We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed for six nights while working on the Island, was going to be arriving early so e-mailed ahead to ask check in time, although it was an afternoon check in time I was told to come early and would be accommodated which was great. The chalet I was given was clean spacious and had all mod cons. I only managed to eat in the hotel once due to working late and missing the cut-off time but have to say the roadkill burger is recommended and the cooked breakfast was brilliant, we did however manage a few drinks in the bar each night, by the third night it felt like we in our local pub thanks to the friendliness of the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to any travellers workers or families as a very friendly, clean, well run hotel. I will hopefully return to holiday here rather than for work.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicko1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thank you for your review and joining the "Happy Guests Club" who visit with us on business then want to come back with the Family for a holiday,
We have dozens of guests who return sometimes more than once a year because they know we care about them and look after them while they are here, many become good friends with us and other guests somtimes reurning as groups, look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is just a post to mention and warn tourists about this small hotel. used to good hotels on the island, but everything fully booked at this time of the year, only rooms available at the Wayside, well I had an awful stay, miserable hotel, stayed only 1 night, this hotel is one of the worst on the island of Guernsey.

Room Tip: No idea about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank styleandclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

I was not going to respond to this, as firstly noone here remembers this guest, and certainly there have been no complaints recorded in July, as there is no specific complaint just warning that we are the one of the worst hotels in Guernsey (not true by the way) I decided to look at the guests other reviews.

It would appear that this guest frequents some of the best hotels in the world even those that the likes of George Clooney and President Bill Clinton uses, the Wayside is not on the list of such celebrities but we have had The Bachelors and Jimmy Cricket stay with us on several occasions.

I suggest that if anyone who is finds that the Islands Finest Hotels are full, either accept that we are what we are, one of the Islands finest hotels in our category. (Note 3 weeks ago we were upgraded from a 2 Star to a 3 Star Hotel) or do not book with us at 1/3 of the Price of the top hotels expecting the same kind or rooms and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked the Wayside Cheer because it has a swimming pool and required ground level accomodation for my husband. We weren't disappointed and very pleased at the value for money. We were given a large chalet that looked out on to the garden and pool. Ken, the owner greeted us and Donna and her staff looked after us really well during our stay. Breakfasts are wonderful and everyone is looked after so well! There is also a very good grill menu and daily specials.
.This is a real 'family' atmosphere -if you want anything, you just ask. The barman went and made us sandwiches when the kitchen was closed. And if you are there on a Wednesday night, go to the Karaoke just to hear Gemma, the owners' daughter singing. WoW! The couple beside us have been holidaying there for 10 years because they are looked after us so well!
The hotel has just been awared a well deserved 3 star rating.
The hotel is situated on the idyllic west coast just beside the loveliest (and very safe) bay called Port Soif- it boasts a fab kiosk that offers homebaked food up to 5.30pm. There is also an off license just across the road with a deli that makes sandwiches and pies to take on picnics.

The best way to get about the island is by bu the stop is just across the road. £1 takes you all around the island- you can do a full tour on a number 7 that takes about 1 hour and 20 minutes. Or, alternatively a number 3 will take just 20 minutes into St Peter's Port.The last bus home is a number 3 and leaves at 9.05pm.A taxi will cost about £15.
If you hire a car, this hotel is just 15 minutes from the airport- you turn left when you drive out of the airport. Roads aren't very well signposted, so stick to the main roads!
We'll definately go back to the Wayside when we return to Guernsey.It's great value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan209955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Hi

Thank you for your comprehensive review and I will pass on your comments to Gemma, look forward to seeing you again in the Future

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great value and superb location, friendly bar and retaurant staff i felt was well priced to cater for all guests.
Donna goes out of her way to ensure guests are well looked after (i saw this first hand)
On booking i was offered the corporate rate i required ,but given the chance for B&B in case i needed to entertain business clients in St Peter Port,this would not happen in most hotels.
They have been awarded a three star rating recently which is no mean feat in Guernsey i understand,entertainment is at the hotel some nights and in view of the whole experience i will bring the family back to the Wayside Cheer and Beautiful Guernsey.
Top marks to the Management and Staff (keep up the good work and Effort)

Room Tip: all rooms looked fine to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witty603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

Thanks for your Positive review, look forward to seeing you with your family

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Booked two rooms ,one for hubby and myself and one for mum who is nearly 80.Had rooms 29 and 30 both doubles.Very comfy beds,spotlessly clean and towels changed every day.We ate most nights at the hotel.Breakfast very good choice and piping hot.Donna and her staff run this place like clockwork.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool were a excellent choice especially for the more mature person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william78Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Glad you had a nice time and look forward to seeing you again sometime

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just returned from a trip to Guernsey and Wayside Cheer. As others have said, upon walking in to the hotel you aren't sure what to expect. We ended up really enjoying the hotel and staff. This is a no frills hotel, but it was all we needed since we don't spend much time in the room. It was clean and convenient. The food was very good - we had dinner one night and breakfast here daily.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank sarac9978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for your review, I hope the rest of your vacation went well and glad enjoyed our little island,

Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This holiday was to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary which was on the day we arrived, the 24th June.
I prearranged with the manageress for her to purchase a bouquet of roses for me for when we arrived, which I must say were beautiful..
When asked, the owner told me we did not need to book a table in the restaurant for the evening but when we arrived for our anniversary dinner, we were told that we had to eat in the bar area where everybody was watching England playing football.There was even a boy dribbiling a ball up and down the floor. We decided to just have a basic meal that night & retire as the atmosphere was rather lively.
Our room (number 7) had plasterboard walls between the two adjoining rooms and smelt of cooking most of the time due to there being an extractor vent just outside the bathroom window.
That night the people in room number 8 were noisey up until midnight and then the people in room 6 started talking loudly & playing music until 1:30 a.m. When we spoke to the manageress about this the next morning, she said she would speak to the people in room 6 and also arrange for us to have a table in the restaurant for the evening, we had a very nice quiet meal in there later on.We were quite happy to eat in the bar area for the rest of the week as the food was very good and reasonably priced.
There was little noise from the two adjoining rooms for the rest of the week until our last night when the people in room 6 kept us awake again, at 12:30 a.m. my wife knoked on the door to complain and was suprised to find it opened by one of the staff. We did try to enjoy our stay and must complement the manageress Donna, for doing her best to appease us, The room and public areas where nice and clean and the waitress service was also very good, I booked this holiday based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and was disappointed that it did not live upto its ratings.

Room Tip: There are chalets around the pool tht may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJWREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

I am truly sorry that you had an issue with noise, I have asked all concerned about this so I can respond fully,

Had I been aware that any issues were ongoing I would have moved you to a chalet, which at that time was possible.

Had I known your first night was your anniversary meal, I would as always, made sure the staff were aware and tried to make it special,
England was unfortunately playing football that evening but we would have made sure you were not too close to the guests that wanted to watch that.

The room partitions are not block built, so not sound proof but rarely has this been a issue, sadly on this occasion room 6 was being used by a member of staff and he has applogised to me and asked me to pass on his apologies to you, again there has never been a problem reported before, and will not be an issue again.

Sadly sometimes things are not as we would like for reasons out of our control, but if we are fully aware at the time, we will always do whatever we can to solve a problem,

Once again we are sorry that you had some issues but I am glad that you were happy with the food and service, and that Donna did arrange your anniverary meal at a later date.

Regards

Ken Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.6 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Cheer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cheer Hotel

Address: Les Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range: £52 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayside Cheer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest Guernsey Hotels. The Wayside is an ideal family hotel overlooking the beautiful sandy Grandes Rocques Bay. A large car park is available on site and other parking is close by and buses stop about 60 Mtrs from the with half Hourly buses to St Peter Port and Hourly buses that go around the Island each way. The hotel has a heated Outdoor Swimming Pool (Heated Mid June to Mid Sept, Weather Permitting)the pool is situated in the lovely gardens. A Recent addition is the popular Terrace where you can Drink and Eat outdoors. Our Award Winning Meals are served daily in the Lounge Bar, Diner and the Restaurant. There is also a games room with a variety of bar games. Other amenities include a spacious TV lounge for residents only Free Wi-Fi in Most Areas, Regular Entertainment is available at the weekend until 11.30 and Midweek karaoke till 11.00. About once a month we have a Cabaret Show in the Ballroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Wayside Cheer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wayside Cheer
Wayside Cheer Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing