We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines night deal”
Review of La Grande Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Valentines night deal”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What could be better for Valentines? Afternoon tea by a fire, beautiful meal, lovely overnight stay in a suite and large breakfast mmmmmmm. Use of the health suite too, so you feel a hundred dollars, and free use of the towels.

Room Tip: Front rooms look towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear George d
Glad to hear how much you enjoyed the Valentines experience with us at LGM
I do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    73
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
93
168
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castel, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Wonderful suite with sea views and superb food. Head waiter and staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Cuisine was exceptionally good. Suite included 4 poster bed! Price for the stay was very reasonable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear StanleyC
Many thanks for the great review
It was good to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the four poster too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Yet again I have chose la grande mare to have a short break:,why?
because the quality of the hotel,the service,and the restaurant are all 5 star.
The staff are highly professional and attentive,the rooms are large and luxurious.
The restaurant is superb with a fine menu at a price that cannot be beaten.
You can choose a 2 coarse for £10-95 or 3 courses for £12-95.with a head waiter who
is very good at his job!!
There is all the facilities you need,pool,golf,steam room and jacuzzi .
It will not be long till I come back!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor seem to be slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morsy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Morsy 2010
Lovely to hear how you enjoyed your short break here at La Grande Mare.
Thank you for the glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I spent an enjoyable couple of days here. It is in an excellent location with just a short walk to the seafront. For sporty types there is a golf course attached to the hotel and a well equipped gym, decent sized pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. I was there on business so no time for golf (sadly) but I used the gym and pool. Very clean and well maintained all round.

My room was comfortable and warm (it was a cold weekend) and included some nice extras such as a good selection of teas and coffees, iron and ironing board. The staff were friendly and helpful and have been trained well in personal skills. When was the last time you were greeted by name in the restaurant or bar of a hotel?

I ate in the main restaurant which is popular with nonresidents. For this reason booking a table is advised. The menu is extensive and reasonably priced. Not surprisingly there is a good spread of sea food on offer. They boast an impressive wine list with sensible prices.

I would highly recommend this hotel and am planning to return for a leisure break sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffs51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Coffs51
It was music to our ears to read what a thoroughly enjoyable stay you had with us recently.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Front of House made us feel very welcome as soon as we set foot through the door, and this set the theme for a very enjoyable evening with delicious food. The braised lamb was amazing, and the choice of wines to accompany the food was spot on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastronomer-Piers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Gastronomer-Piers

Delighted to read of your positive dining experience at LGM and many thanks for the Highly recommended status.
I can assure you that it means a lot to us here,so thank you for going to the trouble to write such a positive report.e
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I visit this restaurant fairly regularly and would recommend it due to the high standard of service I always receive. The food is good. Just about what you would expect from this type if restaurant. Not the best, but consistently good.

All I would say is avoid the rib eye steak. The portion size it tiny. My steak was hiding under a mushroom! Not big enough to cook medium rare. I have tried it twice and commented to the waiter both times. I would expect this from a Tennerfest menu but not off an a la carte menu.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Carl N
Thank you for your kind review .
We have taken your constructive criticism on board with regards to our Rib eye steak and will be reviewing our listing and pricing of all steaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed on a short romantic break over the weekend. The check-in was smooth and easy with a friendly, polite and helpful receptionist that set the scene for what was to follow. An excellent Studio room overlooking the first Golf tee and the Golf course had everything that we could have desired, a very large (super king?) bed, with soft cotton sheets and pillow cases, a comfy settee to sit and read the complimentary newspaper, a table & 4 chairs with a corner kitchenette area provided more than we needed and the en-suite bathroom was beautifully appointed and provided a range of nice products.
Afternoon tea - with a glass of house Champagne of course - was a delight and was soon devoured, again very friendly and chatty staff.
A long walk in the Saturday afternoon sunshine around the headland with an interesting old fortification and tremendous views, followed by a ramble around the little lanes with interesting red granite cottages and other dwellings to walk off the afternoon tea followed.
After a shower and freshen up it was to the bar for pre-dinner drinks enjoyed at a comfortable table and a peruse of the delights offered on several menu options. Dinner was excellent with Prawns and Haddock starter for me, Poached Pear with Blue Cheese for my wife, we both congratulated ourselves on an excellent choice of the Venison Loin for mains, followed by an apple dessert for Mrs and a selection of chees & biscuits for me to finish off the excellent Rioja Reserva recommended by the maître D. Again, the staff were friendly and smiling and ready to assist . A leisurely coffee and liquor followed back in the bar and we were set for the night.
An excellent omelette served with a very fresh salad was selected for breakfast - make that brunch - with excellent coffee and toast the following morning before departing for home.
An excellent stay, our third, and we shall return again. Most definitely recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a lot of space ask for a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Nic666
What a fantastic review,thank you for taking the time to post such e reply and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Glad to hear you want to come back and stay with us again and isn't that Rioja such a lovely wine.Soft,rich vanilla-smooth drinking indeed !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
569 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Property: La Grande Mare
Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Grande Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing