We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self catering accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in the self catering apartment which gave us the best of both worlds - easy access to a bar and restaurant but also ability to to our own cooking and entertain family. The accommodation was clean, spacious, quiet and in a good central location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnA-productions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    122
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
257
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel is situated in the middle of Guernsey and is renowned for its seafood platter and the quality of its food in general; it is open to non-residents. We stayed for six nights and were very satisfied indeed with the service we received. Our initial room proved to be too noisy, near a lane with speed merchants but they were more than happy to move us to a quieter room. The grounds are delightful, the staff so friendly and amusing and chatty and the food is out of this world! You will love it here!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Le Frequet is in a delightful setting with beautiful gardens and a pool. The staff were all first class; really warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel has character, the food is excellent and it is a peaceful and relaxing to stay

Room Tip: A couple of rooms are near the road so ask for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Sitting amidst beautifully kept gardens, this hotel is the perfect place to stay for those wanting quiet relaxation, very good fresh food, (seafood gets top marks!) and a place to explore the island from.
The room was very comfortable, and was serviced every morning whilst we had breakfast. Our only critisism was we had the room closest to the narrow road and the first cars in the morning woke us up.
The service was exellent in all departments, particularly the Restaurant and Reception management, which reflected down through all the staff. Top Marks to all!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greencrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have used this hotel at least a dozen times over the years and keep coming back because of it's location, price and very efficient staff. Having had to visit the island 3 times a year between 2000-2005, (our daughter lived on the island for 6 years we tried at least 6 other hotels on the island (including some higher rated ones) and none come anywhere near for friendliness. The food, especially the carvery, is excellent. You know if the locals use it, it has to be popular! The receptionists are extremely helpful , 2 of them having been there for a long time implying good job satisfaction. The chef and his team are award winning as is the hotel for service. The manager is approachable and nothing is too much trouble. We have been back 4 times since our more frequent trips and I would not think about staying anywhere else in Guernsey!

Room Tip: Speak to Odete, head receptionist. Garden views are recommended along with the new superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geofflisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The hotel was welcoming all the staff were very attentive helpful and professional. All the meals were of a high standard. The room was very comfortable clean and beautifully furnished. Lovely gardens.
We are certainly pleased that we chose to stay at Le Friquet to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary.
Hope to return in the not to distant future.
THANKYOU

Room Tip: Superior room light and airy plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Having returned, on the 5th July, from a 4 day break, I have to say that is was a restful time made even better by nice and helpful staff. The hotel is set in the most beautiful gardens, in a very quiet setting

The food was extremely good, the seafood platter, looked superb and was even nicer to eat.

To enjoy Guernsey, which is a beautiful island , it is even nicer to have a car and Le Friquet in one of its special breaks includes it in the cost of the break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisah03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing