We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Hotel & management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Poor Hotel & management”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Arrived to a nice friendly welcome from the lady on reception, all down hill from there.

The rooms look nothing like in the photos provided on the website.
Very outdated and inadequate.

We overheard on a few occasions the management talking to the staff in a disgusting manner - Other staff however were lovely.

Food was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueJazz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hougue1, General Manager at Hotel Hougue du Pommier, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear BlueJazz

We are sorry for the delay in replying to your comments.

We are somewhat amazed by your remarks. I cannot recolect reprimanding any member of staff as you put it "in a disgusting manner".

May I point out that we have a very good relationship between management and staff. I can only assume that you misunderstood what the management said. Perhaps you only caught half of the conversation as I can vouch for every member of staff within the hotel that they are treated very fairly and with respect.

I noticed that you travelled with a tour operator. The rooms on our website are obviously our deluxe rooms but you had booked a basic standard room. Had you so wished on going to your room you could have requested a room upgrade with reception and paid any difference.

I was pleased to hear that on your arrival at the hotel you experienced a good welcome and that you thought our food was excellant.

It would have been fairer to have brought these comments to my attention during your stay so that we could have corrected any mis-understanding . I also note from your date of stay and your membership to Trip Advisor that it has taken three months before your review was left.

Kind regards

The Management Team
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    112
    54
    42
    18
See reviews for
66
197
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed a Christmas break at this hotel. Newly refurbished rooms gave a very comfortable stay. Excellent food and excellent service from very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thevoice8017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed at The Hotel Hougue du Pommier with my 6 year old son and had a fantastic time and experience from the moment we arrived. The staff were friendly, efficient and more than happy to help us throughout our stay. The hotel has a great restaurant offering food throughout the day and evening. The hotel staff and its facilities was perfect for our stay and we both thoroughly enjoyed our holiday there so much so we plan to return next Summer too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leemondsamui_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Our stay at the Hotel Hougue du Pommier was brilliant!! We had a well earned break and enjoyed every minute. The staff were so friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant was superb and the food delicious. In fact, everything was just great!! I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyGH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

From the time we entered the hotel and checked in, to the time when the manager held the door open to bid us goodbye, we could not have been cared for any better. All of the staff were polite, professional and so helpful.
In an old Country House I got exactly what I expected; I loved the mix of old and new, the creaky floorboards and the wonderful gardens. The food was perfect; I noticed that the locals ate in the bar as well.
As stated in other reviews there are a few faults with the decor and plumbing but so what? The 1st class service and peaceful location easily made up for that.
This is the only hotel in the world that I have ever stayed in more than once. The staff at the hotel put to shame the so called 4 and 5 star big chain hotels. I'm just so glad I went back to stay at the Hougue Du Pommier.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

A three star AA hotel, near the beaches on the NE of the island. Staff are very helpful indeed, and the food is excellent and very good value, although the restaurant offers little over the bar meals. The hotel is a little tired, decorations wise, - for example paint and wallpaper is scuffed in places, a telephone has a fault etc., but these faults do not detract unduly from the overall experience. Plenty of parking and location is handy for the main areas of the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

A car is not necessary.
Close to the coast with beaches.
Excellent bus service on the Number 3 and 3A service. The bus stop is only metres from the hotel. It is a short bus trip into main centre of St Peter Port.
All bus journeys cost £1.00 and you can get a full bus tour of the Island by taking a £1.00 trip on the number 7 bus service.
Nothing is very far from a bus stop.
Hotel Rooms were clean and well appointed. However, they are airless and would benefit from having a ceiling fan fitted.
Service at breakfast was speedy with an excellent range of foods at the buffet and off the menu.
We ate out most days but we did try the hotel restaurant one evening and found the food good but a little pricey.
The bar menu was very good and the bar service friendly and efficient.
Unfortunately the climate is very English and you cannot expect hot sunshine day after day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickleoverKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
0.5 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
204 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Property: Hotel Hougue du Pommier
Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing