We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cobo Bay Hotel on the edge of the Ocean”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a truly wonderful stay in the Cobo Bay Hotel in September 2013. Even though the weather did not live up to it,s sunshine island tag the hotel was great. Comfy room with good sized bed, a lovely view of the sea and a private balcony. After a splendid breakfast we were ready to tackle a day of site seeing and when we returned the evening meals were excellent with local seafood starring. The service and attention by the staff was pleasant but not overpowering. In all respects a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Cobo Bay has a fabulous location at the heart of Guernsey's west coast. The balcony rooms are very comfortable and have superb views of the bay and the wonderful sun set. There is a modern shower room and a number of very thoughtful touches in the room.
There is a road between the hotel and the beach but this quietens down in the evenings and does not cause any trouble when sleeping.
Breakfast is excellent with a good range on offer and it was very well prepared.
Plenty of car parking at the rear of the hotel but it is also very close to the local bus stop.
There is a small parade of shops a short walk from the hotel for all the essentials.

Room Tip: With this location you have to go for a balcony room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevew07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On the beach-side of Cobo Bay , you should definitely pay extra for a room with sea-view and balcony if available as you will not be disappointed. When the sun is shining the balcony/terrace is the perfect place to wind down the day with a drink watching the sun-set. The hotel has a great outside space where drinks are served and I would imagine during the summer this is extremely popular.
The breakfast offered a great choice of both hot cooked and cold buffet choices and the waiting staff were always on hand to ensure the dining experience was up to expectations.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, WIFI and an iron and ironing board.
The room was small but with the large balcony/terrace this did not really matter.
I would certainly return to the hotel and my only critique would be that the reception staff did not have the best knowledge about the Island and what it had to offer which should perhaps form part of their training.
All in all well done for an extremely pleasant break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for a few days between being in Europe and our daughters wedding. As we do not live in the UK we wanted a break away from the UK Mainland but not a long flight.
We booked the hotel directly via the hotels website and our subsequent requests for Dinner Reservations etc were all dealt with very efficiently.
We booked one of the four poster bedrooms overlooking the bay. The room was excellent with a small sitting area, hugh bathroom and private balcony (unfortunately during our stay the weather was against us so we never got to use it).
Special mention to the staff...top notch!!!
The restaurant for breakfast as noted in other reviews was excellent and all served to you after being freshly cooked to order.
Dinner too was excellent and we decided to eat on both evenings in the restaurant. Other reviews have commented on the price... we thought it was very good value compared to other establishments we looked at on the island.
The room and hotel was very clean and the huge flower displays in the hotel were fantastic.
Due to the weather we did not get to use the terrace for drinks..
We would highly recommend this hotel if holidaying in Guernsey...

Only one minor niggle... we arrived before 2pm check in time to be told very abruptly that check in time was 2pm and that was that.... no checking to see if our room was ready......

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for a week in a sea view double room with balcony from 8th October 2013.
The room was of a good size, 6ft bed, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making, wifi (not the best signal but free), two easy chairs, table and chairs on balcony, bathroom with walk in shower. The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.
The food was first class, we used the set menu which was priced at £10 for mains and £5 for starters and sweets; good quality, variety, and portion size. Breakfast was very good and again top quality.
We found the staff to be very friendly and efficient, we were always addressed by name in the restaurant which was a lovely touch. The bar could get a little busy just before dinner but nothing to worry about.
We have stayed in many hotels in a Guernsey over the past twenty years and the Cobo Bay puts them to shame for quality, service and value for money.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A good hotel, very clean and tidy, our rooms were immaculate. I say rooms plural as we asked to be moved from our initial room, a very noisy one - the staff were very helpful and found us an alternative room. The hotel is on a main road which has a fair amount of traffic so be aware if your room is at the front of the hotel, you will be able to hear the cars. Breakfast was nice, we only stayed for four nights but after a week the variety at breakfast buffet table may get a bit tedious. All the staff we met were helpful and friendly, the sandy beach opposite must be lovely in the summer, we would come here again but make sure our room was in a quieter corner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked to stay at the Cobo at the last minute,and overall we had a good stay,most of the staff are very good,though there does seem to be a bit of language barrier with one or two of them,there is a large number of Eastern European,mainley Latvians working the Islands hospitality sector,with varying deegrees of English,that said we had no major problems.The Gordie lad behind the bar took some understanding though!!!!!He is a credit to the Hotel,very knowledgable,behind the bar and nothing is to much trouble if you have any other requests,another mention also for Eric,top waiter and a very nice bloke.The only disappointment during our 3 day stay was Sunday lunch that took an absolute age to turn up,and hen it did the roast potatos were cold and like leather,the preavious meal on the Saturday though was excellent it has to be said.I would stay again and maybe will next year.There is also a good little health room with spa and sauna,get a sea view its worth the money!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
485 reviews
1.8 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
2 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing