We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Grande Mare
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Cheer Hotel(Castel)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn Hotel(Saint Saviour)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Farmhouse Hotel(Saint Saviour)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunchoille(St Peter Port)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
303
78
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
78
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseindoor poolwedding receptionafternoon teastudio roomwedding partygolf clubhealth suitethe penthouseovernight stayround of golfdriving rangehealth clubself catering apartmentfour poster bedfirst classleisure facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I had a overnight stay on the 26th September 2013 as part of his 40th birthday treat. We booked in and were very pleased that we had been upgraded to a very large suite, with a large living room, with fully equipped kitchen. The balcony was also large and overlooked the front of the hotel giving us panoramic sea views. I loved the fact we also had fresh flowers in these rooms, the attention to details like this is very nice. The rooms were so clean, and the bathroom was also huge , with very good quality bath robes and slippers and good quality assortment of bathroom products. After checking in we went to have afternoon tea and a glass of champagne. The hotel receptionist knew we were celebrating my hubbies birthday, and helped arrange for some birthday candles on our afternoon tea, which was a nice touch. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful, it came across that they enjoyed working for the hotel. We were very lucky just after our afternoon tea the sun came out, so we went and got changed, used the nice fluffy robes, and had a very pleasant dip in the hut tub, which was so nice and warm, followed by a swim in the heated pool then another dip in the hot tub. The evening meal was excellent we both had steak and it was as good as our favourite restaurant. I have to admit we were both surprised it was so good, again all the staff we came across were very efficient and pleasant. The full english breakfast in the morning was also very good. We could not fault our short stay, even the friendly hotel cat was so cute, no wonder he stays here. Lucky for him. Thank you La Grande Mare for making us feel special and your attention to detail, special thanks to reception staff.

Room Tip: Go for a suite they are huge
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole26guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Carole26guernsey
It always nice to hear how you enjoyed your stay here with us at La Grande Mare to celebrate your hubbies birthday.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this hotel is well worth the visit,staff very welcoming and helpful .we had a suite which had a large living room(about 20ft by 20ft) that had two sofa's, large dining table, fridge ,microwave, kettle cups etc, nice size tv and dvd player.Balcony and chairs.Bedroom had a six foot comfortable bed and another tv, iron and board ,trouser press and lots of wardrobe space all in another large room.Bathroom was excellent clean and modern with everything supplied
The food was very good quality and at this time of year(oct-nov)its tennerfest so a three course meal costs just ten pounds per person.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reesalan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear reesalan0
Th review you wrote was lovely and I shall share that with the team.
Our suites are a delight to stay in and the housekeeping is meticulous scoring 92% in a recent inspection.
We are delighted you chose La Grande Mare to stay in and look forward to welcoming you back any time as the Hotel is open all year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

La Grande Mare is probably the place in Guernsey to hold a wedding reception! Archana, the functions manager, is extremely helpful and ACCOMMODATING, nothing and I mean nothing is a problem for her. The staff and the food is top class!

We held our wedding reception there at the end of September and I could not ask for more amazing day. So huge thanks to Archana, Rado and all the staff for making our day the best day of our lives!

You will always be our number 1!

P.S. Sorry for bombing your pool but it had to be done :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Pepusa
Congratulations to you both and thank you for choosing La |Grande Mare to hold your reception at.
It was good to hear how well all your arrangements went.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Visited this beautiful hotel on September 28th. and stayed in the Penthouse suite on the 2nd. floor.
Great panoramic views across the bay fro the beautiful North Guernsey coast.
Excellent location ,great food and service!

Room Tip: Penthouse with weekend special rate
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear ChristopherH
The view from the Penthouse is stunning and we are all delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay with us.Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been very lucky to spend a week here with our parents. Been visiting Guernsey since I was little and never get tired of the beautiful views around each corner. La Grande Mare is truly lovely, we eat in the restaurant three times, a varied menu and the food is tasty and very nicely presented. We may of eaten more if the menu was changed. Unfortunately it was kept the same, as a vegetarian I did struggle with three options! Our room was amazing, beautiful bathrooms, with the most fab warm thick fluffy towels. Comfortable beds. The suite was very clean and all the staff are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. We used the indoor pool most days. It always felt warm and didn't take our breath away when we got in! We would never have any problem recommending this hotel to a all our friends and family.......Awesome

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear LorraineT
Thank you for the great write up.
We are all delighted to hear how much that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews