We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Reviewed 22 September 2008

we stayed at this hotel and hade a lovely time it has the settings to take your breath away and the food selection was first class
the rooms were clean and the service although a little slow was top class

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonjoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2008

Adivsed this hotel by friend and is a reccomended restaurant. Went expecting great things and hugley dissappointed. Would advise you to not go.

Changed hands in the last few years. New owners are awful.
He is rude and arrogant. Everything is too much effort.
Supposedly heated pool, in fact hasnt been cleaned for weeks if not months and freezing. room was filthy, you could write in the dust. Bathroom hadnt been cleaned in weeks, at least not since the last guest. Freezing rooms and beds never made.
Lights don't work, everything is falling apart.

Food - disgusting. All reheated, thats when they get the orders write. A lot of items on the menu arent available. My friend ordered fresh sardines one evening, it had been frozen whole and then cooked. With the scales, guts and all.

We ended up sticking to cereal and ice cream to be safe.

We were only there for 3 nights but couldnt wait to get away and the horrific owner tried to overcharge us by £30, this is a lot when the bill was only £50 anyway.

DONT GO

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ems070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. The experience was marred mainly by the extremely poor service I experienced upon arrival. We attempted to check in at approximately 6.30pm ( I after travelling all day with a one year old) but were left waiting in the reception area for at least an hour as the ground floor rooms my elderly mother had requested were not ready. The manager was running around seemingly doing everybody's job; serving behind the bar, serving wine in the restaurant and taking the food orders. The next day I overheard the manager recounting the previous evening to the receptionist and saying that we had "decided" to check in at this time ( we had made our reservation several weeks ahead and had informed the hotel of our time of arrival.
We gave up on the rooms and went straight to the restaurant where we waited another hour for our food which was good when it arrived.
When finally we were shown to our rooms they were clean and spacious.
It seems that this hotel is run on skeleton staffing levels hence the chaos when we arrived as the receptionist was off sick. Don't stay here, there are far better hotels on the island which are cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizSouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I booked this hotel for my husband and son so they could watch my younger son attending a football tournament. I paid £350 for 3 nights. The manager /owner was the reason for the break being an expensive mistake. He lacked any people skills whatsoever not only with customers but was also heard speaking rudely and autocratically to his staff. My husband wanted to use the sauna which wasnt working, the owner tried to fix it and it still didnt work he then said to my husband "i havent got time for this !!" At one point his wife was stroking his arm to calm him !! Basil Faulty springs to mind. This was just one of a number of incidents. The only reason i booked the hotel was beacuse it had a swimming pool but only found out upon arrival that it closed at 5pm. Bearing in mind that there were a great number of children staying at the hotel due to the local football tournament and they didnt arrive back at the hotel until 5ish, he was unprepared to open the pool.

When a customer complained that there was mould in her room he said "what do you want me to do about it?" When a move of room was requested he snapped back "why dont you just leave" !! He is a disgrace to his industry and it is a shame as the hotel in a beautiful setting.

The owners should sell up and find themselves a less stressful way of life and failing that he should address his people and communication skills otherwise he wont have a business.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank Ukstephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We were really disappointed. We paid £125 per night, we found out that people were staying there for around £50 for family rooms! Our bedroom was nothing like the bedrooms on the website, the bathroom was the size of a cupboard and the floor tiles were cracked. The shower hadn’t been cleaned because there was still someone else’s shampoo bottle left in there. The toilet broke and we had to wait in our bedroom for over an hour while it was being fixed, even though we asked for another bedroom, the toilet was left covered in dirt. The cleaners left the bedroom door open after they came into make the bed. Breakfast on the first day was ok but one of the plates didn’t have a sausage, the next day the fried egg was solid and one of the breakfasts was missing mushrooms, we had to ask a number of times for some toast. Some of these things could have been over looked but at the end of the weekend I paid over £300! I feel very let down!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank activebysweetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We have just returned from Hotel Hougue du Pommier, and was delighted with the quality of food, which was cooked to order, together with very pleasant attitudes of all the staff. Rooms were cleaned to a very high standard, and we would have no hesitation in returning or recommending this Hotel to anyone. We are amazed at some of the previous comments, which we feel are totally unfounded and can only assume a mistake has occured in naming this hotel because in our opinion it does not portray our experience.

Angela Whight.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CharisEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The manager was unfriendly and he did not know what his job exactly. The hotel was short of staff and we always felt we are the only customer at this hotel as never seen any other people. Service in this hotel is 1star no more. I cannot understand how this hotel can keep 3 stars and AA service guide.
That was real shame I took my husband to HdP hotel.
Think twice if you wanna book a bedroom there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank England042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £69 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing