We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room temperature white wine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fleur du Jardin Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

4 of us went to Fleur du Jardin for their Quidsin Pimms and Grazing platter in the garden which was basic. We then moved into the restaurant for an early main course meal and ordered a bottle of their Chilean white 'house' wine which when tasted was at room temperature. We asked the waitress for another 'chilled' bottle and on checking, she did her best, reported they were all the same, even after checking in the bar! We asked if there was another similar white wine which was chilled and was told there wasn't so we waited patiently while it eventually chilled in it's plastic water and ice filled bucket. However, by the time we are able to drink the wine we had half finished our one course so needless to say we weren't too impressed. Have to say the main course was good and the service, baring this blip, was friendly and efficient. However, instead of ordering a second bottle and possible a pudding we left feeling a bit annoyed they had no 'chilled' wine on offer. We are local and will return but felt embarrassed as this could happen with overseas visitors who will definitely not be impressed, shame as the hotel has a lot to offer but there is no excuse for not having chilled wine available!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Absolutely awful, the meat was processed, the cheese had no flavour and the humus was swimming in oil. The wine wasn’t even good enough to cook with. In fact the only thing enjoyable was the bottle of water and we had to pay extra for that. It was noticeable that we weren’t asked if we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIW, Owner at Fleur du Jardin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Sorry about your experience although we must comment as follows:
The "processed" meats are in fact Palma ham, garlic sausage and peppered salami. The wine is our house wine which we sell hundreds of a week (with no complaints) the humus could have been an issue but we have made changes. Walnut bread, oil and vinegar dip, olives and cheese...... All for £15 for two people ? !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed for four nights and all the staff from Sandra, the hotel manager to the bar staff and waitresses could not have tried harder to make us feel welcome. Food excellent and as a place to stay in Guernsey, Kings Mills is one of the nicest areas in the island. Walked to Vazon bay through the lanes and along the coast and even offered a rug to take in case we felt cold when sitting on the beach; it was fine but force 6 that day!
Probably better for couples rather than families..swimming pool could be tidied up!
As someone who was brought up in Guernsey, visiting family usually involves staying with them and visiting Fleur du Jardin over many years for meals which have always encouraged a return visit o sample the seafood in particular. Are bigger crabs served anywhere on the island...not for the fastidious diner but fantastic food for those of us who do not live near the sea in the UK!

Room Tip: worth considering garden facing rooms over standard rooms but usually booked up in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oen0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A a local person to Guernsey I haven't had the need to stay at this hotel, but I do visit the restaurant for a bar meal occasionally. This hotel has a good reputation & is popular with the locals for their food. It is an old farmhouse & the atmosphere is lovely & cosy - especially in the winter when the log fire is roaring. On my recent visit the food was of their usual delicious high standard & the whole group enjoyed their meal thoroughly. I would say that this time the portion sizes were a bit on the small size which hasn't been the case before. So they just need to ensure this isn't a new trend (maybe I was just particularly hungry!)

The staff were all very pleasant, helpful & friendly which added to our lovely evening. A good choice for a casual bar meal.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed for a night post meal, for a nice treat and it was definately a great night! Great room, nice decor, clean and would recommend without a doubt. Food good and cosy bar for post meal drink. Location close to beach and in country lanes with gorgeous walks. Gardens nice too, although outdoor pool not good for spring time weather!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsherrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Lovely place to stay after a hard day walking and would love to have stayed longer than the one night booked. Service great and food fantastic. The potato and spinach soup was the best. Route 5 bus stops outside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish_wisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great stay in Fleur du Jardin. Lovely warm comfortable bedroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast and plenty of it. There was also a good choice of food from evening menu. Roaring fire in dining room made it very cosy. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
2.7 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#3 of 9 in St Martins
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
881 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleur du Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur du Jardin Hotel

Address: Kings Mills Road, Castel GY5 7JT
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £80 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleur du Jardin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-Century country Inn, lots of charm and warmth. Very busy restaurant recommended by "The good Hotel Guide", "Michelin Dining out in Pubs Guide", "CAMRA traditional real Ale Guide" and many others. "Shabby Chic" in Guernsey is how we are described and we strive to maintain the original old charms of the building but adding a little contemporary quirkiness. Many local fish dishes and our signature "Chancre" crab salads prove very popular with visitors and locals alike. If you enjoy your food, you will love the Fleur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Fleur du Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur Du Jardin Castel
Fleur Du Jardin Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing