We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 4 star”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should be 4 star”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a great hotel. Must have the best location on the island with stunning views of the sunset out to sea. Our bedroom was on the second floor with a balcony to enjoy the view. Great food and friendly staff. Must mention the lovely bar waitress from Latvia. Very good service with a smile which is always appreciated. Mind you all the staff were excellent. Nothing too much trouble - even making a Margarita cocktail for someone! The breakfast options were just too much for us. Fruit juice, cereals with yoghurt, raisins, apricots, raspberries, blueberries etc etc, then full English and more besides! You would struggle not to enjoy this place!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    141
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
323
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Amazing location helpful staff nothing is too much trouble the breakfast was tasty and satisfying with lots of choice. They were accommodating to our needs spotless well equipped rooms with lots of little bathroom extras including warm dressing gowns and slippers well equipped hospitality tray with sparking and still water and a wonderful fruit bowl. The staff were always polite and helpful and local knowledge was outstanding. We had a great stay and will be returning very soon. Thank you Cobo Bay Hotel you are more than your star rating your just perfect .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is sited right in front of COBO bay . The service is friendly and the whole hotel is well managed . Spent a week there and was one of the better 3 star hotels at which i have stayed . The breakfasts were - full options .

Room Tip: All rooms are large and en-suite . Some have wonderful sea views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Cobo Bay Hotel is a recently refurbished property in a great location. It does, however, have its problems!
The hotel next to the Cobo Bay is currently being rebuilt, and the area to one side, and directly behind the Cobo Bay is a building site, with work (including angle grinding) commencing early in the morning!
Upon arrival we were surprised to find that the Cobo Bay no longer has an adjoining car park and has just four spaces (for a 30+ room hotel, bar and large restaurant) and no on street parking. The hotel now has a car park about a quarter of a mile away – not so good for elderly guests. It would appear that the old Cobo Bay car park now belongs to the hotel currently being rebuilt.
On check-in we were told that we were being upgraded to superior rooms – which didn’t happen. We were told that one room would definitely be upgraded the following day – which didn’t happen either
Overall, it’s a good hotel – the staff were friendly, and there were nice ‘touches’ in the rooms (bath robes, slippers, fresh fruit & mineral water etc.) – it just needs to do something about the car parking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westwinds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that treats it's guests like royalty then this is the one to choose. Nothing was too much bother, the food and service was terrific. If you are disabled then room 201 is the room to ask for, it has a wet room with well appointed hand rails and a non slip floor there are comfy bathrobes for you to use and slippers to wear after the lovely shower. This room also has a balcony with 2 comfy chairs and a small table for you G&T or afternoon cuppa of which is there in your room for you to make whenever you want.
Disabled parking is limited but having said that we were able to park outside the door every day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at The Cobo Bay Hotel twice already and yet again I am not disappointed. The reception area was particularly lovely this time, with gorgeous flower displays everwhere. The staff on reception are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We were allocated room 203 which is a sea view room with a balcony over looking the bay and the view is breathtaking. When we walked in the room, I was so happy with the balcony and the view, it was perfect.
All the rooms that I have stayed in are immaculate and there is a good selection of teas and both caffeinated and decaff coffee. There was a bowl of fruit and some chocolate too and good quality biscuits. There is also complimentary large bottles of still and sparkling water, you don't get this in some 4 star hotels I have stayed in!
Our bathroom had a large shower with shampoo and bodywash conveniently placed. Plenty of towels and body lotions, soaps, everything you would need, even bathrobes and slippers!
The bed was massive and very comfortable, I have asked where I can get the same pillows as they are like sleeping on a cloud! Best night's sleep I've had in a long time!
Food at Cobo Bay Hotel is excellent and their prices are very reasonable, the restaurant overlooks the bay and its nice to eat breakfast/dinner looking out at the ocean and weather permitting, there is an outside seating area which is even better!
There's a cosy bar area too, with a grand piano! We had an impromptu sing-song one evening, everyone is so friendly and you really feel at home there.
Overall, I can't praise this hotel highly enough, it should be a 4 star in my opinion! If you stay there you wont be disappointed, it's a lovely hotel in beautiful location

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely and there is a balcony too!.Although there isn't a swimming pool at Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eden-sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived here on Wednesday for a three night visit with two friends

Having stopped at this hotel twice before we were very disappointed on this particular occasion.
Arrived to find no parking so asked to walk to the nearest car park over a quarter a mile away.
Woken at Severn in the morning due to builders working on a refurbishment of the adjacent hotel.
Room had a terrific power shower which couldn't be adjusted so when used flooded the whole of the bathroom including all toiletries loo rolls towels etc.
As our room was on the first floor we could hear every movement from people above us.

All our concerns were raised but in short the staff were not interested

Clients deserve better

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JudyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoboBayHotel, Owner at Cobo Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Judy,

When the local brewery decided not to renew our tenancy of The Rockmount at the start of the year, we were left without access to the car park we had shared. Rather than let standards drop as you have suggested, we have quickly transformed a field at the rear of the hotel in to a car park exclusively for our hotel guests, just a 5 minute walk away. In addition to this, we also offer a small number of parking spaces at the front of the hotel whilst public car parks are available along the coast road.

I am sure that you can appreciate we have no control over building works currently taking place next door at The Rockmount so it is a shame that you have misconstrued an unfortunate situation we temporarily find ourselves in as a fall in standards. Whilst I can only apologise for the issues you faced with your shower, I am disappointed that you have chosen not to review our levels of cleanliness nor passed comment on the quality of our food or hospitality, as it’s these essential ingredients that I believe determine whether we are doing the best we possibly can for our guests and not those factors which unfortunately are beyond our control.

I hope that you will therefore offer us another opportunity to renew your faith in the hotel without any external factors affecting your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing