We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The excellent Fleur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fleur du Jardin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Newquay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The excellent Fleur”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Camped near the Fleur for a week so was the natural chioce for an evening stroll and a pint. The whole vib of the place was excellent with amazing helpful staff the real ale selection was first class with two on at any one time always on good form. My dog Roxy was made most welcome as were all dogs. The attention to detail in the decor and especially the washrooms was impressive and the outside area a delight to sit in. We had a meal on our last night and the quality of the food and service lived up to my high expectations all in all a very well run and friendly hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Duckandrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    42
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
29
70
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really lovely hotel, great location and quaint beer garden outside featuring rustic tables and plenty of wild birds flying around enjoying the crumbs under the tables. The bar is 'Oldie Worldy' with beams and low ceilings. The real ales are changed daily to different types. The staff are amazing (especially Flavio the bar and restaurant manager). They are all smiley, happy and friendly. A new chef has recently started there and the food coming out is amazing. Equally wonderful is the fact the hotel is 'dog friendly' which is great for those struggling to find a dog friendly place to stay. I can't say enough about how lovely this hotel is, hence why my Husband and I use it all the time.

Room Tip: Room 207 is lovely. It has a nautical theme and is spacious with a separate living room type area to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My mother stayed recently and enjoyed her visit, but the accommodation wasn't really appropriate to her needs. She is elderly and has severe mobility restrictions as well as being partially sighted. My brother and his partner stayed at the same hotel to assist her.

It was a last-minute booking and I had severe difficulty sourcing appropriate accommodation with a walk-in shower anywhere on the island. Madara assured me that the 'Garden Rooms' had a walk in shower, but also had a small step dividing the room from the bedroom part. She didn't indicate that the hotel was in any way inappropriate for disabled guests, so I took a risk and booked.

The hotel is beautifully appointed and the staff are helpful and friendly. The food was good and the rooms were comfortable and clean and the bottom line was not too expensive.

However, as for disabled access, there is a lot to be desired. The car park is thick gravel making wheelchair manoeuvring very difficult, and there were no disabled parking slots, meaning that the direct access to the hotel was often blocked. Access to the hotel is either by the side entrance across the patio and a couple of steps to the main entrance, or round the side and up a bit of insecure plywood, placed there temporarily to form a ramp. Inside, the hotel is dark and there are a few narrow corridors with steps which posed a problem. The Garden Rooms are very nice, but the step was larger than I'd imagined. The walk-in shower was great, but not designed for disabled guests, so didn't have a seat or a separate hand-held shower attachment. I had arranged privately for a carer to attend in the morning to assist with washing and dressing mother and the hotel kindly provided an extra room key for her,

Overall, it is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms, good food and not too pricey. I took a risk on a last-minute booking for my elderly, disabled and partially blind mother and just about got away with it.

Would recommend the hotel as a good place to stay, but it is definitely not appropriate if you have mobility issues and maybe the hotel should make that clearer. I would stay there, as would my brother who thoroughly enjoyed it, but definitely not with mother!

Room Tip: Do not consider this hotel if you are partially sighted or have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSmith1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Small tea plate with a dinner knife, is not what you would expect your afternoon tea to be served. Sandwiches were terrible, choices were crab pate, sliced processed ham with cheese and egg mayonnaise, presented poorly without much care. Also more white bread than brown and our preferences were not asked. Scones far too large and sceptical as to whether they were home made. Jam definitely not homemade. Cakes were; cheesecake (which is not traditional for afternoon tea), brownie and rubbed in method fruit cake. In my opinion not worth the money and would not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19epicurean, Owner at Fleur du Jardin Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea. We do serve a more rustic variety, none of your white glove "cucumber sandwiches" variety. Most of our customers prefer the "hearty" variety, hence we always give larger portions and larger scones, which incidentally are made fresh every day by Mrs Walker and enjoyed with gusto by all. Maybe a little more finess suits some, but generally our offering is well received.
Please try us again and we will make sure you have delicate bite sized everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went for dinner with friends the other night and highly recommend this place. The staff who served were friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. It's a cosy, warm place and has an enchanting terrace ideal for an evening drink or luncheon. I imagine it to be a super place to stay and hope to do so on a future visit to Guernsey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very attentive waitresses and the choice on the menu was very good, as was the food. Very quaint bar and the first part of the restaurant was nice and cosy with the fire lit, but we were surprised to be shown to a table where the carpet was very wet under one chair and partly under the table and the chair was heavily stained (as were other chairs). The table should not have been set up for diners, it's not as if the restaurant was full.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBRAD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19epicurean, Owner at Fleur du Jardin Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
So Sorry,
Like everyone else in Kings Mills we were deluged in the storms, the water table is higher than it has ever been and nature, being what it is, takes no prisoners. Our insurers have been somewhat lax in expediting what we consider to be a critical situation, but as we are talking about many thousands of pounds, we can understand their retisence in making decisions !!!
We await their approvals/decisions.
Regards
The Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited last week for a mid-week lunch with my parents and 9 year old daughter and we went of the winter menu. It was great value and had a wide selection to choose from. We were welcomed by a lovely lady and the service all round was excellent. Lovely cosy atmosphere as the coal fire was lit. Both the food and the service was of an excellent standard and we can't wait to go back! Highly recommended for either a welcome lunch or a romantic evening meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Les Douvres Hotel
Les Douvres Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Martins
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleur du Jardin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur du Jardin Hotel

Property: Fleur du Jardin Hotel
Address: Kings Mills Road, Castel GY5 7JT
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fleur du Jardin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-Century country Inn, lots of charm and warmth. Very busy restaurant recommended by "The good Hotel Guide", "Michelin Dining out in Pubs Guide", "CAMRA traditional real Ale Guide" and many others. "Shabby Chic" in Guernsey is how we are described and we strive to maintain the original old charms of the building but adding a little contemporary quirkiness. Many local fish dishes and our signature "Chancre" crab salads prove very popular with visitors and locals alike. If you enjoy your food, you will love the Fleur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fleur du Jardin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur Du Jardin Castel
Fleur Du Jardin Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing