We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in peaceful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This hotel is a lovely place to stay. The hotel is under new management and the staff are very courteous and helpful.
The breakfast was lovely and the evening meal of an excellent standard [the chef comes out of the kitchen to speak to the guests after the meal]
The grounds are very well kept and pretty and the cleanliness inside and out is first class.
An ideal place to stay to explore lovely Guernsey

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    113
    55
    42
    18
See reviews for
66
200
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I can't believe that I stayed in the same hotel as some of the other reviewers. The hotel is very dated and smells quite musty in certain parts, God knows what is hidden away under the wallpaper. It needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to scratch. Room was quite small for a double, not enough hanging space for a 4 day stay. Bathroom also very small, not enough room to hang wet towels. The walls between the rooms in our part of the hotel were paper thin and you could hear every word from the next room, even though they were only talking normally. Breakfast wasn't great, pretty boring; fizzy fruit juice on one day (fermenting?), scrambled eggs were white, rest of food was OK. We ate out a couple of mornings as we didn't enjoy the breakfasts! The restaurant needs a complete revamp, it's extremely old fashioned and not a nice environment to eat in. The bar is much nicer although they have crammed a lot of tables in there. The bar food was OK, the fish and chips were excellent but the fish pie wasn't great. Bar service was very slow, otherwise the staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, I wouldn't stay there again. There is better value to be had in other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadeclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Food quality was excellent, Rooms clean, large and well appointed. All the staff were polite and very friendly (nothing was too much trouble). My wife and I having only spent the weekend were very impressed and lok forward to a repeat stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysterron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wyrley
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My wife booked a short break at the Hougue de Pommier .This was a 60th birthday treat for me/us and was also our first trip to Guernsey.
After booking we looked at some recent and some not so recent reviews and wondered just what we were letting ourselves in for.
No need to worry, Malcolm and his team were very friendly, attentive, helpful and polite.
The hotel was clean, our room spacious and comfortable although we would rather have had a bath in our room rather than a shower, there was a choice, our fault for not asking upon arrival .
The choice at Breakfast was wide and well cooked giving us a good start to the day.
We ate in both the reastaurant and the bar there was a good choice of menu and all the meals we had were really very good.
The Hougue was an excellent choice a base for exploring Gurensey and we were able to get around and enjoyed some excellent weather whilst there.
Looking forward to going again in perhaps a couple of years, thanks Malcolm!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatWyrleyChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishman
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Was a little wary of pre 2009 reviews but was very happy with our long weekend stay and found the staff very helpful,the Spanish barman was very informative and happy to assist,along with the gentleman on reception.Lovely setting,tucked away in its own grounds and we had one evening meal there which was excellent and ample for those with healthy appetites(like me).Very good value and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMasterEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We've just got back from a wonderful long weekend at the Hougue du Pommier. This is a charming hotel with great service in a beautiful setting. The bar is characterful and cosy; great for a winter evening or for a summers day with a peaceful outdoor area! I'd definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filmstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Service very friendly and efficient, room fine bed very comfortable. Location easy for travelling around and also on good bus route. Food excellent for value and innovative, in fact we chose to eat there most nights.
Building is attractive with pleasant gardens, difficult to say what we liked least because it didn't occur. Would strongly recommend to friends and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calvinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Property: Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing