We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a base to enable you to tour the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Reviewed 9 April 2009

The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival, they were also courteous and willing to help in anyway they could by making our stay enjoyable and pleasent.

While the rooms may need some slight updating they were undoubtably clean and had plenty of space for 2 people.

The grounds in which the hotel are situated are well kept and peaceful which helps you to relax and unwind, it is also an ideal base if you would like to explore what the Island has to offer.

Ten / fifteen minute walk to several beachs (Saline Bay, Port Soif amd Portinfer).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrekkieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hougue du Pommier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2009

Made very welcome and provided with a pleasant room overlooking beautiful gardens in a quiet area. The breakfast was excellent and served efficiently and in a friendly manner.
WE UNDERSTAND THAT THE HOTEL HAS BEEN UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT FOR ONLY FIVE WEEKS BUT IS ALREADY BENEFITING FROM A VERY PROFESSIONAL BUT FRIENDLY APPROACH.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank explorerLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I don't normally write reviews, but having read some of the rubbish that other reviewers had written, I felt compelled to do so.

The hotel is located in a quiet little village about 5 minutes walk from the beach. As a keen golfer, I was delighted to discover a great course very nearby.

We stayed in a large double bedroom with a terrace that overlooked the hotel's meadow. This is the perfect place for a cup of tea after the hearty breakfast. The room was well sized, pleasantly decorated, and perfectly satisfactory for our weekend stay.

The bar was cosy, and the restaurant food was of an excellent standard. Clearly, given the location of the hotel, as seafood lovers we were well catered for. Chips can be ordered, but certainly do not come with every meal, as has been suggested by a previous reviewer! Anyway, they're great homemade chips, so who's complaining?

The management were always helpful, organizing discounted car hire for us, and suggesting places to visit on the island.

All in all I had a lovely time at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wanted a quiet long weekend retreat.

PS for those of you that have unkindly and incorrectly likened the hotel to an infamous sitcom, please check the spelling.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequenttraveller060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week to celebrate an anniversary. We had a fabulous time.Everything was perfect from beginning to end without being pretentious and stuffy.We loved the food. My husband prefers plain foods without sauces whereas I prefer richer creamy sauces with my meals. There was plenty choice for both of us and the staff were happy to adapt anything we requested.
The bar was warm,inviting and cozy. The bar meals were extremely generous and great value.
Our room was clean,warm and pleasantly decorated. The hotel is in a good location and is close to some beautiful beaches eg Cobo and Port Soif.
My sister and her partner stayed at the hotel with their two young children over the New Year Period on my recommendation. They had a thoroughly lovely time and the staff were great with her children.
The owners were charming and kind. On chatting to them I discovered they were previously in medical and nursing professions. I for one do not believe this professional,proud couple would ever be so insulting and unpleasant. Please read between the lines on some recent comments as they are so obviously ridiculous.There are some malicious people in the world. Please don't be put off.
I have booked again for April 2009 and I can't wait.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank route66123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Hotel Hougue du pommier
We arrived about 2130 was made very welcome (great start) we had a meal in the bar and was shown to are room What a dissapoint ment nothing like on the web site we had two single beds pushed to geather making a king size double (about 8ft)
the room was very clean except there was dust on the bed side lockers heating was not turned on and the beding was not that special The tv remote did not work and the tv had interfearence
on all the time the room was cold 24/7
the shower room was small but clean the shower it self was small had to leave the door open to shower there was a very dangerous step to climb in and out shower (Health and safty risk)
Tuesday Morning went down to breakfast the owner was in reception he told me he was head cook and bottle washers ( he had no staff)
The breakfast was cooked well but of could of done with some more on the plate. toast was allways cold
Evening meal in the bar was very very good and plenty did not go much on the owner telling the waiter he was not aloud be hind the bar

Wednesday
Breakfast we had smaller portion bits left out
We were in the bar sat at the table where we all ways sat about to listen to band and was told to leave by the owner as it was booked for some one else

Evening buffet what a disapointment there was not much I could eat I ended up with 6 prawns and bread I could not eat because It was not cooked or thawed out we had to pay for are sweet and coffee that night

Christmas day lunch
out of this world except we had to wait one hour for main course
and I did not like being stuck in a corner on are own

Boxing day
breakfast table were not laid up

Evening Meal came out cold had to pay for sweets and coffe

This was a 4 day package I could not make out why we had to pay for sweets ect

I thought the owner could be very rude at times the other staff were great and some one should to tell the the head chef what deadorant was

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pubmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We stayed here for one night on New Year's Eve and will never go back. There were a group of 25 of us for the gourmet NYE dinner and dance, and a good proportion of us stayed over for £50 a room on top of the £55pp dinner. Drinks were extra and either paid for at the bar or put on a tab for your room number (no ID or room key etc was asked for when adding to the tab...).

Front of house staff were generally very pleasant and helpful, except for the manager who became rude as soon as the evening began to get hectic. He was behind the bar most of the evening and was very gruff and off hand. However, aside from him, the food & atmosphere was good.

Rooms were clean but a bit dated and nothing like those shown on the photos, much more basic. The bathroom was also really tiny.

The worst part was checking out on New Years Day when one of the party discovered that approx £400 of drinks had been booked on his room tab. The manager would not let him leave without paying and has since only refunded a small proportion of the bill. This was obviously a staff error with the room numbers (or staff after work party booze theft) . The manager has since emailed us and accused the other members of the party of stitching their friend up and lying about the bill!! We are all outraged.

Whatever happened to the customer is always right - or just decent customer service? That manager is atrocious and should not be working in the hospitality industry. It's a shame, as the hotel is in a good setting and had potential. Don't bother - honestly, it's a complete gamble as to how your stay will turn out, and as to how expensive it will be!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chi-yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

my husband and i rang the Hotel to book the rooms and the receptionist asked how we were travelling to the Island, we said we would be coming by car and ferry. We were told that the hotel could book the travel arrangements for us and get a discount. The reception staff were extremely helpful and saved us a lot of money.

On arriving at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome, and shown to our room which had a wonderful view of the gardens.
We had dinner at the restaurant most evenings at the hotel, and were knocked out by the delicious food cooked by the new Head Chef, Ashraf. Ashraf came out to chat to us in the restaurant most evenings to see if we had enjoyed our food, which we most certainly had. We wish him all the best with his new venture, and know his new Restaurant will be a huge success.

We held our Wedding reception at the Hotel and was overwhelmed with the food and service of the staff, we couldnt fault it. All our guests at the wedding had a wonderful time, and we had an unforgetable and very special wedding day in a very romantic setting.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wizardFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £84 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing