We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Friquet Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a long weekend at Le Friquet, whilst it was very good it was certainly not excellent nor fabulous. It is a question of managing expectations

Room Tip: Not over the kitchen to avoid cooking smells
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    115
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
79
248
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend walking holiday whilst staying in the Le Friquet Hotel on Guernsey. We booked for B&B but also took our evening meals in the hotel as well. The hotel is situated in a pleasant location slightly to the north east of centre within the island but is easily reached by taxi or bus with a short walk. The room was booked at quite short notice via bookings.com but should you plan to stay with them it may be worth looking at their web site to see what would best suit your needs. We booked this room prior to looking at the other comments about the hotel but given our very positive experience we can only confirm what others have already said about the hotel. The key points for us were:

On entering there is a welcoming atmosphere and from first point of contact all the reception staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful. Not to be outdone the restaurant staff were equally as good.

The public areas were always clean, fresh and well presented. The restaurant décor seemed a bit 1970s, a kind of cross between a Toby Inn and a sort of Spanish / Cape Cod style, not that it was a problem as it was clean, comfortable and we spent some of the time looking out over the lovely garden.

Our room was on the second floor and as a result the angle of the roof intruded somewhat. 'HM the Wife' though this 'quaint' but having bumped her head a number of times changed her mind. That said the room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and well furnished. The window, although smallish overlooked the garden.

The food was first rate. Breakfast started early enough at 07.15 so that we could make the best use of the day. There was a wide choice of items from the buffet style counter followed by a selection of cooked food. 'HM the Wife' thought the porridge with honey was excellent. For evening meal there was a good selection of fish, as you would expect on an island, as well as other menu choices to suit all tastes including a carvery. The wine list was good and reasonably priced.

The traffic on the island is full on busy all the time. Some of the roads are quite narrow and not all have footpaths. All the drivers seemed patient and courteous, a smile and a wave always helps. For us where the islands scores it its excellent bus service. If you are prepared to walk a little way everything on the island becomes accessible. We bought an 'Ormer' multi journey smart card for £1 then topped it up with £15 giving 20 trips. We shared ours and it lasted the whole long weekend. Check out the web site buses.gg.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Le Friquet and echo the good comments made by others. We would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor overlooking the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RV4Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed for three nights at this lovely hotel, along with six of our friends. Our room, which was on the second floor looked out onto the gardens. The room itself was quite compact but had everything we needed - the rooms on the first floor are bigger. We found the staff extremely attentive and friendly.

The restaurant staff were very helpful when one of our party had to be taken to an early morning doctor's appointment. By the time they got back breakfast had finished but the chef stayed back to cook breakfast for them.

We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, which was enjoyable, a nice menu and the food very good. However, it lacked atmosphere on account of being very quiet.

The hotel is in a quiet and pleasant location, in the middle of the island and not within walking distance of St. Peter Port and its restaurants.

We would certainly recommend this lovely hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Had a great time-- food and service excellent! Used both taxi's and the bus lines. Lots to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetoskeyNorthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron walden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Five of us stayed at Le Friquet over a wet and cold bank holiday weekend. What a good choice of hotel - thanks sis!
Such a friendly welcome and extremely efficient reception staff, never at a loss to our requests e.g. please could we swim before breakfast? A tad cold in the heated pool but a great experience and a lovely breakfast to follow with a good choice other than "full English". Shame the coffee was a little under par though; it was rather weak and had been standing for some time.
Wonderful rooms for each of us, very clean with well appointed bathrooms and plentiful shampoo/shower gel etc. A very welcome hot bath after a cold visit to the interesting Occupation Museum.
Air condiditoning unit in one room was beeping on entry to room but quickly sorted by staff. Good to know that air con might be needed, certainly not during our cold weekend!
We opted to eat at the hotel one eveing as it had such a good choice to suit our varied party. Drinks brought to us in the lounge, menu terms explained in a humorous way and lively service. Tasty meals, good to see several vegetarian options one of which, mushroom stroganoff, was particularly delicious.
A great choice of hotel for our family group. Shame about the weather as the gardens and outside patio area looked great.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel from 13th to 16th April 2012 for the purpose of attending a friend's wedding in Cobo Bay/St Peter Port on 14th April 2012. Welcome at hotel and friendliness of staff could not have been better. Cleanliness of room and standard of bathroom (recently refurbished) excellent.
Food, both breakfasts and evening meals very tasty. Excellent service and value for money. Only potential disadvantage for disabled clientelle and/or those with limited mobility is that the hotel does not have a lift. However, staff are very helpful in carrying luggage to rooms and freely offer to do so. Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be able to stay again sometime soon. Thank you to all of the staff for making the visit so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefriquet, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Your kind comments are really appreciated and help us to focus on what matters to you. I understand your concern for our less able bodied guests and would like to mention that we have three lovely Ground Floor rooms available, one of which has direct access to the Hotel gardens. Just a thought. I hope we will see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We selected the Le Friquet Country Hotel from the Guensey Guide to Accommodation and realised soon after our arrival that we had made an excellent choice. We found the hotel has a friendly and comfortable atmosphere whilst being very efficiently run,with good service and great food! We shall certaintly visit again.

Room Tip: Superior room number 38 the only one we tried and was extremely quite and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.9 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing