We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Release The Everyday Stress - and Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Release The Everyday Stress - and Stay Here”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights - end August, 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The management and staff are all very pleasant people, nothing was ever too much trouble, and always a friendly smile. The food was excellent. The gardens are beautiful, and a lovely quiet area to sit and read or just relax and watch the world go by.

The room we had was adequate, and very clean. We had fresh towels every day, and tea and coffee was always plentiful. The decor is looking a little tired in places, but this is something, that I am sure the managment will update accordingly.

We travelled by ferry crossing from Weymouth and took our own car. However, as there is a regular bus route close by, and taxi's available at a fairly reasonable price, also just a 10 minute walk to the beautiful Cobo Bay, we probably wouldn't take our car next time.

Having read other reviews - stating that the hotel was very quiet with no entertainment, should you require lively night-life this hotel or indeed the beautiful Island of Guernsey is not the holiday for you.

For total relaxation, with attentive staff, stay at this hotel. You are guaranteed to come home 'stress free'.

I would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silhouette13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    107
    53
    42
    18
See reviews for
65
192
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the Bank Holiday weekend.
On arrival we all thought the hotel was very pretty. The gardens are lovely with plenty of tables and chairs. The pool was large for a hotel of this size, unfortunately the water was a bit too cold for us at this time of year.
We were a party of eight and our rooms varied in style. Our room had a lovely four poster bed which was very comfortable except that it would have been nice to have a duvet instead of a blanket and sheet. A flat screen TV was in the room but only the basic 4 channels were available and the picture was very fuzzy.
The shower was over the bath and was very difficult to use without the whole bathroom floor being soaked! I did point this out to the management and the response was that there was nothing they could do about it.
We only had breakfast at the hotel which was quite adequate but would have nice to have a few smiles from the staff.
The bar closed at about 11pm each night which was a bit dissapointing for us as we could not get a drink after returning from our nights out.
On the whole the hotel is a little dated but very comfortable and ok for just a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babiface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2010

If you want a nice relaxing place to stay with excellent service and a friendly staff this is the place for you. Kick your shoes off, pick up a paper, sit in the conservatory (or by the pool) and down a morning coffee or two. Enjoy a beer or three at the bar in the evening sitting in very pleasant surroundings. Enjoy a meal in the restaurant with a bottle of very acceptable wine at a reasonable price. We were on half board and no menu was ever the same. The food choice was always varied, interesting and the meal was well presented. The Chef is inclined to over cook meat a tad so if you like things well done..great no problem, otherwise my advice to to ask for steak etc on the rarer side (you'll get medium rare in my book). We really enjoyed our meals and the staff soon got to know that we liked to take our coffee in the bar after our meal. This became automatic...we went and settled into a seat and the coffee duly followed.

Our room was spacious, clean and well furnished. I hesitate to comment on the decor because this is always subjective. Would I have chosen the paper...no but DIY and paper stores are filled with paper I would not buy....that's why there are so many to choose from!

If you have a problem then talk civilly to a member of staff and it’s ‘sorted’ for you with a smile and an apology.

The hotel is on the opposite side of the island to the capital so you will need a car if you are going to get out and about. The local bus service is an option. For the more active why not walk to the coast (10 Mins) where you can walk for miles in either direction over virtually deserted beaches.

If you have a problem at all then talk civilly to a member of staff and it’s ‘sorted’ for you with a smile and an apology.

If you want bright lights, loud thumping disco music, chips with everything and excited teenagers running about then this is not the place for you. In fact Guernsey probably isn't the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlW084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury wilts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hotel was just perfect, quiet and peaceful, fabulous food, staff great. Seemed more than a 3* comparing places we had visited before. The little small touches made it all i.e. foam bath, body creams, tissues, notebook and pencil. All of which were very useful. Good to have a phone in the room also a hairdryer. Nev er short on tea/coffee facilities. We had a good 5 day break and would like to visit this hotel again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mary64pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel five years ago and had a fantastic time. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff remembered any likes and dislikes.
Five years on and the hotel has remained exactly the same in decor and layout and is in desparate need of a facelift. The staff were varying nationalities, some very good and some downright rude, we were amused to hear what sounded like Russian shanties being sung in the kitchen very loudly. The food was acceptable although don't have a poached egg for breakfast as they are cooked in vinegar!! Breakfast needs to be taken early in order to get the best pick of the buffet stlye offering! The bar meals were ok and the resteraunt only served a Table d'hote menu and there were no A' la carte choices. There was not as much choice or of quality as last time we stayed. For older travellers or those with disabilities care has to be taken when navigating the worn cracked paths through the gardens and to the rooms. There are steps up to the swimming pool making it inaccessible to wheelchair users. The room itself was a good size but the plug sockets were loose and one didnot work at all. The bathroom was in need of re-tiling and the shower head and lead were grubby and unhygenic. The TV was tiny and only had four channels, the digital age has not reached this hotel unlike other hotels on the island! We went out to eat at night as did most of the guests and the hotel failed to capitalise on providing entertainment and a lively atmosphere to keep its guests in situ especially those nervous of driving in the dark on very narrow roads.
The island of Guernsey is a great place to go on holiday, it has super beaches, historical places to visit and some fantastic places to eat, it's just a shame that the Hogue du Pommier is no longer one of them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capuchinolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castel hotels

Kent
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

A lovely hotel with gardens and pool for relaxation. The rooms were clean and spacious with the bedding turned down and lamps on for a welcome return at night. Guernesey is a very quiet resort with the emphasis on relaxation and leisurly walks. The beaches are plenty and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

we arrived and had a very frendly welcome, nice room we were staying bed and breakfast
and had dinner the first night in bar very good went out to dinner most night swimming pool very good to come back to in the afternoon and lovely garden
Had great rest but lots to do in Guernsey very mush enjoyed our stay
It was so nice a holiday and hotel we are booked back in september looking forward to staying half board this time

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
196 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Property: Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing