hot tub in the hotel. The room was lovely and clean and a decent size. I would also recommend a visit to Sark for anyone travelling to Guernsey, its an exceptional place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    141
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
323
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mytholmroyd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Once more we had an excellent stay at the Cobo Bay Hotel . Nothing is too much trouble to ensure that your stay is the best is can be . From the friendly staff to good food in the restaurant to the comfortable rooms .All add up to a relaxing break .We even had a performance on our balcony by Fleetwood Bac which was absolutely fantastic! Would recommend the Cobo to any of our friends We will be back !!

Room Tip: A balcony room . To watch the sea & sunsets .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 276AnneL276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary. The location on the seafront was perfect for watching the beautiful sunsets, rooms were clean and tidy, with service spot on. A car would be a must be to get easily around the island as Cobo bay is quieter than most areas. Book for dinner early to get a window side table....important for viewing the magnificent sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Hall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wish we had spent more than 3 nights at this modest but lovely hotel. This is a 3* hotel yet we had a well decorated large room which was well appointed with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The value is very good and the food is also excellent. Each day there is a new 3 course dinner [2 courses £19.95 or 3 for £25] and although we intended to eat elsewhere at least once we never did because of the quality of the food and the lovely views over Cobo Bay.
We were only able to eat in the outside area once because of the weather [book as soon as you can as this area is very popular with everyone in the area]. What beats sitting with a coctail in one hand and a delicious morsel of food on a fork in the other watching the sun set with your lovely husband by your side. Staff in the restaurant/bar excellent, friendly and welcoming yet professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HYTHE , KENT . UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome at the Cobo bay hotel on 30 th July for seven nights in a balcony room.This is the second time that we have spent a week at this hotel , and the quality of service , food ,bed , facilities is still top notch !
The staff are very obliging , and obviously like working for the owner , David Nussbeaum , who has very high standards.
The sunset from our room whilst sitting on the balcony was fantastic .
Free car hire was included in our deal , which was an extra bonus.
The bed was very comfortable , and tea/coffee making facilities very generous .
All in all , our stay was superb , nd we will be returning next year for a third visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank POTSY2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are slowly making our way through most of the hotels in Guernsey and had always liked the look of the Cobo Bay. We were flying onto the island in a light aircraft so were dependant on the weather so didn't want to give a deposit for a hotel in case we couldn't make it. I had really wanted a balcony room but from the website it seemed that a non sea view room was all that was available. I e mailed the hotel and they were very obliging. We were arrived the receptionist gave us a good rate and allowed us to leave our luggage until the room was serviced. I didn't really have any high hopes for the room because it didn't have a view but I was pleasantly surprised. It was a good size and light and well decorated. Lovely bathroom but towels were a bit on the small side which always gives the appearance of being stingy. Also, it didn't give separate toiletries but had a shower gel dispenser on the wall. Disappointing. However, there was lots of tea & coffee provided and the bed was big with excellent pillows. We actually had a nice view as well, albeit into someone's very pretty garden.
The food in the restaurant was really good.
The terrace was a nice place to sit in the sun for a drink albeit a little noisy because the road is right by. We waited ages to be served and in the end had to go to find someone. I noticed this happened to others as well. They would sit down and then wait and wait & in the end have to go off to find a waiter.
Service was much better in the bar. Lovely friendly barman who we had a nice chat with and was very attentive.
Definitely one of the better hotels. Will come again [when we have completed our sample of all the Guernsey hotels!]

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

really enjoyed our 4 day stay, friendly welcome from sandrine at reception and found all the staff helpfull and polite . excellent breakfast variety,room had lovely views over the bay and kept perfectly clean everyday,plus situated very close to regular bus route to st peters port etc. highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing