We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week”
Review of La Grande Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been very lucky to spend a week here with our parents. Been visiting Guernsey since I was little and never get tired of the beautiful views around each corner. La Grande Mare is truly lovely, we eat in the restaurant three times, a varied menu and the food is tasty and very nicely presented. We may of eaten more if the menu was changed. Unfortunately it was kept the same, as a vegetarian I did struggle with three options! Our room was amazing, beautiful bathrooms, with the most fab warm thick fluffy towels. Comfortable beds. The suite was very clean and all the staff are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. We used the indoor pool most days. It always felt warm and didn't take our breath away when we got in! We would never have any problem recommending this hotel to a all our friends and family.......Awesome

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear LorraineT
Thank you for the great write up.
We are all delighted to hear how much that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent two days ,playing golf and enjoying the Indoor pool.
The hotel is simple but great welcome,all the people are very nice, the food is very good.
You have there what you need & I feel well treated by everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear RobertoP
Delighted to hear how you enjoyed your September stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at La Grande Mare for four nights at the beginning of September. What a lovely hotel, we asked to change rooms as there wasn't air conditioning in the one we were booked into. Lovely reception staff said we could look at another room after dinner. After a lovely dinner, we moved into a junior suite. Fabulous. What a great place to stay. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Check you have air conditioning. Didn't use the spa so can't comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear LesleyB
Thank you for your kind review ,we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to have our wedding at LGM. Archana was fantastic, she kept in touch with me in the run up to the big day, was helpful, organised and really took a lot of the stress of the organising away from me.
The rooms were perfect and the wedding food was great - I couldn't fault any of it!
Beautiful hotel, and we had a truely wonderful wedding.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Racheltyson
Congratulations
It really was a pleasure for us to host your big day and I am delighted to hear how well it all went,
Its very kind to praise Archana and we are truly privileged to have her here as part of the team.
Thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having travelled from Ireland at the end of August for a cousin's wedding, I was really impressed by their superb wedding reception at La Grande Mare which was faultless from the champagne on the lawn right through to the last dance. The room was exquisitely decorated and definitely had the 'wow' factor. The staff, especially the head waiter and receptionists, were attentive and professional in a most unobtrusive manner as well as giving the impression that they were also enjoying the occasion. The food was exceptional and considering the numbers involved served promptly and hot!

I have no doubt that the hospitality shown by the staff to both the wedding party and their guests, combined with the first class quality of the accommodation, setting and delicious food were instrumental in making this a most memorable day. Thank you for an unforgettable day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogaqueenNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear yogaqueenNireland
What a pleasure it was to have your party at our Hotel and celebrate in true style.
We thank you for the super review and look forward to greeting you back again soon perhaps for a short break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night break at the La Grande Mare.
We cannot praise this Hotel highly enough! Our studio bedroom was very spacious and had high quality furnishings, fixtures and fittings. We had 3 delicious lunches in the restaurant which at £12.50 for 3 courses, is unbelievable value. It is in a great position just across the road from Vazon Bay beach and some lovely coastal walks.
All the staff were very helpful, cheerful and friendly and a special mention must go to Sheev and Shannon for their great customer service.
The only down side is that we could not stay longer but we look forward to a return visit next year!!

Room Tip: Choose one of the lovely studio rooms overlooking the pool and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear JuneG
Many thanks for the super review.
We are concentrating on our Seaside location offering value for money and are looking to exceed our guests expectations and create the Wow factor
It was a delight to read your kind words and we look forward to greeting you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

1 week stay in a 2 bed ground floor appartment. Clean, cosy and modern. A large living room / dining room kitchen and 2 bedrooms. Outside furniture and umbrella. All linen, and towels were supplied and the latter were changed mid-week. All dishwasher and cleaning materials were also there. Staff were brilliant and helpful. facilities such as gym and indoor pool were superb. The kids loved the outdoor pool and the tennis courts. We all play golf and it is a fair course but the lower handicaps would prefer Royal Guernsey.
Food in the restaurant was great value and beautifully presented. The big TV in the Club room kept my husband happy during the Ashes.
Yes we would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear MillyH
Many thanks for the kind review,it was good to hear how you enjoyed your break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
835 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £158 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your La Grande Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing