We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Friquet Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Great food,pleasant staff and quiet location.We had an excellent room referred to as a superior room which was as good as most 4 star hotels.the dinner and room service were of a high quality and very competitive .we tried other hotel for dinner but felt that this hotel's food was very reasonable.We have stayed in most 3 star hotels in guernsey and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    125
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
87
260
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

There are many great aspects to this hotel - the food and food service and wine is excellent, and the restaurant is popular with locals as well as residents. The staff work very hard and are friendly and helpful. The gardens are full of flowers and the swimming pool nicely situated in them with chairs etc. One of the main reasons we visited Guernsey was to travel around by bike and the hotel arranged for us to hire bikes which were delivered within 30 minutes. These were superb and emphasised how well this hotel is situated for sight seeing Guernsey. The hotel should advertise this more. We even used the bikes to get into St Peter Port in the evening, finding a flatter route than the bus! One day we went walking, using the buses. The service is very good, cheap and comprehensive and the bus stop is right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

my weekend trip to le friquet hotel was a surprise gift from my boyfriend,so i was reluctent to complain to him or the staff ....we arrived late on the friday night,it was quite difficult to find the hotel in the dark with the wrong postcode!but we did not arrive in a mood we kept upbeat,wanting to enjoy our weekend.The reception was not the friendliest i have met,not giving us any information about breakfast or even where it was served,i had to ask all the questions!we both had, had a long day,so we had a quick drink in the bar before retiring to our room.This was supposed to be one of their best rooms? a superior room? all i can say i think the sink had a quick clean and that was about it! the bins were full,and im sure the bed had been slept in(it had several hairs on the pillow and on the sheets,which were also creased!my boyfriend was so disappointed,i didnt want to upset him so kept quiet till the following morning,(we had to swap rooms as already arranged) so i mentioned to the reception, about our room,she said sorry,but that was about it.Our second room was smaller,but i was happy to see it was cleaner,and therefore enjoyed my stay.the restaurant staff you could not fault ,they were excellent,the bar manager works extremely hard,and i hope this is regonised by his boss? overall i think it was a good stay,just a shame about the first night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspoppy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
Our room was comfortable and well appointed, the food was excellent and the general ambience relaxing.
Situated in countryside towards the "top left-hand corner" of Guernsey this hotel is only ten minutes' drive from the west coast, but there's a bus stop opposite if you don't want to drive!
Buy a parking disc from a newsagent for £2 and park for 3 hours or more, if you want a great day out take the ferry to Herme from St. Peter Port.
This hotel was excellent value for money and really did exceed our expectations - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianlhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midalnds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for three nights in June and had the conservatory suite. The room was very comfortable and very clean although a little old fashioned with it's décor, depending on an Individuals taste obviously. Access to the Garden from the conservatory was like home from home and the view of the garden was lovely, very vell kept and maintained grounds. Reception was also warm welcoming. We stayed half board (recommended) and the Breakfast could not be faulted, the only problem we had was with the evening meals, which was what to have… there was so much choice and the food was delicious, you must try the Falcon Calvary, the best I’ve tasted in a long time and if you have a sweet tooth then the desert trolley will be a nice surprise, that’s if you can find room. The Restaurant manager and staff were far the friendliest nothing was too much trouble and are a credit to the hotel owners/management team.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalmleyWestMidalnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Relaxed frendly service
Fantastic Rooms
Value for money

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

What can i say from the moment i worked through the door and was welcomed by a smiling receptionist to the time i left i was made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble.
My room was well appointed and cleaned to a high standard every day.
Although i didn't eat in the Restaurant the comments i overheard were all positive and the carvery seemed to be very popular with the locals and i always say when travelling if the locals eat there must be good.
I did eat from the room service menu on a few occasions and i can say the quality of the food was very good as was the breakfasts all cooked to order rather the buffet style that seems to be popular these days a definate plus.
The location of the hotel is central and there is a bus stop right outside with and hourly service into St Peter Port the main town.
In conclusion a lovely Hotel with that homely feel that you don't get with chain hotels friendly staff who always willing to help i would stay again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank layerroadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
791 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Property: Le Friquet Country Hotel
Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing