We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, sub-standard food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, sub-standard food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

6 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Hotel Hougue de Pommier and, once again, found the accommodation clean and comfortable, the staff polite and friendly and, overall, our stay was adequate.

However, I must draw your attention to a few issues.

1. On our previous visit, albeit about ten years ago, we were impressed by the quality of the bar menu, so on our first evening went to the bar and ordered our meals. I chose the braised lamb casserole from the Tennerfest menu and it was awful. The meat was not tender, it seemed old and over-cooked. The liquid it came in was best described as a thick, glutinous over-salty brown muck. It looked and tasted like a combination of large spoonfuls of Bisto gravy mix, coupled with Oxo and Bovril. The bar was empty and no-one came to ask if we were enjoying our meal. I mentioned all this to the guy on the reception desk afterwards.

2. Breakfast was okay but on one occasion we had to wait for the tomatoes and sausages to be refreshed. This took some time and the waiter said it would take a couple of minutes. It took longer and our plates of bacon and eggs were cooling. I gave up.

3. For our last evening we decided to have dinner in the restaurant, knowing also that the ‘Tennerfest’ was in full swing. We had planned to go a la carte but, even so, the waiter did not offer us the ‘Tennerfest’ menu, with which we had become familiar, but instead gave us a limited menu for that day. We had hoped for a full a la carte menu with a greater degree of choice, we were after all in a hotel with, according to your web page “ An enviable reputation for fine cuisine……”

4. I ordered Tempura King Prawns. The chef should know that Tempura batter is nothing like the ‘chip shop’ batter that the prawns were coated in. The same batter, it seems that my unnecessary and ‘un-ordered’ onion rings were coated in that came with my ‘steak’.

5. My ‘steak’. I ordered sirloin steak, medium-rare. I don’t know from which part of the beast my meat came, but it was not sirloin in either shape or texture. It was more like a ‘flattened’ piece of rump, or worse, a piece of frying steak. It had no substance, the grain of the meat was wrong, and it was luke warm and not tasty. It was served with two enormous battered onion rings, chips and a large upturned field mushroom and half a tomato. Not good enough, and for the price, outrageous.

6. Your web page states of your Farmhouse Restaurant, “The anticipation of delicious fine food, the scent of aromatic herbs, fresh vegetables, home baked breads and of course our delicious local seafood. Savour seasonal menus of award winning excellence created by our Head and Channel islands Chef of the Year and his talented team of International chefs.* Indulge yourself in the variety of cuisine created using the finest produce much of which is personally selected in the markets of Guernsey.” * Absolute nonsense.

7. To the wine. The Tennerfest menu offered house wine at £11. The a la carte menu priced house wine at £14:50. Same wine. So I asked for an eleven pound bottle and, after fumbling excuses from the waiter, decided not to have any wine at all. I mentioned all of this to the guy on the desk and he muttered something about the £11 price being a means of ‘attracting’ diners to the Tennerfest menu. Well this diner was put off by this obvious ‘con’ on people like us who were paying a lot more from the a la carte.

In conclusion, my wife and I felt that a fine old hotel had lost its way and that its guests would just have to put up with a ‘like it or not’ standard of food. We were extremely disappointed with the lack of choice and quality from what had previously considered an excellent restaurant. We believe the Tennerfest initiative took your eye off the ball and that that became your priority, not that of the guests willing to pay more.

We will return to Guernsey but not to the Hotel Hougue du Pommier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M K S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    107
    53
    42
    18
See reviews for
65
192
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were apprehensive on arrival as we had read the most recent reviews. Our worries however were unfounded. We had a ground floor room (changed, due to my husband's mobility problem, politely and happily by staff for the original allocated on the upper floor). This was clean, comfortable and quiet, with views over the garden. Tthe shower room, although small, was not smelly. The food was very good and the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. OK, there were a few quirky things, such as creaky overhead floorboards, but overall we had a very good week and would happily return. This hotel is in an ideal location and dates from 1712, for us character and history are preferable to bland modernity any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The rooms are damp very cold and old fashion. I did what I can to spend minimal time in there!
The grounds are full of dog pooh so watch where ur walking!! The hotel manager was so friendly and helpful but his staff really and truly let him down. Our party heard the Portuguese staff bad mouth the English ! Little did he know our friend spoke Portuguese!!The food was very good and one the only good thing about this hotel! Tv and wifi dont work!! I really will not stay here or recommend anyone to stay here!! Although I'd recommend to eat at the pub!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannie_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castel hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel could have great potential but is in desperate need of renovation. Our room smelt damp and musty and was not particularly clean, the bathroom had many mismatched tiles and a faulty tap. The lighting was so bad it was virtually impossible to read We had a small child with us but they gave us rooms above the bar which could be noisy in the evening. There is no where to sit in the early evening with a child except in the bar although there is a small conservatory area where people were reading but this was usually full. It did not feel that children were very welcome here. The pool area is very run down and the bar meals below average.

On the positive side the hotel is situated in a convenient place for the bus stop and the beach. The majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you have a small child do not have rooms 1 to 5, it is noisy over the bar and the fire escape doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Late booking for two adults and girls age 9 and 7 plus two dogs
Facilities perfect for all with a great service attitude and a highly competent manager always around to ensure all was well and the place was kept incredibly clean
Nothing was too much trouble (although the key to the adjoining door never did materialise but I am sure it will next time!)
Even the dogs were welcomed and enjoyed the 9 acres whilst the food was just right for a family
We will be back again and soon we think
One of the best short stays we have had for a while

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not sure what to expect having read a few reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. Considerably cheaper than most competition, and nice enough. Pool a nice extra, and free wifi.
Good value pizzas.
Pop our to Cobo for superb sunsets!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkPhotoWorkshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night. We arrived early and the room wasnt ready yet and the bar was not open for food which was fine as we were early, Malcolm offered us a coffee and said our room will be ready in fifteen mins which was a bonus ! The room number 7 was overlooking the sunny garden, clean and tidy, bathroom was small but had everything we needed and was spotless. The only downside was it is next to the cleaners store room which can be a bit noisy but this was not a problem as it wasnt particulary early. The breakfast was excellent and the bar reasonably priced we didnt eat here but the food smelt delicious and a decent selection, friends of ours ate here on the Friday and were very happy with it. The gardens and pool are very nicely kept and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is tired in places but its great value for money and the friendliness of the staff is second to none.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Property: Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing