We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Grande Mare
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Cheer Hotel(Castel)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn Hotel(Saint Saviour)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmhouse Hotel(Saint Saviour)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
303
78
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
78
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseindoor poolwedding receptionafternoon teastudio roomwedding partygolf clubhealth suitethe penthouseovernight stayround of golfdriving rangehealth clubself catering apartmentfour poster bedfirst classleisure facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Visited this beautiful hotel on September 28th. and stayed in the Penthouse suite on the 2nd. floor.
Great panoramic views across the bay fro the beautiful North Guernsey coast.
Excellent location ,great food and service!

Room Tip: Penthouse with weekend special rate
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear ChristopherH
The view from the Penthouse is stunning and we are all delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay with us.Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been very lucky to spend a week here with our parents. Been visiting Guernsey since I was little and never get tired of the beautiful views around each corner. La Grande Mare is truly lovely, we eat in the restaurant three times, a varied menu and the food is tasty and very nicely presented. We may of eaten more if the menu was changed. Unfortunately it was kept the same, as a vegetarian I did struggle with three options! Our room was amazing, beautiful bathrooms, with the most fab warm thick fluffy towels. Comfortable beds. The suite was very clean and all the staff are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. We used the indoor pool most days. It always felt warm and didn't take our breath away when we got in! We would never have any problem recommending this hotel to a all our friends and family.......Awesome

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear LorraineT
Thank you for the great write up.
We are all delighted to hear how much that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent two days ,playing golf and enjoying the Indoor pool.
The hotel is simple but great welcome,all the people are very nice, the food is very good.
You have there what you need & I feel well treated by everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear RobertoP
Delighted to hear how you enjoyed your September stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at La Grande Mare for four nights at the beginning of September. What a lovely hotel, we asked to change rooms as there wasn't air conditioning in the one we were booked into. Lovely reception staff said we could look at another room after dinner. After a lovely dinner, we moved into a junior suite. Fabulous. What a great place to stay. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Check you have air conditioning. Didn't use the spa so can't comment.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear LesleyB
Thank you for your kind review ,we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to have our wedding at LGM. Archana was fantastic, she kept in touch with me in the run up to the big day, was helpful, organised and really took a lot of the stress of the organising away from me.
The rooms were perfect and the wedding food was great - I couldn't fault any of it!
Beautiful hotel, and we had a truely wonderful wedding.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelTyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Racheltyson
Congratulations
It really was a pleasure for us to host your big day and I am delighted to hear how well it all went,
Its very kind to praise Archana and we are truly privileged to have her here as part of the team.
Thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews