We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant break”
Review of La Grande Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another brilliant break”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for the 3rd time now and hope to come back in October next year for another family wedding. Staff are superb. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are spotless and its great to have a fridge in the room. We had a space outside to sit and watch the golfers. The bride and groom were staying in the penthouse and it was fabulous. The pool and gym facilities were excellent. Breakfasts were very good and the only other meal we had was the wedding reception which was fantastic

Room Tip: All that we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jill C
Thank you so much for the great review ,I will share this one with my team and they will be delighted with the full marks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    73
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
93
168
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A small party of lady golfers recently stayed at La Grande Mare . Our visit was delightful, from the lovely welcome when we arrived until we departed.
The room that I stayed in was lovely, the decor and room lay-out was perfect.
I used the outdoor swimming pool (heated ) and of course we played the golf course.
Will be booking this hotel again very soon I hope.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyanne821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jerseyanne821
Delighted to have had the pleasure of your groups company at our Hotel it certainly looks like you all enjoyed yourselves !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to Guernsey and up until now been placed in other hotels on the island.

Thankfully I have now been placed at the La Grand Mare!

It is a stunning hotel with luxurious rooms (at least mine was) with a stunning view of the pool and golf course....must try to brings golf clubs next time as my room overlooked the 18 hole course on site!

(Course looks a little open but in good condition....can imagine with the wind that blows around here it would be a tricky course!!)

Food was excellent and service was incredibly friendly and welcoming!!!

Pool and spa on site also as well as a gym!!!

What more do you want!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taff4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear RhysM
Many thanks for the review and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
You are more then welcome to stay with us again and the Hotel is open all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

can not fault this hotel in any way - the room was fantastic - very large and the bathroom was huge - food very well priced - fantastic 3 course meal and aparently they change the menu every month - we will go back as we felt 5 days there was not enough because we went out every day and did not have enough time to enjoy the facilities

Room Tip: we would have liked a balcony room but we were overlooking the pool which was not a bad position
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Frances D
Thank you for the great review ,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at La Grande Mare and we do so hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here again on Business late may, always choose this hotel when staying in Guernsey as its clean and comfortable, well appointed rooms and polite staff.
Resturant food as good as ever, I always seem to choose the Fillet steak which is cooked how I like it.
Had to leave before breakfast to catch a flight but they provided me with a selection of breakfast cereals, toast , tea etc delivered to my room at a time I choose.
Overall exactly what I look for in a hotel and will continue to use when in Guernsey.

Room Tip: all rooms I have had are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vf12vf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dearvf12vf
Thank you for the report following your stay with us at La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and country club
It was great to read that you enjoyed our hosptality and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.e
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
613 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I will keep this as brief as possible. We booked this through Great Escapes so didm't know what to expect. What we got was a hotel that far surpassed its star rating. The staff were ultra courteous, the food was very good and the room we had (B3) was excellent. The linens, especially the towels, were as good as anything we have experienced anywhere in the world. There were also lots of little nice touches like water in the room fridge on arrival, free newspapers and a nightly turn-down service. We would return here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: B3. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM-C--LIVERPOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Tom C Liverpool
Thank you so much for your honest and frank review,I will enjoy sharing this with the team.
I do hope to welcome you back soon to La Grande Mare Hotel,Golf and Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a nice hotel but from some of the reviews I expected better, we had room A3 which is ok, 4 poster bed if you like that type does not appeal to me, beware of the water pressure in the bathroom it is virtually nil we did have the plumber in but apparently nothing could be done about it, as we golf we love a bath after but we gave up after the first night it was taking forever to fill. Breakfast is quite good and the staff are very friendly. We struggled for evening meal as the menu included a lot of fish and my husband hates fish, he did try a steak which was nice apart from being undercooked but he didn't want steak every night so we ate out the rest of the week. We used the golf course which is a good test of golf, we played for 3 days and liked the course unfortunately 2 of the days we got stuck behind slow players and totally ruined our game both days it was the 10th hole before we started to enjoy our game we paid £23 a round as guests, normally double wouldn,t pay that much. I think the plus points are the friendliness of the staff and location

Room Tip: Don,t have A3 if you like a nice bath or shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Valshaw
Thank you for taking the time to fill in the review for us on Trip advisor.
I will look at our menus and what we offer as there are two evening menus ,an early bird before seven and our dinner one both have seven starters and seven main courses to select from.We also have an a la carte menu and as you mentioned our steak board and specials menus.
We don't get many complaints about A 3 but I will look into this personally.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the golf and we do hope to see you back again some time perhaps in one of our larger rooms or suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.1 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
569 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Property: La Grande Mare
Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Grande Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing