We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay, Wish it Had Been for Longer!”
Review of La Grande Mare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Wish it Had Been for Longer!”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

As with previous reviewers we also booked a nights stay using the QuidsIn deal. We went for our wedding anniversary, having had our wedding reception at La Grande Mare seven years ago. Our wedding was fantastic, we had no complaints at all so we were expecting our stay to be fault free and it was!
Check in couldn't have been faster or less fuss free. The rooms have been upgraded and are beautifully presented, there was nothing we could have needed that was not already there. We were given a studio room with a small terrace and it was lovely. I don't think we have ever had such a big or more comfortable bed anywhere before!
We had afternoon tea which was very nice, not really our thing, but no faults with this. The food in the brasserie was excellent and breakfast in the morning was delicious! Drinks were reasonably priced.
We found ourselves wondering on checkout why we had not done this every year to mark our anniversary and will deffinitely be back.
Thank you to all the staff at La Grande Mare for another wonderful stay with you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcojco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear jcojco
Many congratulations on the anniversary !
Those beds are Emperor size or super Kingsize and I am glad you enjoyed you stay with us.
Thank you for such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    71
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
166
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We booked in to La Grande Mare for a weekend break. Even though we live in Guernsey this is our way of getting away from our business for a couple of days.

Everything from check in to check out was simple and efficient with no issues to speak of.

The room was excellent, amply sized, a gorgeous four poster bed, a huge bathroom with a lovely walk in shower, ample towels and toiletries.

A good range of different teas, coffees and hot chocolate were provided, plus bottles of water.

Afternoon tea looked a little stingy until we both struggled to finish it!

Dinner in the evening was beautifully presented, tasted superb, and the service was efficient.

Throw in the use of the health suite and the weekend was a definite success.

We have done this sort of weekend with many local hotels and so far there is only one other that comes anywhere close to topping La Grande Mare.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for the recent review.I am glad that it is not only me that struggles with afternoon tea !
We are glad you enjoyed the dinner and your stay.
Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A special offer took us to Guernsey's La Grande Mare Golf and Country Club for the weekend. We went with friends for dinner, bed, breakfast and afternoon tea. Use of the facilities was included together with the gym and swimming pool. For the Friday night stay for a couple it cost £ 130.00


Great food, highly recommended (and we are great food fans). Had the choice of a giant double or four poster bedroom, we opted for the giant double. Room was a bit warm and difficult to cool.

The clue is in the title of the hotel - its a golf club and a country club. Its great as the former but the country club gives you a feeling of an added revenue earner - they do try very hard though.

Bar, lounge and two dining rooms have a disjointed layout to them which meant we got caught up in the middle of a wedding party (prepared on the Friday and carried out on the Saturday). This is very popular trade for them so look out for that one.

Staff were friendly, including the adopted cat and unlike so many large hotels it is easy to meet the owners. If you want a quiet weekend away from it all this hotel is not for you, but if you want good food, modern decor and lots going on La Grande Mare could just be your cup of tea.

Room Tip: When you book, ask which room you will get and look it up on the website. Some are much larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Chris O
Thank you for your recent review ,we were delighted to hear how you enjoyed your recent visit with us at La Grande Mare and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had a special offer for a one nights stay. We had afternoon tea which was lovely and enjoyed having the health suite to ourselves. The jacuzzi was lovely.

Our 3 course meal was fab with a good choice of dishes.

The room was lovely n big and the bee really comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sianbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear sianbutt
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us at La Grande Mare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

ThiS was our first trip to Guernsey and this hotel but it really has the wow factor. The room was spectacular, the shower huge, the food delicious and great valid for money. We shall go back I've no doubt about it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Lynadi
Thank you for your lovely comments.
The team at la Grande Mare would be delighted if you were to stay with us again.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have been away from Guernsey for almost 10 years and would like to find out if things had changed at La Grande Mare. We were very pleased to experience the same old hospitality we were used to duinrg many visits during the 1990's. The restaurant maintains it's very high level of cooking and still offers a very good and tasty 3 course menu at the affordable price of only GBP 14,50 for residents. The presentation of the dishes is excellent.
Also a nw (golfers) bar had been opened during the past few years offering good beer and a cosy environment.
Our room had been upgraded with a new doublebed and sofas since we were there last.
Guernsey has still a lot to offer, and there are frequent bus services in front of the hoteltaking you around the island running , with a flat fare of only GBP 1 per journey. Some bus services even are running during the evening from and to town. We stayed for a week and did well without having a car available.
It was a pleasure staying once again at La Grande Mare.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. When a strong wind comes in from the Atlan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Kennet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments I will pass this on to our team
Look forward to seeing you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The wedding reception of our son and his new bride could not have been more perfect.
The attention to every detail and professionalism of the whole team, led by Archana, was
amazing. There was a relaxed atmosphere for the guests; which I do realise meant a lot
of hard work and deication from everyone else ! I think the mix that the Grande Mare has
achieved of friendliness, efficiency and relaxation is probably unique. We felt like we were
having a wonderful party in our own home, but without any of the hard work.
They even ordered hot, sunny weather for us. Now that,s what I call clever,

Pam Martindale

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Congratulations once again we all wish you the best into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Property: La Grande Mare
Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing