We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sunsets, great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing sunsets, great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Have just returned from 4 day break with husband to celebrate my birthday. We picked this hotel for its location and asked for room with balcony, these overlook the beach and therefore get the sunsets. The road between the hotel and the beach can be little noisy but you soon get used to this.

Our flight from Manchester was early morning so when we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready, but just down the road was a lovely tea room so we were able to go there and have a leisurely lunch. The room had a very comfortable bed, robes, slippers, complimentary water, fruit and chocolates. Breakfasts were very good, and your hot choice was served to your table, along with your tea/coffee. Dining room staff were all very pleasant. The hotel was participating in the "Tennerfest" scheme that occurs in October on Jersey and Guernsey and we had evening meal there on the night of my birthday - very good menu at reasonable price. On the other nights we ate out at different places, first night was at the Rockmount pub next door but as it was Friday night it was extremely noisy and crowded in there and to be honest we didn't enjoy the food and my husband had to take his cloudy pint back twice to be replaced.
Hotel bar/lounge very pleasant to sit in at night with a glass of wine or two and again bar staff all very friendly and efficient.

The bay is beautiful, in fact most of the coastline around Guernsey is. We hired a car and tootled around from bay to bay, stopping for coffee, lunch etc, very laid back here and relaxed, upper speed limit is only 35mph, less in most places so makes for unstressful driving.

I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with balconies if you want to enjoy the sunset and see the lovely beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    136
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
84
312
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location and quality of food. Lovely touches in room and extras including bottled water and slippers! Downsides were very limited wifi in room we had (208) and stains found on pillow case which we mentioned to receptionist but didnt seem overly bothered. However we would book again and have to mention the waiting on staff who were great and worked hard to provide excellent service.

Room Tip: not 208 as wouldnt pick wifi up and had to stand outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely hotel, right opposite the sea, lovely room (a big thanks to Sandrine who couldn't have been more helpful - she is a star), food was smashing and the sunsets were awesome - watch out for the waves washing over the sea wall at high tide - we got drenched but didn't mind a bit !!!

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 109 has a view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had three nights in the Cobo Bay Hotel on a recent break to Guernsey. Our room had a small side balcony with views of the sea. The room was well presented, with complementary bottled water, fruit, tea & coffee, etc. The setting is lovely, right opposite the beach, however there is a road in front of the hotel and can be a bit noisy at times. There is a pub next door, offering food all day; we had Sunday lunch there after being out walking all day, which went down well, and a supermarket just up the road. The bus runs regularly, and it is very easy to get about the island, whether on foot or by bus. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but that was very pleasant, with a buffet & served hot breakfast selection, and a choice of drinks (various teas, coffee, decaf. etc). We also went into the hotel bar, which is very comfortable but was very quiet. The staff were friendly and efficient; all in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely - and a balcony gets you out there, but there can be road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We returned to the US and from Cobo Bay Hotel a few days ago, having fulfilled our dream to visit Guernsey. We were only there a few hours when we vowed to return to Guernsey and this wonderful hotel. Service was incredible, even booking a taxi for us when our train broke down and we missed the earlier ferry, arriving too late to pick up our car. Breakfast each morning was terrific, with many choices. Our balcony view of the bay was awesome. We loved watching the sun set from the beautiful large and comfortable patio out front. The beach right across the street was always changing. Easy parking, wonderfully comfortable beds, lots of room, fresh fruit, water and chocolate upon arriving. The best!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Georgiagirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Cobo Bay, great location opposite the crashing waves and beautiful skylines. We had a standard room with a huge bed, great tea and coffee selection, bathrobes, slippers, extensive toiletries,etc, warm, well equipped bathroom. We had bottled water, fruit and chocolates on arrival, fruit and chocolates were not in the room after the first evening and I asked where they were and was told it is only for arrival and if we wanted any more fruit we would have to pay for it. The room was really cold but we used the spare blanket to block the huge draught from the door. It was noisy from the guests in the room above us, I think the floorboards above were so creaky we heard noise every time someone stepped on them. We asked for an ice bucket and glasses one evening and it took 40 minutes for it to arrive at our room! The breakfasts were great but the toast always arrived about 10-15 minutes ahead of the main dish and was lukewarm. We never ate evening meal in the restaurant, it seemed expensive when there are more reasonable restaurants only a bus ride or walk away. Bus stop just round the corner, beautiful walks nearby, considering it is rated a 3 star it was very good and it contributed very positively to our enjoyable stay in Guernsey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Booked a superior room and it was like a mini suite. Better than some 5* hotel rooms. Highlights of the room were: 2 big TVs, fresh fruit, chocolates, bathrobes, slippers, still and sparkling water, lovely shampoo etc...The bathroom was super - marble interior with a large shower and separate bathtub. We had a view of the sea from our room. Breakfast is great - served in a room with a wonderful sea view! The main selling point for this hotel is the location. What a beautiful view - especially at sunset. All in all this is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestravel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing