We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would highly recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Friquet Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“would highly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

after spending a lovely relaxing few days at le friquet, the hotel is in a nice part of the island, plenty of parking spaces if driving or near to bus stop if usuing public transport
the rooms are well equipped and comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly
i would definately stay there again if returning to guernsey

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    115
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
79
248
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just returned from a four night break at Le Friquet Hotel.Our superior room overlooking the well kept garden was excellent.The breakfast, lunch and dinners were all delicious.All the staff were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: superior rooms 33/34 overlooking garden ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went to Guernsey to run the marathon and picked this hotel, blindly, based on cost. Turns out to have been almost perfectly located as it was 15 minute walk to the start line whereas other non-islanders stayed in the city and had to find a taxi out (and taxis were not easy to book).

Hotel is on beautiful grounds with room to stroll if you are hesitant about walking narrow lanes (no footpath). Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, pleasant staff. Happy with the choice and would stay there again

Room Tip: Wooden floors, so try for the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed on a 4 night Half board seafood break with car hire.
All the Le Friquet Hotel staff were friendly, polite, and most helpful. The chef produced a varied and extremely tempting menue. Every meal was delicious! The rooms were comfortable, clean and well furnished. The grounds were well kept and attractive, sadly due to the weather we did not get a chance to use the pool.
We enjoyed our visit very much and hope to return in the very near future

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BANDM1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have visited Guernsey many times and love the island. Our usual self catering appartment was unavailable and as we had eaten here before we decided to book their two bedroom appartment for the week. The decor of the appartment was somewhat dated as is much of the hotel but it was clean and comfortable and the service was good. For us the hotel is in a good location as we hire a car and it is centrally located with west coast beaches in easy reach and St. Peter Port not far away. The restaurant is good and particularly the carvery. The pool and gardens are excellent and we spent several relaxing afternoons there/ We have already booked to stay next year.

Room Tip: Could do with updating but clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The superior rooms are good with a decent sized bathroom and big (but soft) bed. Standard rooms have only a double bed and small bathroom. 
Breakfast is good with cooked options prepared on order, and the toast is hot. Restaurant staff are very friendly.
Dinner may be OK for early cavern, but the a la carte is hit and miss. See reviews of Falcon Carvery. Your best option is to have dinner at Da Nello in St Peters Port ten minutes away.
There's a pleasant garden and a pool, and being in the centre of the island is handy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F1veStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the island and also our 3rd visit to Le Friquet Hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The room (conservatory room) was spotless and very well appointed. We have stayed in this room before and it really is worh every penny. The food was second to none wether it be breakfast for an evening meal. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try the conservatory room, having the extra space is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 703JayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.9 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing