We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Ashurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at the hotel and have agreed that this is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Although we were unable to secure a balcony room at the height of the summer season room 211 was spacious, thoughtfully decorated and had a lovely bathroom with an excellent shower! The decor and the flower arrangements in the hotel were of a really high standard and it felt really welcoming. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful without exception and we felt they got to know us well during our stay. Although there have been comments about car parking issues we were given a printed sheet with information about where to park and had no problems with this. The restaurant and bar staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble and they obviously work extremely hard! They were good humoured and extremely professional,especially the restaurant manager. Cobo Bay itself is stunning in all weathers and the sunsets were fantastic. We had exceptionally good weather which meant the terrace was very busy, but ,as hotel guests we were always found a table for a meal or a drink. There is plenty to explore locally , on foot or by taking advantage of the regular bus service if you don't feel like driving. Cannot fault any aspect of our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    140
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
86
323
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lets start from the beginning we checked in and went to our room what a view from our balcony right accross the bay. Well worth paying a little extra for.There is so much attention to detail in the room, from a tv guide magazine opened to todays date, to fruit and a wide range of hot drinks. Its definitly worth more that the 3 star rating apparently it is only 3 star not 4 because of the room sizes but I found ours to be more than adequate size. We went down to the terrace for a drink, what a spot! only the road separates it from the beach.You can eat outside too but we opted to eat inside and the restaurant was superb. The staff are very professional, efficient and friendly and the food is a little expensive but very tasty and filling. There are 2 bars the sports bar looked ok when we popped out heads round the door but we didnt use it as the guests bar was so cosy and comfortable with books and games to make you really feel at home. There is also a sun terrace and a gym room which we didnt use as we were only here a few days but would have had we been there longer. The hotel is a little isolated, its about 10 minutes walk to the next hotel/bar and a chippy and a few shops, and 10 minutes the other way to another cafe/bar and kiosk in the day. So if you want somewhere a bit more bustling stay at st peter port, but we were happy to spend evenings and meals at the hotel complex it was so relaxing and welcoming. Few slight downsides -the wi fi wasnt the most reliable, which is a little inconvenient as the channel islands charge for data/calls/messages. Like I mentioned the food was a little pricey but nice, but some things seemed a bit unjust -£2.50 for a pint of lime and soda, desserts £6-7. Also parking is a bit tight, not that it mattered to us as we got the plane, id definitly recommend doing it that way rather than drive as we had a few cringy moments waching people trying to park in tight spaces, you can walk around the island quite easily and the buses always seemed to be on time and are only £1 per trip. finally, special mention to the German barman what a dude!

Room Tip: its worth paying for a sea view and/or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACJwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location and outdoor seating make this hotel. Cobo Bay is beautiful and sitting outside having a drink or dinner let's you seen some amazing sunsets.

I would say this is a very good 3 star hotel, they advertise being a 3 star hotel with a 5 star service which I would disagree with.

The service outside on a busy evening is poor, sometimes we waited 25minutes for 2 drinks to arrive from the time we placed our order. The staff don't seem to have tables or areas that they look after, it seemed a bit random. One evening when we had dinner outside quite a few tables were getting frustrated at the delays in bringing out the food.

The breakfasts are good with a range of continental and cooked options. For Dinner I had the fish and chips which was a different take on this classic dish with 5 types of fish, cooked in different ways, which i really enjoyed

We had a room at the back of the hotel which was small for 2 people each with a suitcase. There was a bath, normal tea and coffee facilities. TV had around a dozen channels with access to Sky Sports

Would recommend a room at the front of the hotel so that you get the sea and sunset views.

The Jacuzzi was out of order for the duration of our stay.

Hotel has free wifi, which was a bit hit and miss in our room, sometimeshad to stand in the corridor. It also doesn't work in some parts of the restaurant or outside on the terrace.

Would recommend having a car if you are going to be staying for a few days,or you can have bikes delivered to the hotel.

A taxi into St Peter Port was £10 on the way in and £13 on the way back (late at night). You can also get a bus into the capital.

There is a local chippy 1 minutes walk away. It has benches outside or you can eat on the beach. Also you can walk to Crabby Jacks, which is about 20mins along the coast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated right on the seafront, with a great view of cobo bay. The hotel has great facilities, the rooms are comfortable, the shower is nice and powerful, the food in the restaurant is not the cheapest, but is worth paying the bit extra. The bar staff were friendly, the bar itself has a nice old fashioned look, we'll go there again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mattgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent accommodation and excellent restaurant, good menu and well presented. Excellent value for money! Views across the bay are to die for.its worth paying for a sea facing room.

Room Tip: Sea facing room a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytholmroyd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Returned to The Cobo Bay Hotel once again . No complaints only plaudits . Excellent service . Excellent food .Top notch all round . Even the weather was fantastic [although that isn't down to the Cobo staff !!!] Would recommend here to anyone .

Room Tip: Sea view and balcony to watch the amazing sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 276AnneL276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

a truly fantastic reception,the hotel restaurant was decorated beautifully as were the tables and chairs,big thanks to jute adore for all there splendid efforts,from wedding favours to order of services and decorating the tables and chairs.Romano the hotel manager and his "team' were superb as was the food and Romanos expert timing....i can't praise him or the hotel enough,thanks guys a truly memorable day,God bless you all

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Property: Cobo Bay Hotel
Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing