We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Cheer Hotel(Castel)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn Hotel(Saint Saviour)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmhouse Hotel(Saint Saviour)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
347
133
27
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
133
27
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobster grillsuperior roomconservatory suitecar hireno liftlovely hotelplenty of parkinga la carte menubar and restaurantshort breakswimming poolsingle roomcomfortable roomsrestaurant staffbar managerrelaxing stayhigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Having returned, on the 5th July, from a 4 day break, I have to say that is was a restful time made even better by nice and helpful staff. The hotel is set in the most beautiful gardens, in a very quiet setting

The food was extremely good, the seafood platter, looked superb and was even nicer to eat.

To enjoy Guernsey, which is a beautiful island , it is even nicer to have a car and Le Friquet in one of its special breaks includes it in the cost of the break.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisah03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We went to this hotel originally in September 2010 and enjoyed it so much that we returned in July 2011.
In September, we stayed in the hotel. The room was small for our tastes and was in the 'attic' part of the hotel. In July we stayed in one of the hotel's apartments which was much better although the sofa and armchair were not particularly comfortable.
We feel that the restaurant is good value for money, particularly the carvery. They are very helpful and obliging and the service is good.
Across the road is Le Friquet Garden Centre which is lovely and has good snacks and cakes!!
The hotel has a small pool and on both holidays we spent quite some time sitting by the pool relaxing and sunbathing. In July there were new sunbeds which was lovely!
The hotel is fairly central and it is easy to get to beaches and to the shops - we recommend a visit to Cobo Bay which has a lovely beach although it does get very busy there at the weekend.
Overall, we are very happy with the hotel and will certainly be returning sometime in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel has superior rooms which may well be pricier, but probably better than the standard rooms and it may be worthwhile requesting one!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I chose this hotel on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews, but I have to say that I would not definitely go back. Why? The place is pleasant from the outside with well attended gardens, but stuck in the mid to late twentieth century on the inside; a very average bar and a very unrelaxing ambience to the place which is virtually silent at all times with bored staff hanging around talking about the jobs they'd rather be doing. I note that many of the people who have enjoyed the hotel are from a mature age range, and if it's peace and (deathly) quiet you want then this is probably the place for you. For me it was like staying at a retirement home. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the gentleman rude and unhelpful. Asking for a cab to be booked was an utter inconvinience for some reason. The bathroom was very nice and had recently been refitted. The air-con was useless. The bed was comfortable. Not a bad place overall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefriquet, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this site. We are grateful that so many of our Guests have chosen to post very complimentary comments about their stay with us and understand how influential these can be when choosing the right Hotel for your needs. I appreciate that you found our gardens well tended, your bed comfortable and the Bathroom "very nice".

We are a Country style Hotel with a busy and popular Restaurant both for Lunch and Dinner. The "peace and quet" that you found "unrelaxing" is I believe a feature common to many rural Guernsey Hotels and much appreciated by our Guests. It is unfortunate that you did not dine with us during your stay as you would have found plenty of atmosphere -------(and you may even have viewed our staff in a more positive light!)

I am sorry that you interpreted the Restaurant Managers attempts to get you a Taxi at the time you wanted as being "rude and unhelpful". The Receptionist on duty at the time recalls very specifically trying a number of Taxi companies for you and that you expressed apprecaition to her for doing so.

You close by saying that "overall" we are "not a bad place to stay" and I trust your comments along with my response will be helpful to other people when choosing the right Hotel for their visit to Guernsey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband, mother and I stayed at Le Friquet for a week at the end of June. We don't usually stay in hotels because of past experiences of being in rooms that I have to complain about, or food that it is not up to scratch, etc. However, the reviews looked OK on Trip Advisor and we took a chance. I'm glad we did because we had a really nice time there. We stayed in superior rooms (one twin and one double with single occupancy) which were attractively and comfortably furnished, kept well supplied with bathroom potions and lotions, tea, coffee, biscuits etc and we always had fresh flowers in the room.

The food at the hotel was good, of a consistently high standard and well presented and every evening non-residents would come to the restaurant for meals - so it obviously has a good reputation on the island. The staff, without exception, were friendly, helpful and efficient. The gardens are lovely to sit in and there is a pleasant heated outdoor pool. The hotel is situated more or less in the middle of the island, so it's easy to get out and about by car and there seems to be a good bus service around the island for those people travelling by public transport. The only down side is perhaps the fact that it is next to a road, so you would hear traffic in some (not all) of the rooms. This wasn't a problem for us because we live on a busy main road in London.

This is not a grand hotel. I would describe it as a well run, very comfortable medium size hotel where you get personal service and the views of clients are valued. I think it offers good value for money and would have no hesitation in recommending it or staying there again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed for 3 days in a self catering apartment which was an excellent size 1 bed apartment very clean & roomy. There was a separate bedroom with double bed, good sized modern clean bathroom & hallway leading down to a good sized lounge/kitchen dinner, everything we could have asked for home from home. We had a cot for my baby & a single bed for my older son. We rang down to reception on the first day to see if we could hire a highchair, & within minuites they brought one up free of charge. While there we had use of the outside heated swimming pool. We would go back again. The only thing we could fault & it is a tiny fault was there was a bit of noise from the traffic outside the hotel, but perhaps we might have been a little picky as we had just stayed in Sark for 4 days. Le Friquet hotel is one of the most clean hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: book over looking garden rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CASIO5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews