We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We needed a place to spend Christmas Week en route from the Mediterranean to The United States. I don't know why, maybe they got my e-mail address from a one night bad weather stay at the airlines expense some years ago, but I have frequently received e-mail promotions from Le Friquet and I was impressed by this marketing, so, finally we decided 'Why not?'. First impressions late evening in a gale with lots of rain were, frankly, not great..but a trip to the bar, an in house dinner and a return to a room that had now warmed up made us feel a lot happier. It just got better from there on. The location was lovely, the restaurant and bar excellent, with a superb choice of drinks and cuisine and you really felt that you were among people who went out of their way to do their best for you and were thoroughly professional with it. The frequent presence and interest of 'Senior Management' was very welcome too. We don't know when exactly, but there will be a next time! Thank you Team, have a very happy and successful new year

Room Tip: I think that our Room was No 30 on the ground floor with garden view. It had an ensuite bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feeleepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    120
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
83
253
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the third New year break that we have spent at Le Friquet, every year it has got better each time. We (group of seven) always get an enthusiastic welcome, great food, comfortable rooms (we were all upgraded), friendly service & great disco on new years eve.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have just returned from another visit to Guernsey and where else would we stay but at the Friquet? The staff, whether on Reception (Odette), the bar (Lucky and Lukas) or the restaurant are really welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The Friquet remains charming and so very comfortable; the restaurant is very good indeed and the carvery is quite superb. One must commend Chef Ian on the quality of the food and the charming waitresses for providing really good service. The Friquet is deservedly popular locally too and that speaks volumes. The rooms are well presented and all twenty eight members of the party on our annual school hockey tour enjoyed our stay immensely. Thank you to all concerned for making our stay so successful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oskar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A country treat in rural Guernsey, the hotel is run with a traditional family style feel. From the time I arrived up till departure I was well looked after, yet felt I was free to get on with my stay without interruption. The hotel was quiet being out of season, but the restaurant still boasted good trade and was very popular. Service was great as was the food along with the reasonable prices for meals. My trip to Guernsey was for business but I would certainly say I felt at home.

Lots of parking, good Wi-Fi, Helpful staff and on departure the opportunity to discuss my stay with the management, all in all exactly what you need from a well run and managed hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AATommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed for a few days when visiting family on the island.It was another good stay. The room was very comfortable ,clean and warm .I had booked a single room but in fact had a double room so there was plenty of space . There was a good choice on the breakfast menu and the one evening my relatives joined me for an evening meal we enjoyed the carvery meal.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Le Friquet in July. Chose it because it had the perfect room for a person with mobility impairment. We booked the Conservatory Room and it was exactly as advertised and was comfortable with plenty of space and even had a comfy sofa. It would have been good to have more drawer space for a one week stay, but we managed around that inconvenience. The bathroom was spacious with an easy to use spacious bath/shower. The conservatory which opened onto the garden was lovely. The restaurant had good service and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Conservatory room is excellent if you need ground floor accommodation and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janomatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We returned to Le Friquet for another short stay and can honestly say it was a good as ever. The hotel is wonderfully comfortable, kept spotlessly clean, has everything you could want and if it doesn't you only have to ask and it will appear.
The staff are excellent, friendly, efficient and nothing is too much trouble.
We had another wonderful stay and all being well will be back for another soon. Thank you.

Room Tip: We enjoyed an upgrade to a superior room, which are wonderful, but never fear, if you chose standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmH111276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing