We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, really good food and wine list, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fleur du Jardin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, really good food and wine list, attentive staff”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had the good fortune to revisit this great restaurant. When you are in Guernsey you really are spoilt for choice as to where to eat out - there are so many good places to visit.

I stayed here on a family holiday in 1968! I was here earlier this year and it was easy to say yes when my host suggested it for another visit to their restaurant. The ambiance is great - olde worlde pub but with a menu and wine list bang up to date. Get seated before 7:30 and you're offered a cheaper menu - with no scrimping on quality or size.

I don't normally do desserts - but I can thoroughly recommend the sticky toffee pudding which is light and wonderfully caramelly!

I hope the next time I visit will make it three in a row!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    42
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
70
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Disappointed in our room/bathroom - in need of an update and overlooking the busy narrow road, but the break was good value and the location of the hotel is great. Unnecessary four poster...prefer good lighting please. Good Tennerfest menu apart from catering pack icecream claiming to be "Guernsey ice cream" - it can't be!! Try the kiosk at Portelet. Nice cosy pub atmosphere for a winter break. Tea making facilities always a plus.

Room Tip: Avoid the front because of road noise and noise coming up from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffreyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

In truth I felt compelled to write this review more because of what other people have written than anything else.

I am from guernsey originally but stayed here in October while attending a family "event". We had a room in the loft. Beautiful view of west coast out the back picture window over the gardens. Yes there is some noise from the road but by and large by bed time traffic is minimal in guernsey so not really an issue (our room was double aspect so we had both).

So, to balance previous posts:

We did have a square sink in our wet room - not a deal breaker for me personally, and I wouldn't normally comment on it, but the amazing shower was fab and bed comfy, and the complimentary toiletries surprisingly high quality. Room was beautifully clean / well equipped and tea making facilities v welcome.

The cheeseboard is of Guernsey artisan cheeses. (To say Guernsey cheese has come a long way believe me is an understatement. It used to be one type only, bright yellow, sweat salt water, and smell like your worst nightmare!) My husband had it at the end of his meal instead of dessert and struggled to finish. We've paid twice the amount in London for less - guess it's where you're used to going.

We didn't have curtains either but with bespoke shutters you don't really need them. Then again perhaps I'm bias as have shutters at home too. The great thing about them though is that, being cafe style you can leave the bottom part closed for privacy but the top open for light / the view.

I would call it a boutique hotel, should you be staying there, with a gastropub downstairs if you're eating. Not sure why it has to be one or the other and a bad thing to be undecided, but perhaps that's just me.

Breakfast was lovely with a huge amount of choice and you could select whatever options you wanted if you didn't want full English. Full marks as well for teapot AND coffee pot so I got to have regular top ups too that stayed hot. And neither pot dribbled!


We really enjoyed our stay / refuge. My only regret was I didn't have time to have any treatments in the beauty salon in the grounds but a nice extra facility to have on-site. Staff were at times a little thin on the ground but were a super helpful, friendly and polite bunch. The only "problem" we had was reliably accessing the wifi, but that is Guernsey for you, not the Fleur per se. And sometimes it's nice to be legitimately unable to access work emails!! We appreciated all the free newspapers downstairs too, and the in-keeping design downstairs of this beautiful old Guernsey building, which allowed a quiet drink even if the main bar area was busy.

We got a deal via "Guernsey Treats" website - do check out if you are visiting Guernsey as they have lots of meal offers etc too, although eating out in Guernsey remains fantastic value, even our side of Tennerfest.

And yes, I agree with your statement by your tripadvisor certificate...

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens would be quieter if you need an early night, and if you're lucky w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

A great like place with friendly staff. Tennerfest menu was good and their standard restaurant menu wasn't bad either. Quality of food was excellent as was their selection of wines. We stayed for a week in the garden room (recently refurbished) which was well appointed, decent powerful shower, large bath. We'll worth a visit!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Bit disappointed with place compared to advertisement . By a noises road early morning and evening . The rooms do NOT have square basin etc. We did have a 4 poster bed BUT NO drapes . Not made the most of it. Downstairs is very nice as split it into small areas. The staff were busy as had to do more than one job. If you have a meal DON'T have Cheese Board , as the size is ok for a child and it's pricey @ £6:75. When you go for your breakfast , you have to ask for baked beans. Other wise the cooked menu is very dry. I tried various combination before we asked if they did beans. The pool is poor. But in general it was ok. The staff made it a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Im a 'Guern' and just happened to be mooching on Google for possible wedding venues here, in Guernsey. I don't believe your hotel does offer this service as I can't find any info on Weddings. Although I thought I'd take this opportunity to say I have been here on a couple of occasions and never had an issue. Food and service were fine. Hotel is lovely with its Rustic Guernsey charm.
Note to the 'Manager' ... Your feedback to people that gave bad reviews are not what I would call proffessional! Having a banter with visitors to our Island isn't, well, good. I find your childish and somewhat a little sarcastic replies to bad reviews appallling. I think a little more 'Manager' like comments would be better.....
Customer may, and most likely be wrong or exaggerating. Possibly your hotel was having a crap day but the customer is always right!
Note: a comment to the people who did enjoy their stay would be nice :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueGuern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. It is in one of the nicest parts of Guernsey, right on the bus route. It is a quiet area though, if you are looking for a lot of night life. It is extremely easy to get anywhere from the hotel without needing a car. We got a family bus pass and used it to travel all over the island. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The food was good. In fact we ate there every night because it was a pleasant place to hang out. We walked through the ruettes tranquilles (walker friendly) little lanes to the coast. It was an easy walk and difficult to get lost. The tourist map has all the little lanes on it so it is all you need. We had excellent service from the managers, and all the young servers were always friendly and polite. Good breakfasts. One evening a trio of musicians was practicing their folk music, which was great fun to listen to. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BdaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Martins
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleur du Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur du Jardin Hotel

Property: Fleur du Jardin Hotel
Address: Kings Mills Road, Castel GY5 7JT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleur du Jardin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-Century country Inn, lots of charm and warmth. Very busy restaurant recommended by "The good Hotel Guide", "Michelin Dining out in Pubs Guide", "CAMRA traditional real Ale Guide" and many others. "Shabby Chic" in Guernsey is how we are described and we strive to maintain the original old charms of the building but adding a little contemporary quirkiness. Many local fish dishes and our signature "Chancre" crab salads prove very popular with visitors and locals alike. If you enjoy your food, you will love the Fleur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fleur du Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur Du Jardin Castel
Fleur Du Jardin Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing