We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lovely grounds, and 10 mins walk from a stunning beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. I didn't eat at the hotel, but the room was comfortable and clean. It does have a holiday vibe so my one-night business trip probably wasn't the hotel's normal customer, but I enjoyed my stay and felt relaxed. Would be tempted to return for a more leisurely break!

Room Tip: Well worth paying the little bit extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkLondon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is situated in pleasant grounds in a quite location. The external appearance is charming and the grounds are nicely maintained. The bar and dining area are in keeping with the character of the building. We ate in the bar three times and found the food good and well presented, the hotel staff were generally efficient and pleasant. We booked last minute into a standard room and even making allowance for the lower price charged the room décor and general facilities were poor. The sound insulation is terrible, the shower unit is totally enclosed and unventilated hence a mouldy plaster board ceiling, there is also a big step down to get out of the shower cubicle. The room cleaning was also not to a very high standard. Requests for simple maintenance items to be attended to were dealt with at the main desk, However the work was not done.

Whilst we would not wish to return again it is a shame that the general maintenance and décor in our standard room spoilt what could be a nice hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room and request upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have just returned from a three night stay which I found most enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. I never got round to the food in the restaurant as I found the bar meals more than adequate, the soups were outstanding. I was quite apprehensive prior to my trip having read so many negative comments, I have high standards, finding dining out very difficult. The manager, I found very cheerful and helpful, he has a very big hotel to run and lots of young staff. The aptmosphere in the hotel was overall very friendly, the most friendly hotel I have encountered in Guernsey. I encountered the most ecletic bunch of guests who often chatted in and around the bars and comfortable lounges.

Enjoy this pleasant hotel, I did!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RobertKirkham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We were given medieval deluxe suite, lovely large room , fantastic bathroom, enormous very comfortable king size bed. Lovely hotel, out in the country, staff very friendly. No complaints, this was a very pleasant last minute surprise and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for suite, very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Rude Manger, not allowed to take any food or drinks by the pool. They would not let us have any plastic glasses. Rubbish Service!!!!!1
Again you have let the people of Guernsey down with poor social skills.

We will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This old farm turned hotel is a ways away from town, so there is not much tourist traffic around. You can walk down country roads and get a small idea of how lovely Guernsey was a hundred years ago. It is way too populated in comparison to the past, but the old homes, thick garden walls and little lanes enchant a person's imagination and delight.

The hotel is clean and reasonable with an on-site restaurant and bar. I enjoyed the garden areas as well. The very efficient bus system provides stops right near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E4Excellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed for one night largely because the hotel had a pool. The pool is ok but the hotel left much to be desired, albeit if you enjoy throwbacks to the seventies or eighties this could be the place for you. The rooms were small and needed work. Our room had some interesting odours which remained even when windows were left open. The walls were paper thin and we could only admire the activities of the couple next door! The food was distinctly average with the breakfast largely consisting of congealed fried food. The proprietor mistakenly added an extra night to the cost of our stay, no doubt suspecting that in our rush to exit, we would not notice such a discrepancy. All in all an experience, but one to forget at that!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Nichollsfamilyjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.4 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £93 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing