We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Friquet Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel from 13th to 16th April 2012 for the purpose of attending a friend's wedding in Cobo Bay/St Peter Port on 14th April 2012. Welcome at hotel and friendliness of staff could not have been better. Cleanliness of room and standard of bathroom (recently refurbished) excellent.
Food, both breakfasts and evening meals very tasty. Excellent service and value for money. Only potential disadvantage for disabled clientelle and/or those with limited mobility is that the hotel does not have a lift. However, staff are very helpful in carrying luggage to rooms and freely offer to do so. Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be able to stay again sometime soon. Thank you to all of the staff for making the visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefriquet, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Your kind comments are really appreciated and help us to focus on what matters to you. I understand your concern for our less able bodied guests and would like to mention that we have three lovely Ground Floor rooms available, one of which has direct access to the Hotel gardens. Just a thought. I hope we will see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    115
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
79
248
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We selected the Le Friquet Country Hotel from the Guensey Guide to Accommodation and realised soon after our arrival that we had made an excellent choice. We found the hotel has a friendly and comfortable atmosphere whilst being very efficiently run,with good service and great food! We shall certaintly visit again.

Room Tip: Superior room number 38 the only one we tried and was extremely quite and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
402 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have had a great short break in the quiet relaxed atmosphere of Le Friquet. The staff were courteous and welcoming. The room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. We were delighted to be upgraded to a larger room without even asking. All the staff were very helpful and accomodating. The break-fast and service from the charming, blond waitress was first rate. Even the sudden rainstorm didnt dampen our spirits and we would recommend the hotel to everyone. Hope we may visit again soon.

Room Tip: Just watch the mirrors carefully as you drive out the drive!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We returned again and enjoyed yet another fabulous visit to Le Friquet Hotel. The rooms are lovely and clean, good food pleasant and very helpful staff. What more could you want?! We have lost count of the number of visits we have made to Le Friquet, but we are certain to be back again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmH111276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just back fron a long weekend at Le Friquet, Guernsey and had a brilliant time.
The rooms were traditional, inkeeping with the old farm house, very comfortable and very clean. The reception at breakfast was warm and friendly, and breakfast itself was continental and full english using local produce where ever possible, (leave room for the full english, one of the best we have had in a hotel.) We also recomend the carvery, 3 choices of meat and all the veg you could want.

We were so impressed with the hotel that we took the time to fill out the questionnaire and were really suprised when we had a letter from the hotel offering us 15% off our next stay and a free room upgrade if available, we will certainly be taking them up on that!

Room Tip: Look around for a good deal. We paid £115 for 3 nights b&b and ferry each!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

With the exception of 2011 we have stayed at the Friquet Hotel once or twice each year over the last 10 years or so. We have just returned from yet another stay with them and applaud the consistent high standards set by the hotel management and all the Staff. We always look forward to returning and have got to know most of the staff by name.Their friendly approach, so often not apparent in other hotels we have stayed in, goes a long way to making our stay enjoyable. The restaurant food is excellent and enjoyed by Islanders as well as visitors - a good pointer. The Friquet is a Country Hotel but please remember on such a small Island this does not mean you far from the coast. The Island's excellent west coast beaches are only minutes away by car and there is a frequent and cheap bus service to all parts of the Island.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful and although some of the restaurant staff change each year we have always received cheerful and helpful attention from them - whoever selects the replacement staff obviously knows how to choose them. Having just re-read this review it sounds as if I have shares in the hotel! NOT THE CASE! but we are a well travelled couple and can recommend the Friquet for your next holiday.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are on the ground floor. Standard rooms on the first and second floor require th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesKerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Romanes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I chose Le Friquet Hotel from the internet as a VERY special SURPRISE 30th Anniversary present for my wife. I so wanted it to be SPECIAL --- and --- I need not have worried at all. It was PERFECT !!! Firstly, we were greeted by "The Face of 'Friquet" The lovely Ula was on reception. Her greeting was so bubbly, friendly and welcoming. We felt at home straight away. Next we met Sheev was offered straight away to take our "very" heavy case to our room. The room was very well appointed and very comfortable with a really lovely out-look. Later; together with Sheev; we met Lucky and James who were there to look after our every need in the "Bar-Area" Within a short time, they knew what we wanted and when we wanted it !!!! Their service was "Top-Shop" all the time. Next, we have to thank the "Girls" who looked after our "tummies" so VERY well, thoughout meal-times. So that brings us to the food ---- EXCELLENT ---- The choice, value for money and presentation was, again, spot-on. Last, BUT by no means least, are the "back ground" people. Chef's; (responsable for extra pounds put on !!!); and the Girls who cleaned and tidied our room to a very high standard every day. Seven nights of Joy. Even after our the long drive from the south of Spain, I would NOT hesitate to recommend this Hotel to one and all and we will be doing it again.

Room Tip: If you have a disability, make sure you inform the Hotel beforehand, as they do NOT have a lift, BUT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosRomanesJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.9 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing