We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent rooms, food and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel has a bit of class in all departments. Probably best is the food - super fresh seafood, beautifully cooked and presented. The table d'hote menu (4 course for half boarders) is excellent value. Staff, too, are very friendly and efficient; follow the recommendation of the restaurant manager and you won't go wrong . We had a room facing the road and it was spacious, well decorated and a lovely bathroom. A slight downside is that you may hear the traffic, particularly if it is hot and you need a window open. But it didn't bother us during the night.

Small, attractive gardens and the swimming pool looks ok, although we didn't try it.

The hotel is on a busy road, though, and walking is difficult because of the lack of pavements. Apart from a nearby garden centre, though, there is nothing within walking distance, so you need a car or a bus to get to places.

We had 2 nights here and 1 at the Duke of Richmond at St Peter Port. Le Friquet is much superior as regards rooms and location. A genuine 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: First floor room at the front - luxury bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Le Friquet Country hotel for five nights in June 2011. Being fairly late at booking we were only able to reserve a standard room but need not have worried as it was perfect, well appointed, with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer (one of those extras you often forget to take with you), en suite facilities with a nice range of soaps and shampoos and a view over the terrace and beautiful gardens.
The only downside was having to climb two flights of fairly steep stairs to our room as the hotel has no lift.
All staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant waiting staff were particularly attentive, always greeting you with a smile.
A full breakfast buffet was available and a tasty selection for a full English breakfast (that should be Channel Islands' breakfast). Dinner offered an a la carte menu together with a number of daily specials. The fillet of plaice was wonderful; I was not so impressed with the seared sea bass - overcooked and dry. A good selection of wines were available at reasonable restaurant prices; I particularly enjoyed the New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.
If we visit Guernsey again we would have no hesitation in staying once more at Le Friquet Hotel, particularly as they have made a Return Guest Offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike4627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

beautiful room , very good food , we met and enjoyed the company of some of the local people who dine there regularly at weekends , it is indeed a very pleasant place to be .Located in about the centre of the island it is great for sightseeing as one can be at the coast in about 10/15 minutes, any coast !, it is a small island . My wife & I enjoyed every moment of our stay from the really comfy & spotless room to the well looked after good sized outdoor pool. {If you get lucky the real live duck will join you ! ] Staff we miss you .

Room Tip: no such thing as a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank animag30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My first stay at the hotel and both Odette and Denise (front of house) helped me with my pre booking and my check in and made everything so simple, both excellent ambassadors for the hotel.
The food was fantastic and couldn't be faulted especially the fish dishes, the bedroom was modern plus flat screen TV but due to booking late (my own fault) , I had to take a single which was a bit small but have booked a double room for next vist. Outside sees ample parking spaces, and beautiful gardens. I look forward to my next visit but even after this first visit would recommend the hotel to any business traveller looking for a lovely hotel, comfortable rooms, good food all at realistic prices plus friendly staff. L.Clarke

Room Tip: Book in plenty of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmcnireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed 4 nights (Honeymoon), wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. The location was perfect, with well kept gardens and a pool. We planned to eat out in a different place each night, but the food was of such a high standard that we ate there every night.

Breakfast was excellent, the choice, quality and presentation were the best we'd ever sampled. The staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were sad to leave and will certainly be returning. Have to give it 10/10, unable to fault.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website for some great deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This was a friendly, welcoming hotel. It has very pleasant grounds, with swimming pool.
We left our car at home, but there is a bus stop across the road from the hotel, and plenty of travel options. The restaurant staff, and the standard of the food there, are excellent. After sampling it on our first evening we decided to eat in every evening.

We hope to return to Guernsey next year, and, with confidence, to Le Friquet. (We are elderly, but not infirm!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mireille5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My partner and I booked a week's trip for relaxation and walking + we discovered on here that this hotel was highly recommended for the cuisine.... We were not disapointed!

From the Chef ( the food was delicious, esp the sea food platter - enough for a family of 4!!) to Manuel the gardener who kept the pool area and gardens in great shape with a fantastic display of flower boxes everywhere the staff were fabulous. The head waiter was also very helpful with his wine recommendations.
We were very lucky and had the outdoor pool to ourselves every morning, the weather was fab and the walking was fantastic, esp liked the south coast cliff paths and beautiful sandy beaches - we will be back soon hopefully!!

Room Tip: You can upgrade to a ground floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skitripper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
617 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
605 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing