We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem tucked away”

Folk & Costume Museum, National Trust of Guernsey
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set within the 18th century sable complex of Saumarez Park, the Folk and Costume museum offers an insight into all aspects of daily life on Guernsey for the past 250 years.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem tucked away”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The museum is tucked away in Saumarez Park (not Manor) - which is a treat in itself. The museum is well laid out and very informative, without being too 'dry'. Staff were very helpful and I was left to wander around in my own time without feeling pushed. Its worth reading the info by each display to get full benefit of the care that has been taken to put the collection together

As a NT member I didn't have to pay admission, but I think it is good value for money for fee payers

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jillikins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
361 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent insight into life on Guernsey”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Like others we used our UK National Trust cards to obtain free entrance to this museum which tells the story of Guernsey life. The displays are well thought out and a route takes you round the story. It's worth taking your time and reading the captions to get the full experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Charming countryside museum”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited the Guernsey Folk & Costume museum and found it to be an interesting and charming museum, co-located with Saumarez Park and also a Victorian walled garden which made it well worth an afternoon's stroll in the summer sunshine.

We are UK National Trust members which meant that entrance was free due to a reciprocal arrangement with the Guernsey National Trust. Equipped with a museum map, we wandered through the exhibits which told an effective story of island life, particularly in the countryside.

We parked in the Saumarez Park car park which meant we had a nice walk over to the museum. There is a nice cafe for refreshments which also does meals as well as the usual snacks and drinks.

Although not directly part of the museum, the walled garden was lovely and we enjoyed taking a wander through the beds to see what was planted. Of course, the sunshine helped and our afternoon might not have been quite as much fun in the rain!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My Husband and I accompanied by 2 friends visited this recently. It was a most enjoyable visit. Lots to see. Good value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 42joan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
466 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Very interesting insight into the folk history of Guernsey”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Entrance was free on production of our a National Trust of England/Wales membership cards as there are reciprocal arrangements. Very interesting, good quality exhibits. We were particularly impressed with the helpfulness of the lady on reception who noticing that I was walking with the aid of crutches gave lots of advice on how best to get around the museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folk & Costume Museum, National Trust of Guernsey also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Folk & Costume Museum, National Trust of Guernsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing