We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay by the Le Poidevin's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Grande Mare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Grande Mare
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight stay by the Le Poidevin's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We did a Quids In deal at the hotel and it was a little present to each other to celebrate our 1 yr wedding anniversary, we had our wedding reception at the hotel so this was a perfect way to celebrate our 1st year. The hotel was amazing as usual, the room (A3) was lovely, the food was out of this world and our afternoon tea was absolutely perfect. We cannot rate the hotel highly enough. Once again, just like our wedding, this weekend was unbelievable and more memories made. Expecting our first child in October this was a lovely "baby moon".
Thank you again to all involved with the hotel, you do yourselves and the island proud each and every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mick L
Congratulations on your first anniversary and the great news
Also glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us
Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    68
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
90
165
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Travelled to Guernsey with my husband, son, daughter in law and two year old grandson. We paid £1200 for a week in a two bedroom apartment. Quite expensive, so I expected a luxury apartment.
The main living area was very comfortable, with plenty of sofa's, a spacious dining area and a very well equipped kitchen. However what let the apartment down were the bedrooms. Our son had the largest room as he had a z bed for his son. For two people it would have been quite comfortable, however, once the bed was up there was no room to move. Our bedroom consisted of a bed, which filled the room, no bedside table, no drawers, just enough room to slide around the bed.
No maid service either, just a towel change midweek, not even a change of bed linen.
The main issue I had with the apartment was one of safety. We were in a first floor apartment accessed by concrete steps. The door to the apartment had no internal lock, therefore we had to be on constant alert to ensure our grandson did not leave the apartment. Surely it would not be too difficult to fit a high level bolt, it would have made our stay much more relaxed. Also I was concerned that there was no fire alarm system fitted, nor emergency lighting. I was under the impression that this was a regulation for all holiday lets, silly me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 484Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear 484 Jules
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in one of our double bedroom self catering apartments. I was glad to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us in Guernsey and have noted your comments regarding the size of the second bedroom.
We do have larger suites in the Hotel available that have double bed room and bathroom with a large lounge and breakfast bar so perhaps you might consider one of those next time should you wish to stay with us in the future and we would of course be delighted to have you back.
On the fire requirement front the fire blanket,extinguisher and concrete fire escape are inspected each year and meet the requirement for self catering units with cookers. We are not allowed any bolts on the fire door exits i'm afraid.The Hotel has a fully automated fire alarm with emergency lighting and this is also tested weekly by ourselves,serviced twice a year by a qualified fire alarm company and inspected annually by the fire brigade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I got married here last weekend, and could not have asked for a better venue!
Everything about La Grande Mare was perfect. The food was amazing, the staff were brilliant, and so organised! As for the rooms, they were beautiful and so comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay here on holiday and definitely as a wedding venue. I'm so glad we picked this hotel, it was absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Samatha L
First of all congratulations to you both and we were delighted to be able to host your wedding reception here at La Grande Mare Hotel ,Country Club.
Delighted to hear that everything ran well and that you and your guests enjoyed the day.
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our usual 2 weeks break was fantastic as usual at La Grande Mare. Food in the restaurant was brilliant and the chef always catered for our eldest son who has crohns and needs a special diet. Thank you for the wonderful food and for making our stay perfect as usual. All staff were extremely polite and helpful and I must mention a few names here, Sheev, Keisha, Marzena, Sarah, Diana, Mary, Mimi, Jill, Anne, and ALL staff, sorry we could not remember your names. Only another 50 weeks before we are out once more, already counting the days. Thank you for a fantastic stay, we'll recommended hotel, perfect.

Room Tip: Perfect hotel right across the road from peaceful beach, lovely staff, fantastic food and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessagoldie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Tessagoldie14
Wow ,Wow,Wow ! Thank you for posting an amazing review and mentioning so many of our team.I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us this year.
We look forward to seeing you back next year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on the temptation break. Everything about the place was lovely, the staff, the food and room where all excellent. The price of drinks was very reasonable considering its a hotel. The golf course attached to the hotel also looked in excellent condition. We are looking at booking again later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Paul F
I was so pleased to read your report on your recent stay with us.
Glad we looked after you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

As my usual hotel was full, I was advised to try la Grand Mare. I am so pleased that I did,I was given a fantastic apartment, bigger than my first flat! The
Location is fantastic and although the west side of the island, not too expensive in a taxi. My stay was so good and at such a reasonable rate I am returning with my family in a few weeks.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjackson-jsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Rjackson-jsy
Ha |Ha glad to see you enjoyed your visit,the apartment but even happier to see you have booked in with us again.Thank you for the positive review,I'm sure it will help other potential visitors make up their mind about choosing LGM as a destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for the 3rd time now and hope to come back in October next year for another family wedding. Staff are superb. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are spotless and its great to have a fridge in the room. We had a space outside to sit and watch the golfers. The bride and groom were staying in the penthouse and it was fabulous. The pool and gym facilities were excellent. Breakfasts were very good and the only other meal we had was the wedding reception which was fantastic

Room Tip: All that we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jill C
Thank you so much for the great review ,I will share this one with my team and they will be delighted with the full marks !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
1.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Property: La Grande Mare
Address: Vazon Coast Road, Castel GY5 7LL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing