We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised it's not a 4 star”
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cobo Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2010

A well set-up hotel with superb views and attractive decor; nice touches such as the mineral water, fruit and tv magazine (open at the right page each day!). The en-suite was thoroughly modern and the housekeeping, as you might expect, was superb

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baytree23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Cobo Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

There are so many good points about this hotel I may forget them all. We got a really good price due to the season-the weather for the most part being dreadful, but the stay was worth it. The hotel has been decorated to a very high standard-I love the wallpaper in the upstairs corridors. Very modern contemporary and relaxing. The rooms are not huge, but stay tidy and thats not a problem. The seaviews are great from the rooms at the front and the balcony is spacious. There is a dressing table, ample mirrors, mirrored wardrobe, ample lighting, huge hospitality tray, slippers and robes, complimentary water-still and sparkling and fruit on arrival. The wall mounted tv is good and you get a TV magazine!!! The bathroom is very good-a good sized shower. The cleaners are very thorough.
Breakfast is a joy-a huge buffet of fruit, pastries, cereal, yoghurt etc. Cooked breakfast to order-the haddock is superb. Very obliging staff- we were even asked if bacon was cooked well enough (as we like well cooked)-very impressive. What I like about the dining room are the mirrors on the pillars-so everyone gets a seaview.
The lounge is very relaxing. Bar staff are excellent. Last but not least receptionists are very friendly and helpful.
The hot tub is great, but may get busy in summer.
The only thing we wished for was a lounge menu, which may have been saved for high-season.
The location of hotel is superb and sunsets are fantastic-just seeing a few is worth while. The seafront is full of wonderful views and rock formations. All the fortresses and landmarks within easy reach and good bus route. There are 2 foodstores (supermarket and garage), cashpoint in supermarket (free), a Natwest Bank, chemist, post office, and Cobo Bay visitot shop within a few minutes walk. There is a delightful tea room-Cobo Bay tearoom nearby-superb home cooking.
A great place to stay, we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed at the Cobo Bay Hotel for 3 nights for our anniversary. We had one of the seaview rooms which really made you feel as though you were on the beach (apart from the road in between). The room, albeit on the small side (not sure what the standard rooms are like in size), was very well decorated and had everything that you need for your stay, including ironing board, hairdryer, toiletries, robe and slippers. The sunsets are amazing and it was a shame the weather wasn't good enough to sit out and enjoy them. All the staff we meet were really friendly and helpful. The hotel has a sauna, hot tub, steam shower (that was too complicated to understand) and a couple of exercise bike - unfortunately on the last night of our stay the hot tub had broken so we had to make do with just the sauna!). We ate in the restaurant one night and the food and service was great. We travelled around using local buses and one night got a cab back from St Peter Port which cost around £12. Breakfast was good with a selection of fruit, pastries and cooked breakfasts - the only down side was that the tea and coffee were not good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Came to Guernsey by way of a belated anniversary celebration. Hotel was overall - fantastic - including the (free) leisure suite area, could not really fault it. Staff are very polite & friendly but not at all intrusive.
Hotel arranged some champagne, choc's & a wonderful arrangement flowers for our arrival as requested (at a very good price too). Sitting on the balcony shortly after arriving, with a chilled glass was just great - it set the mood for our week here.
Would we recommend this hotel & this area ... YES. Would we come again ... YES (Definitely).
Should you consider it against other hotels ... YES (Especially the sea view rooms).
Some fantastic walks all over the island - lots of great little 'Kiosks' for a cuppa or snack all located quite closely around the island perimeter which are great to walk to / from. Lots to see & do for a full week. *However, take or hire a car as it is worth it - although the bus is regular & visits most places.
Thank you Cobo & thank you Guernsey.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue'n'Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We came over to Guernsey for a friends wedding, and we decided to stay at the Cobo Bay Hotel, it was absoultly amazing, on arriving the reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, as were all the staff in the hotel. Our room was very comfortable with extra little touches. The hotel has a great friendly feel to it and I would certainly recommend it to all my family and friends. I would love to stay at Cobo Bay Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Cobo Bay Hotel in located on one of the most beautiful coastlines in Guernsey. It is right on the sea front with views of Fort Hommet in th distance and more closely the Fort at Grande Rocques.
Cobo Bay Hotel is ideally small and has a personal feel to it which helps you to relax the moment you walk through the front doors. The Reception team are welcoming, polite and very helpful.
Our room had a supurb sea view. It was clean and had very nice organic toileteries in the bathroom. We were welcomed with a plate of fresh fruit and bottled water which was a much needed refreshment as we arrived. Our welcome information pack was comprehensive and gave us up date relevent infomation, tips and hints.
The restaurant was spacious. One didn't feel crowded by surrounding tables and other guests. We stayed on B&B basis. The breakfasts were fresh everyday with plenty of choice in both cooked and continental styles. We had 2 evening meals in the restaurant during our stay using the Tennerfest menu. Again, pleny of choice and beautifully presented and tasted amazing.
There isn't much at all that we didn't like about our hotel. If I have to be picky, it would be that the coastal road that the hotel was situated on was a very popular one for both motorists and pedestrians so sometimes a little noisy. I also suggested that the information pack included details of how the car parking system worked in the main town so as not to incur a parking fine.
I would most definately stay at Cobo Bay Hotel again. Thanks to all for an amazing holiday experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlejannie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed here for six nights for our 45th wedding anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable with a super king sized bed. It was not the largest but most certainly adequate for our needs. My only minor criticism would be an inadequate amount of draw space.
The restaurant in the hotel served very good food leaning towards nouveau cuisine. If, like us, you would sometimes prefer something straightforward and more simple the bar/restaurant next door is owned by the same company and meals there can be charged to the hotel.

The hotel overlooks Cobo Bay and is in a superb location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeFavershamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
817 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo Coast Road, Castel GY5 7HB
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £72 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing