We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Once again, a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. I have visited this hotel many times and it just gets better with every visit. The high standard of the accommodation, restaurant, the gardens are delightful. The early bird carvery is extremely good value, and very welcoming if you have travelled to the island via Condor. Appartments are also very pleasant and being able to use the dining room facilites gives you the option of self-catering and being waited on. The reception staff can organise all travel and car hire, at preferential rates, and with the bus stop just outside the hotel, travel into St Peter Port and other destinations is easy. The beaches on the west caost are hard to beat anywhere on the island, or around the UK. Fish and Chips from Cobo chippy at sunset is a pleasure not to miss. I know of no other hotel or location I can recommend with total certainty that anyone visiting Le Friquet would enjoy a trip of a lifetime. Looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Eloise P, a big thank you for such a glowing review! As a return Guest its great to read that you appreciate the lengths we go to to make your stay here more comfortable. We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    120
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
83
253
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have just spent another relaxing week being looked after by the welcoming staff at the Friquet. The warm Guernsey sunshine helped make this another very enjoyable stay, great to see the familiar faces of long serving staff members and the service and food just as I remembered.

Would certainly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: The top floor has some great views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AATommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear AA Tommy, many thanks for your review. As one of the few Hotels open all year round in Guernsey we are able to retain our staff and its great to read that you enjoy seeing familiar faces when you visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

have just returned from yet another stay at le friquet and can only concur with all the positive comments.
have visited this hotel an number of times over the years and the standard has always been the same EXCELLENT.
had a gaden view room that was spotless and well equipped. cleaning service second to none.
noticed previous comment that complained that food at breakfast was poor and the plates to big and even went into town to eat, ignore probably one of lifes complainers. food standard at all times is second to none.
waiting staff excellent and only to happy to assist in anyway they can.
as always ALL staff cannot do enough to make your stay really enjoyable.
will be returning again very soon will not even look to find another hotel.

Room Tip: have stayed in all types of room including the apartments in this hotel you would not be disapointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Philip B, its good of you to take the time to provide a review of your stay with us and we are grateful to you for your kind comments and continued support. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Over the past 15 years, my wife and I have returned frequently to holiday in Guernsey ,staying at Le Friquet.
In our view, you would be hard pressed to find a more warm and attentive welcome from a hotel and its staff, to enjoy an utterly relaxed experience, and to consume better food anywhere, at any price. Sure, there will be the odd hiccup, that cannot be avoided in a dynamic people centred environment, but the least mention to any of the staff members will result in instant remedial action being taken, this in all honesty is what we have discovered, and what keeps us returning.
Over the last two weeks we have had one of the apartments, with the obvious benefits of the added space should the weather be unkind ( this year it was just sublime).
It is noted that (on this site) there has been the odd complaint of extractor fan noise , so , for all other uses when the shower is not used , use the light over the bathroom mirror, result NO noise.
During the 15 years over which we have been going to Le Friquet, I have Never had to return a single morsel of food, other than when I have been given too large a portion.
We have witnessed lots of changes over the years, all of which are intended to ensure that its customers have a better experience , its possible that the one off visitor may not appreciate them because they have no prior knowledge ( improved pathways around the pool area, trees lopped to allow more light into the lovely well maintained lawned gardens ,enlarged parking area ) but we see constant efforts to improve ,though as I say, They don't come much better than this hotel !.
If you add to the above ,the experience of the Island and its friendly people , not to mention its wondeful : Filter in Turn traffic system , You cannot fail to have a great time and feel utterly relaxed and satisfied at the end of your break.

Room Tip: Have an apartment , for the extra cost the space and facilities are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr G, its actually rather humbling to receive such a glowing review. Its true we have made many changes over the years, all with the aim of improving your stay whilst here. Its particularly impressive that you noted we had lopped some trees to give better light on the Patio! Thank you for your loyal support over 15 years and I look forward to seeing you both next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just come back from a 4 night stay in Guernsey at the fantastic Le Friquet Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food is outstanding. We had a lovely ground floor room with a walk in wardrobe - masses of storage space. Comfy bed - spotlessly clean. Towelling robes supplied. Heated towel rails. A lovely terrace which was delightful with so many gorgeous flowers! The height of luxury. We hired a car through the hotel to explore this very pretty quaint Island. Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough. Superb!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was superb. Never heard any complaints about the rooms from other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaBrentwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Linda, my staff and I really do appreciate your comments and I am glad you had such a good time here. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from 6 nights at this hotel.
The staff very friendly and accommodating The room was very nice. We had a Superior room. The beds very comfy. Only one gripe with the room and that is the noisy extractor fan that comes on each time you turn on the light. This is torture in the night.
The main issue we had was breakfast. The first two mornings were ok albeit we chose small amount and this was served on a large plate and looked lost. The poached egg was divine.
However after that they deteriorated. I had to return my breakfast as the egg and the sausage were badly under cooked having had a long wait anyway. I had to wait again for replacement. This was slightly better but not great.
Another morning breakfast was ordered and after no sign of it after 30 minutes we left.
One day we cancelled breakfast and went into town for it.
Clearly there was a problem in the kitchen and the manger was addressing it as he explained to us as we were leaving to come home.
He was appreciative that I had raised it but of course I don't expect to go to a well reputed hotel as this and be disappointed by a low standard of breakfast or any aspect of catering.
Especially as it was for my 60th birthday.

Room Tip: we had a superior room. Beds very comfy. Room overlooked car park. Not an issue. We did find the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tappy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tappy 19, thank you for taking the time to review your six night birthday celebration stay with us and for your positive comments on our Staff and your bedroom.
You did the right thing in bringing your thoughts on Breakfast to our attention whilst you were here and I am sorry we did not live up to expectations.
Unlike many Hotels we still offer a full service Breakfast which means all food is cooked to order, some of our Guests opting to have home made Porridge with Guernsey Cream before the Cooked Breakfast or to sample our Continental style Buffet which includes freshly baked Croissants,Pain au Chocolate, cold meats and cheese, fruit and natural yoghurt, fresh whole fruit and fresh fruit salads and of course Cereals.
We did try to address your comments at the time they occurred including replacing the sausage and egg with a further cooked Breakfast and deducting four Breakfasts from your bill on departure.
The bathroom fan, in common with all Hotels, remains on for a short period of time after use.We can turn it off or adjust it if you request us to whilst you are here.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I booked a double room for 6 nights at Le Friquet and we were upgraded to an apartment which was a great bonus. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with a heated swimming pool and a very nice terrace to sit out and have a drink. We opted for the three course evening meal and we weren't disappointed. The portions are a good size and plenty of variety on the menu, including fresh fish.
The staff were very helpful and very knowledgeable about the island and traveling on the buses. It only cost £1 per trip anywhere on the island. We would recommend the hotel and are certainly going returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 145kenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ken, its great to read you enjoyed your six night stay here and that you were happy with the upgraded bedroom. Your comments matter to me and my team, so "thank you" and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing